We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“handy plae to stay”
Review of Corstorphine House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corstorphine House
Ranked #316 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed overnight , whilst visiting son . This is more like a guest house than a hotel . Room was very large andclean with an quirky seletion of furniture . They need to get rid of all the odd tables / dark cupboards and notices on the walls - too tacky !Bed had nice white sheets but odd flowery pillow cases ! Only a small thing but would have been better to have simple white bedlinen and duvet .( i sound like the hotel inspector !!!)
Breakfast room was bright and cheery but very cramped . Good breakfast ... and lots to choose from . Staff very pleasant but nobody around to check out with , had to ring bell alot .Easy to get bus into Edinburgh from outside hotel , took 15 mins . Paid £59 for 2 people for 1 night , so good value so close to Edinburgh . .

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 32 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2009

A very pleasant and peaceful clean place just between the airport of Edinburgh and town city. Been on a 10 days tour round Scotland and this was the best value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flowery50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

Found and booked through TI. Located on the edge of town on bus line. Breakfasts at the Inn were not appealing, and we encountered BED BUGS in our room. We kept a dead bed bug as evidence, and needed it, to convince the owners that they had a problem.

Walking distance to the Corstorphine Pub which was great and had excellent food.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldbear45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2007

The AA must throw around diamonds quite freely, as this place was certainly NOT up to the standard I expected based on the rating. Our room was up several flights of stairs, the last being quite unsafe. At first glance it looked "OK", except for the shabby duvets and mis-matched furniture. Out of four recessed light fixtures, only one actually worked, and it blew out on our last day there. There were cobwebs hanging from the light. The carpet had stains that looked as though someone had puked on it before. My husband had to fashion a curtain out of a duvet because there were only nets, and we would have given the street behind us quite a show (not to mention the early sunrise and late sunset being an issue for those wishing to sleep). On the sink in the bathroom was a grimy old pump bottle of handwash, procured from the nearest supermarket. The electric kettle had water in it already, left over from who knows when. The readily apparent lack of care for detail (or indeed, basics) made me immediately uncomfortable, and rather hesitant to tuck myself into the bed at night. The shower, which on first glance looked new, was actually broken. There was a bit of tape attempting to secure the head in the high position, because the holder was broken. We had an ancient TV that did not receive cable, as promised in "all" the rooms.

The dining room, at first glance, looks quite nice. But look at the seats of the chairs, which are all stained. The food was acceptable, and the staff were courteous. The onsite parking turned out to be a small area suitable for 2 to 3 cars maximum. We had to park on the street. I just think the owners of this place should be ashamed of themselves. They like to flaunt their ratings, but it's clear they care little about giving their guests more than the bare minimum. I think AA and RAC need to revisit their rating standards. If this qualifies as "very good", then I'd hate to know what a lesser hotel is like, and the top knotch places must be rather disappointing. I remain mystified as to why people in the hospitality industry refuse to make their places nice when it isn't expensive, and could generate more profit.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cariadlawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2007

My fiance and I stayed for two nights during the fringe festival in 2005. We arrived and were greeted by two very young ladies working behind reception who spoke very broken English. We were pointed in the direction of our room, which was bang next to the bar. It was clean but very shabby. I decided to have a lie down after travelling for five hours and found the wooden bed frame creaked if you so much as breathed in. The bathroom was also very small. My fiance had rung ahead to ask for some roses to be present in the room for me on our arrival, which they were- and very beautiful at that. The mattress had a large dip in the middle which made my fiance and I roll together in a heap (I kid you not). We settled down for the night after exploring Edinburgh and discovered whilst getting ready for bed the door to our room had a 2inch gap from the floor and all the smoke from the bar seeped through the gap as well as hearing everyones conversations and the bed creaking we didnt dare move. In the morning the two young ladies knocked on our door, we were still in bed so shouted "just a minute" but they opened the door and walked in anyway. We didnt try breakfast, we wouldnt have had a clue where it was served anyway, apart from the two young ladies we saw no other staff throughout our stay. For the two nights I paid £280. We have never and will not stay here again as frankly the decor was very shabby, and the hotel was very run down, it could do with a really good face lift.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank BellaSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2006

We stayed for two nights in November. On arrival we were met by a Chinese member of staff who spoke very poor English.

On entering the room which was reasonably clean, it was obvious the heating had not been on for some time and was not switched on all night, leading to a very cold night given the draft from the windows. The bathroom was even colder again and not helped by the shower which was alternating between ice cold and blisteringly hot, the flow was slow and more akin to a drizzle.

The icing on the cake however was the poor breakfast, which was meagre and for some reason included spring rolls and curried samosa. The breakfast staff were non English speaking and could not understand simple requests such as more milk, all questions were responded with by a shrugg and a smile. We also had the privilege of having breakfast with the owners children.

In all a very poor set up given it cost almost £200 for two nights due to the price increase because a rugby Game was on.

Best advice, go camping its' warmer.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markyyy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

I booked the room a week in advance confirmed the booking
read the followingresponse to,

I have had to cancel the booking because of the difficulty in travel to London from the United States due to the elevated threat level.

Given the circumstances and the fact that I plan to reschedule my trip I hardly think this is a fair treatment of a potential return customer. I would like to have my Cancellation charge refunded.
I am planning to re book over the winter holiday between December 18th through January 1st 2007 for 2+ days in Scotland. Corstorphine House Hotel will not be on my list if I don't receive a refund.
Corstorphine House Hotel
> Booking reference XXXXX73537
> Customer name R C
> Check-in Sunday, August 20, 2006
> Check-out Tuesday, August 22, 2006 Total cost £238.0
> Cancellation policy
> Cancellation policies vary from hotel to hotel and vary during fair and exhibition periods. Please read the hotel policy, below, to confirm whether your credit card will be charged a cancellation fee or a non-refundable deposit. In the event of a no show or a cancellation with less than 31 day notice prior to the date of arrival, an amount equivalent to 100% of the total booking value will be charged.
> Is there a cancellation charge if I cancel now?
> A cancellation charge applies because the required notice has not been given
> How is the cancellation charge calculated?
> The cancellation fee is 100% of the total booking price
> Cancellation charge if cancelled now £238.00
> Refund if cancelled now £0.00
Given that I booked within the 31 day notice period I could hardly meet the terms of the cancelation policy.
Traveler beware if you should book rooms at Corstorphine House and have elevated threat levels delay or affect your travel plans. They should refund their prospective guests booking fees .
This policy leaves a bad taste and a lasting impression of Scottish Hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
4  Thank primoglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,579 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#38 of 151 in Edinburgh
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#35 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,032 reviews
Corstorphine
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
#203 of 394 in Edinburgh
157 reviews
Corstorphine
Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corstorphine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corstorphine House

Address: 188 St. Johns Road, Edinburgh EH12 8SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Corstorphine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $67 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corstorphine House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Corstorphine House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing