We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best breakfast in 15 years!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First
Ranked #21 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
lancashire england
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“best breakfast in 15 years!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just returned from staying here. We usually stay in the centre for the Fringe Festival but this year the prices were even more expensive than usual( £200-£300 a night.) We paid about £100 a night and found the accommodation as expected, basic (student accommodation). The breakfast however was probably the best we have ever had in 15 years of visiting Edinburgh. It was served in a huge self service restaurant where you could eat as much as you like and the standard and range on offer was outstanding. Slight down side was that you were mostly forced to sit on long communal tables to eat but there were a few other smaller tables if you could find one free. The accommodation is a bus ride outside the centre of Edinburgh but quite near to the Pleasance Theatres. Buy a day saver ticket, we certainly got our money's worth! Oh, mattresses in our room quite lumpy, you could feel the springs a you lay on it.

Room Tip: Very quiet at Pollock Hall, away from main reception and shop
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2intrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    221
    100
    39
    15
See reviews for
63
93
153
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

As a first time visitor to the Fringe we wanted to stay somewhere that was comfortable, convenient and value for money. We stayed at Masson House and could not fault any aspect of this. The quality of the breakfast was awesome. The black pudding was as good as I have ever had in a mass catering setting - and I say that as someone raised in the North of England!!The staff were so helpful. I would look no further for my next Festival trip.

Room Tip: Just put yourself in the hands of the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Considering the cost of other establishments when the Fringe is on Pollock Halls represented good basic value for money. The quality of the breakfast was as good as any 4* hotel with a vast range to chose from My daughter and I had adjacent single rooms with only a sink.I was located ne

Room Tip: Remember that this is student accommodation. I was located opposite the toilet/shower room which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickD903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Bought my partner tickets for the tattoo , and decided to stay at pollock halls , we stayed in the
John Burnett block , room J13 , It was very clean , snow white towels and shower / shampoo stuff in the bathroom , staff at reception were more than helpful , had a late time for tattoo and didn't get back to the halls until after 1am , went down for breakfast in the morning and couldn't believe my eyes , iv never ever saw so much choice laid out for breakfast any where iv been , dining room was spotless and food a plenty on a help ur self basis , they even had Gluten free food !! .. Would definitely recommend pollock halls to stay and will definitely be back , a big thank you to the staff at the halls , you do a great job xx

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Second time here; excellent value for money at a time when hotels in Edinburgh inflate their prices and charge obscene amounts of money for accommodation!

Clean, smart, fairly central accommodation. Reasonable distance into heart of Edinburgh; regular buses or a fiver in a taxi!
Breakfasts here are amazing; canteen where u help yourself. You will not go short and the quality of ingredients is excellent.
All in all, I recommend these rooms to anyone not looking to be ripped off!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjammac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Pollock Halls. I had already been there 17 years ago and I made a good decision about going back.
The rooms, service and value in general are excellent and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Inmaculada P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#117 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#10 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#12 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#97 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First

Property: Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First
Address: 18 Holyrood Park Rd., University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH165AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First 3*
Number of rooms: 1800
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pollock Halls is the perfect choice for larger groups and budget travellers visiting during the spring and summer. Our campus accommodation offers good value in a great location and you can look forward to a hearty breakfast in the Restaurant @ JMCC. Servery lunch and dinner are also available during the summer months. The cafe bar @ JMCC serves good food, fine wine, beers and spirits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pollock Halls - Edinburgh 1st
Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First Hotel Edinburgh
First Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh First Hotel
Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing