We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dormitory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First
Ranked #24 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dormitory”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Not really a hotel but student dorms hired out for the summer. Clean, but rather sterile rooms. Expensive. Centrally situated in Edinburgh so you can walk to everything. No free internet in room or anywhere else on the campus area, however available at an abnormal high price. You would expect free internet in such expensive accommodation. Excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid facing the cafeteria since quite noisy from 6 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    238
    102
    42
    17
See reviews for
67
97
160
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

If i am ever in Edinburgh during the summer this is my first choice of accommodation - you have to a long way in that City for some peace and quiet during the Fringe and here you have a chance of finding it. Having stayed on various occasions, I can honestly say I've never encountered the noise problems other reviewers seem to have had, once there was a little bit of noise in the corridor at 1.00am but that's all. There are bus routes into the City from the main gate and if you're feeling energetic it's only a half hour walk. Some rooms are much larger than others depending on which block you are in but in my experience they are all clean, well looked after and the beds are extremely comfortable. The staff at reception are extremely helpful and couldn't do enough to make our stay a happy and comfortable one - there is also a left luggage facility which some of the "real" hotels in town do not boast!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GALATEA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed in Chancellors Block. Check in was efficient, room clean and comfortable, had everything we needed for 3 nights including a view of Arthur's Seat. Grounds beautifully set out, fragrant plants scent the night air. Good bar, breakfast was stupendous, so much choice from Haggis to fresh fruit and all permutations in between. Location is good, 20 mins walk to town passing lots of eating places on the way. Lots of places in the buildings to sit and chat with friends, we were with a group. Next door to Commonwealth pool if you fancy a swim. I'd stay again for certain.

Room Tip: Ask to face Arthurs seat, keep away from the bar/shop/restaurant area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay - our double ensuite room was basic but comfortable - only niggle was that the TV screen could not be swivelled so we could watch it from the bed. Our daughter was in a basic student room and complained that the walls were thin so she was disturbed by people in the corridor and snorer next door! The breakfast is wonderful - everything you can think of including vegetarian haggis. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, both in the restaurant and in reception. The gardens around the halls are lovely. We walked into town via Salisbury Crags and Arthur's Seat (useful map available in reception), but there is a good bus service. Would definitely stay here again if we come back to the fringe next year.

Room Tip: The basic student rooms have very thin walls, so ask for a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JILL V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a great place to get a no-frills rooms for the fringe festival. However, if you book direct they require a 3-week cancellation period, which you only know about if you read the T&C in detail! This seems quite disingenuous to me -- if they are going to require such a long notice period, they should be upfront about it. However, and this is the strange bit, you can book the same room at the same price through any other third-party agency and they only require a one week cancellation period!!

In my case, I booked a single room and then found a companion, so I wanted to change to a double. Because it was within the 3-week period they would not help me at all! Hence the 2-star review.

Room Tip: Because it's a university, it's noisy at all hours, but rooms on the "quad" are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank london_import
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Pollock halls was reasonable accommodation for the price. it did everything it said on the box. it was about a half an hour walk to the main town or 5-6 pounds in a cab. the rooms were small but clean and the room that i got was quiet which surprised me given i was there during the Fringe Festival. It had a shop onsite which i found handy. I paid 15 pounds for the internet which wasn't the best connection but it was good enough to do what i needed. i found loads of information about edinburgh in the reception and the staff were mostly helpful. if i went back to Edinburgh i would probably stay closer to town but it was great for a last minute booking.

Room Tip: i stayed in Turner house which was at the back of the property and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Edinburgh has some great hotels and this is a budget option. As such, it offers good value for money. Check-in was very efficient and the room was equivalent to a 'lodge' with flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities etc. What lucky students to be based here! Leaflets and other sources of information were available in reception, including piles of Fringe festival brochures which was our reason for being in Edinburgh. Breakfast was a bit 'never mind the quality, feel the width' but there is something for everyone with a wide range of choice and an attractive room to eat in. The walk through Holyrood Park and up the Royal Mile is a really attractive one with Arthur's Seat as the back drop. Buses in Edinburgh are also really efficient and we didn't need to use a taxi during our stay. This is a great place to stay at festival time when other hotels and guesthouses are hiking up their prices. We will use it again next August!

Room Tip: We asked for a quieter room and this was noted. At festival time there were a lot of students and Hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bournemouthnextyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#117 of 149 in Edinburgh
423 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#119 of 149 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#15 of 204 in Edinburgh
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 204 in Edinburgh
1,443 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 204 in Edinburgh
1,513 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#97 of 392 in Edinburgh
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First

Property: Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First
Address: St. Leonards Hall 18 Holyrood Park Road, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First 3*
Number of rooms: 1800
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pollock Halls is the perfect choice for larger groups and budget travellers visiting during the spring and summer. Our campus accommodation offers good value in a great location and you can look forward to a hearty breakfast in the Restaurant @ JMCC. Servery lunch and dinner are also available during the summer months. The cafe bar @ JMCC serves good food, fine wine, beers and spirits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pollock Halls - Edinburgh 1st
Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First Hotel Edinburgh
First Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh First Hotel
Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing