We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Ranked #63 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant location just minutes away from the train station.
Because of the location it could be quite noisy depending where your room is. It was quiet in my room though.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Rooms were clean. We stayed in a family room however unfortunately there were no single beds and just a double bed and 2 mattresses on the floor. Fortunately we just stayed for 2 nights so this wasn't too much of a problem.
I would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank louisesu2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,374 - 1,380 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed overnight at the Meuse Lane, Edinburgh lodge.Entrance as others have described is down a lane which is unusual don't let this put you off booking. Rooms have recently been refurbished. Beds are very comfy and bathrooms all revamped. This hotel is centrally located close to Waverley station and Princess St. Our room was on the 1st room and overlooked a side building which did not bother us as we were there to sight see. During the evening did not hear a thing even though we were only 1 street away from Princess St. Fantastic night sleep. We did not eat in hotel so can't comment on food. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Overall a fab stay and would stay here again next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed here on a busy Thursday night- brilliant location for a quick shopping trip and a very early train from Waverley Station as well as all central city sights. The room was basic and clean, with a comfy bed, decent tv (with great reception) and clean bathroom. After a long work day I was warmly greeted with a smile by the lovely and friendly Alan at the reception desk who was helpful and would be a great asset for any business. This hotel benefits from a recent refurb of it's rooms- new curtains, bedding and room 'look'. Fantastic value. I'll definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Family rooms have a view over Princess Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntietrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed here for an end of year party I was invited too.

The location is perfect, in the heart of the New Town, and ideal for Train Station (under 5mins away), and the Bus Station, (5mins away). Plus, good shopping, restaurants, cafes, bars in this area of town.

The price, at £43 for a night, in this location and comfort is hard to beat, unless you prefer crashing out on someones couch.

The hotel was quiet, when I was there, probably due to the time of the year. The room was very clean, and only issue was a leaky shower head (which I reported) - But, overall a very good choice, and the best of all worlds, for cost, comfort, and usefulness for location. I will stay here again! Recommended!

Room Tip: Higher the floor, the Better, just to take away from Noise at weekends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamzyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Having stayed there last weekend with some friends I'm still shocked by the amazing value of this Travelodge.To wake up and look out your window and see the whole of Princes Street, Waverley, the Mound and Scott Monument right in front of you and only have paid £30 for a family room for 4 is unbelievable. Not only that but the decor and furnishings were second to none (recent refurb). I realise we got a great deal but if you ever see this hotel going cheap then book it just to have a night in Edinburgh ( I will as a taxi home for me is £30-40 anyway!). My only criticism is the signage for the entrance. It's down a dimly lit back lane and if you approach this from the West you simply cannot see the doorway or even any Travelodge branding. From the East at least you can see the branding on the bridge above the lane. I'd strongly urge them to add a sign that sticks out from the wall so you know you're walking down the right lane! Will definitely be back though, the service in reception was also brilliant. Samuel gets a big thumbs up for being so smiley and friendly :-)
PS rooms 318 and 319 are huge with amazing views!

Room Tip: We had rooms 317, 318 and 319 which were all good but the latter had views of Princes Street and wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent central location opposite both main railway station/airport link stop and McDonalds. Shops,bars etc plus tourist sites all within a few minutes walk. Only negative is access via grim alleyway and consequent lack of daylight in some rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel was really clean and well presented. The value for money was excellent considering that it was right in the centre of Edinburgh. The hotel had 24hr access and always felt relaxed in it. Only down side if you can call it that is that the entrance is not easy to find until you know where it is.
would happily recommend to friends

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Old Town
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#83 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Address: 21 Meuse Lane | off Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $59 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing