We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great couple of hours” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Knights Tours Day Tours

Thistle Knights Tours Day Tours
Ranked #55 of 194 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hear the history of Edinburgh come alive with this walking tour of the Royal Mile and other highlights such as the Flodden Wall, Greyfriars Kirkyard and the Grassmarket.Let us take you through the streets of Edinbrugh, and tell you tales of old. We will give you the tour you ask for in the dark closes and wnyds of Edinburghs Royal Mile. See the sights haer the tales of death, huantings and history, brought to you by our guides. The passion is there for these tales to be told. Can you face the graveyard of doom. This graveyard even on the tours we have taken in to it, ha seen people faint. Is your heart brave enough to face the ghost call him or them out. try the tours and see. Hear the history of Scotland and Edinbrugh over our history tours. Or even have the cahnce to see the birds of prey act out, hold them and have your picture taken with them. We are the only tour caompany that can do this in Edinbrugh, so join us on our tours
Falkirk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great couple of hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We took friends visiting form Kent on a 2 hour walking trip round old Edinburgh with Thistle Knights Tours. Our guide, Frank was really knowledgeable and brought the history to life, no question seemed to flummox him. The day we went was freezing cold with a bitter Easterly wind blowing flurries of snow around but the two hours passed quickly, a testament to the fact that we were enjoying listening to Frank. The tour finished outside St Giles Cathedral where we went into the cafe for a hot chocolate and to thaw out. Would recommend the tour. One word of warning if you are squeamish: Frank asks if you want to hear about the various forms of torture used in bygone times, we said yes - Gory to say the least not for those of a faint disposition!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank K, Owner at Thistle Knights Tours Day Tours, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi thank you for your review and your kind words we are glad you enjoyed the tour with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    32
    8
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“VERY INFORMATIVE AND EXCITING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went on ghost tour on Saturday 23/03/2013, Frank our guide very informative and an interesting character. Weather very very cold but Frank still done an excellent job in keeping everyone on their toes with stories and his wealth of information was fantastic. Would recommend Thistle Knight Tours as we visited places we would never even think of visiting and again thanks to Frank a very enjoyable experience. Well Done and thanks. Kat and Alex

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bailey566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank K, Owner at Thistle Knights Tours Day Tours, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi thank you for your review and your kind words we are glad you found the tour fun and enjoyable and informative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A super spooky start to our Edinburgh trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I booked the paranormal tour for the first night of my friend's hen weekend in Edinburgh and wasn't disappointed. On the tour was our group of six, and two other lovely couples. I'm glad I booked this one over the other ghost tours on offer. The smaller group meant the tour felt more personal.

Frank is friendly, engaging and entertaining. He really knows his subject and was happy to answer any niggly questions we threw at him. I helped him with an acting skit at the Grassmarket, which was brilliant fun!

The two hours flies by, and in that time we were brought to many interesting and creepy alleys and graveyards, all with gruesome stories attached. My favourite part was MacKenzie's Lair.

All of our group loved the tour and it was a great start to our weekend. It's also a good way to get your bearings of Edinburgh's lovely streets.

Would thoroughly recommend it, and if I get a chance to visit Edinburgh again, I might try the day tour too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyC1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank K, Owner at Thistle Knights Tours Day Tours, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi thank you for your kind words and your review we are glad you found the tour spookie we try our best to make it fun and scary at the same time so glad it is working and you all enjoyed it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great tour guys... Do it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was in two minds about doing this tour because as an Irishman on St Patricks day I should have been in the pub! However it turned out to be the highlight of our trip to Edinburgh! Thank you Frank for the memories! Slainté

Helpful?
Thank number1nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank K, Owner at Thistle Knights Tours Day Tours, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi thank you for the review and all your kind words we are glad you think other people should come on our tour and we look forward to having you maybe on one of our other tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Welcome to Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

A great couple of hours spent walking around Edinburgh centre last Saturday, despite the snowy weather. Our tour guide Frank really knew his history and told us lots of interesting tales.He gave the group a choice of which story he'd tell at certain points and involved everyone along the way. Highly recommended for tourists and locals alike.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sweetsazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thistle Knights Tours Day Tours also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Thistle Knights Tours Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing