We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #57 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Paris, France
1 review
“Best hostel ever!”
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Staff really looks after you and gives you tips what you can do around the city. Rooms are nice and clean, location couldn't be better!! Will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpacker987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    174
    123
    56
    57
See reviews for
16
59
184
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Stayed here twice within a week (left and came back to Edinburgh). Both stays had a private double room with ensuite.
First stay had a room on top floor (5th). Very cramped with angled ceiling (you would not want to be 6' or over!), and the elevator only goes to the 4th floor so you have to take the stairs at the end (probably quicker than the elevator anyway).
Second stay had a room on the 4th floor. Much better room, more spacious and easier to get into.
Rooms were very clean, and good value. Continental breakfast is free, and you can get cheap hot breakfasts too (just show your room card). Free wifi available in the bars on the ground floor.
The best thing about this place is the location. It is close to everything central, including the castle, parks etc, and is literally across the road from the rail station. We stayed when the Xmas festival was on in the central park area and got a GREAT view from our rooms.
Quite difficult to find a really close off-licence, however the bar provides very well so really there is no need.
Overall a good backpacker catch, and like most hostels, if you have a little extra cash the private room is probably worth it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garion046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We were incredibly disappointed in this hostel. We have been travelling around Europe for the last month and this is by far the worst place we have stayed. Our room was so small we could barely fit our luggage on the floor or both stand up at the same time. It was absolutely filthy - dirt and toenails on the floor, big clumps on hair in the bed - YUCK!
Lift was crap.
No sleep the second night due to noise.
No hot water out of bathroom sink, water was so cold that it hurt.
Only get two towels for your whole stay (no hand towel). If yours is wet you have to pay to hire another one.
We weren't expecting anything flash; this is, after all, a hostel, but we were expecting a clean room and basic ammenities. Not good value for money at all.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewZealand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

we were alloted a double room which was quite small and not so clean. However the hotel is conviniently located and the staff was good and helpfull. It is a good place to saty if only for one night..i am sure there are better options

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2010

I have to agree, St. Christophers had a great location - but I came home with a MULTITUDE of bed bug bites all over my body. The room we stayed in was cramped, our window was broken (which meant we had to prop a chair against it to keep it closed) the curtain we had didn't even reach all the way across the window, it hardly covered anything at all. The staff were fine, and the breakfast was fine but all in all, definitely won't be coming back there again. If you can, I recommend trying to find another place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmn308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2010

St. Christopher's again friendly and inexpensive! Just like at Greenwich, but the Edinburgh Castle is maybe 200 meters away and in the old city. The people were awesome at the Inn and when walking about. The only problem there was the train strike diminished the mobility I was going to go out to more of Patrick Geddes's stomping grounds. When I go back I plan to stay the same place for the Grand Tattoo, if possible.

Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank TheChiefDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Rooms are cramped couldn't even stand up, bed was not clean at all, bathroom light ended up like a disco as it kept flickering on and off & the party that was being held down stairs did not help it at all. The door key doesn't work properly. One room was so small and cramped that if u opened the bathroom door u would hit the person sitting on the bunk bed opposite it. The only good thing about this place is the staff & the location (well sort of).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiff_foe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#21 of 204 in Edinburgh
431 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#17 of 204 in Edinburgh
400 reviews
Old Town
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
#64 of 204 in Edinburgh
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 204 in Edinburgh
1,515 reviews
Old Town
Budget Backpackers
Budget Backpackers
#19 of 204 in Edinburgh
776 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#43 of 204 in Edinburgh
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh

Property: St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh
Address: 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location Opposite Edinburgh Dungeons and minutes away from Edinburgh Castle. We're across the street from the train station. Fun Atmosphere A great selection of food and drinks in the Belushi's bar, with fantastic party nights, and pub crawls to meet travellers, and locals. Known for Quality Our Edinburgh hostel has a wide selection of room types, a female only dorm, free walking tours and a free continental breakfast. 24 Hour Reception Open 24-hours a day, 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Christopher`s Hotel Edinburgh
St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing