We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and comfortable place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #56 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hostel is very well located right next to the Central Railway station. Rather small rooms and a little cramped for 4 people but very clean and comfortable. The mattress needs to be turned periodically as it tends to slope to one side. Very helpful and friendly staff. Inclusion of a simple breakfast in the bar below is convenient. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 535 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed there for three nights in a 10 bed mixed dorm. Even the hostel is not as nice as the St Christopher in Amsterdam, it has the basics. The location is perfect, just in front of the station and 2min by walking of the Royal Mille. Just great.
And the staff is really nice, especially a Colombian woman called Mili. They helped us at every moment, good people there!
Apart from that, the hostel is clean and has something that I really liked, lockers for the suitcases... (if you arrive before the time for the check in or have to leave the room and still want to do something in Edinburgh) even you have to pay a bit is not very expensive and you don't have to worry because your luggage is safe!
The chilling room is not as nice as I expected comparing it with the hostel in Amsterdam, as well as the decoration/furniture/common spaces in general. But the location and the nice people who works there make it a really good place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed in a 4 bed, mixed dorm with ensuite. Great value for money. Fairly basic set up. No Wifi in room (only in bar and chill out room, but thats ok). Social hostel - great for meeting people. Discount on bar food for people staying there. Excellent location (50m walk from Airlink bus stop/Waverley Station). 5 min walk to the Royal Mile/Old Town and 10 min walk to New Town. I'd stay there again, no worries.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hectorial85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I would first like to say that the location of this hostel is excellent. You're literally right next door to the airport shuttle, and right down town. Other than that, it was ok. I've stayed in other St Christopher's Inns and they were always so much fun...People would talk to each other, hang out, you'd meet people, party, etc. This one was just kind of...blah. Like I got there at 10pm and literally EVERYONE in my room was asleep. I don't think that's ever happened before. I mean you always get the occasional people that go to bed early, early flights or whatever, but literally, the bar was empty, no one was really friendly...The rooms were ok, pretty standard hostel stuff. Everything was clean and in working order. The facilities were decent. Breakfast was ok. All in all it was pretty average, it just lacked the atmosphere of most St Christopher's Inns.

Room Tip: Since the hostel is so quiet, you can book a bigger room (more bunks) and still get a decent night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night as part of a stag night out. I've stayed in several youth hostels in the UK and abroad and sadly this one was a bit of a let down.

Our 12 person dorm had it's own bathroom, however the shower was very intermittent and so a decent shower couldn't be had. The toilet was broken and constantly trickling water, and the taps were the wrong way around in the sink. The bed and bedding were clean and fairly comfortable, however they are too short for a 6ft 2 person.

The place is a bit shabby in communal areas, however the bar is good with a decent bar menu. It's location is fantastic and the staff are good.

More regular maintenance would improve the place very quickly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogwai84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hostel was pretty average all round. I booked a 6 bed mixed ensuite room which was quite roomy. The bathroom was pitiful and the shower was frustrating. It was difficult to be quiet as the floors were creaky and made a lot of noise. Some beds had lights next to them however most of them did not work. I think mine was the only one in the room that actually worked! The breakfast was very basic and the temperamental toaster burnt my toast on more than one occasion. The chill out room was the best part with free wifi there but no wifi in the dorm rooms. The location was brilliant. So central. Literally across the road from Waverley Station.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank ClaireMcNeilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed over the Easter Weekend so it was pretty expensive for 4 nights but we expected it to be a nice friendly hostel as it was a chain and have heard good things from friends. It was not.

Facilities
Breakfast
-some burnt toast or rice bubbles are pretty much your only options whilst they blast rock music (couldn't even here my friend talk)

There is no kitchen or fridge in the common room. if you want to cook your own food go elsewhere.

Lastly you have to pay for the lockers once you have checked out!!! Never ever had this at a hostel in all of Europe!

The room:
-shower terrible. Boiling hot for 5 seconds then freezing the rest
- our sink had no hot water tap
- one bathroom among 6 people
-hardly any space for 6 people
- the bathroom smelled of drainage

Overall the location was perfect, very central but don't expect anything nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
351 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#22 of 217 in Edinburgh
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#31 of 217 in Edinburgh
168 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#13 of 217 in Edinburgh
463 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#18 of 217 in Edinburgh
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh

Address: 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $14 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location Opposite Edinburgh Dungeons and minutes away from Edinburgh Castle. We're across the street from the train station. Fun Atmosphere A great selection of food and drinks in the Belushi's bar, with fantastic party nights, and pub crawls to meet travellers, and locals. Known for Quality Our Edinburgh hostel has a wide selection of room types, a female only dorm, free walking tours and a free continental breakfast. 24 Hour Reception Open 24-hours a day, 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Christopher`s Hotel Edinburgh
St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing