We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Climbing my way up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #57 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Climbing my way up”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was excited when I got here to find that the cost of this was less than I thought. I have been in a mixed bedroom for many nights in other hostels and was surprised to find this to be all female. Also it was only 6 instead of twenty other people. Sounds wonderful right??? 4th floor and no working elevator which I found hard after a full day of sight seeing. Breakfast was included and that made the elevator forgivable. It would be nice if it had a kitchen but a microwave we can make do with. I would recommend this place, the subway and buses are within a block. How convenient is that?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    175
    125
    56
    58
See reviews for
16
59
187
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely LOVED my stay at St Christopher's in Edinburgh. Amazing location and super easy to find from anywhere. A shuttle from the airport takes you literally to the front door! Staff were really friendly and cool and having the bar/cafe downstairs is every travellers dream for cheap food and drink. The shared dorms are nothing special, just a bed and some lockers, but they're clean and what more could you want really. The breakfast included is simple but great and overall we had an awesome time here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bindylanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed in July 2012.
This was by far the best value of all the places I stayed on my 6 week trip.
The location is fantastic- probably couldn't get any better. Right across from the train station, and a few minutes walk to the Royal Mile.
Breakfast was cereal and toast, with coffee and tea available. Considering the cheap price of my 16 bed dorm, I was happy with it.
I was a little disappointed with the atmosphere- or lack of it. It seemed there were a lot of families staying, and as a single traveller, I found it harder than usual to meet people. It was rare to actually find people hanging out in the "hang out room". You would think in a 16 bed dorm, that it would be easy to meet people, but no one talked to anyone else. Strange.
Technical difficulties when I tried to check in meant I had to wait for almost 2 hours. But things happen! And at least the staff checked us in, in order of arrival.
Free wifi in the restaurant downstairs.
Cheap drink specials.
The real downside was the gross condition of our bathroom. There were 2 showers and 2 toilets attached to our dorm. One of the showers seemed sort-of new (though there was nowhere to place your towel or clothes) but the other shower room was covered floor to ceiling in black mould.
The communal bathroom down the hall always seemed to be out of toilet paper.
There is an elevator; it's sketchy, but usable.
There are lockers available for a fee, for before and after check out.
They had a free, stand-up comedian night which was cool.
All and all, it was worth the stay!

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank worldoyster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Me and my friend stayed here for 4 nights. On arrival we were greeted by nice friendly staff as the were for the whole duration of our stay. The Hostel was busy but yet you had your own space too.
We booked a 2 bedroom with our own bathroom. It was a bit tight for space but we didn't mind as it was just the 2 of us and we didn't want to have to share with people we didn't know.
There was a bar in the Hostel too which had good prices and nice food. I think there was entertainment in the bar every night.
The Hostel is in an excellent location it is right beside the old town where there are loads of tourist attractions.
And it is not far from the shopping centre either.
We had food in a pub I can't remember the name of it, it was near the shopping centre but the lady working there was so nice and friendly.
There was a lot of stairs in the hostel and I don't think there was any lift but you would get over that!
Everything you needed from towels, shower gel, shampoo, hairdryer etc was all available for al low price at reception.
I would definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKeane12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Hostel have excelente location but the breakfast is horrible. You could not find lovely person to help you in the breakfast and also will have a clean cup or spoon and knife.
The housekeeper entered in our room before we answer her advice.
There is no soap nether carpet in the bathroom.
I dont recomend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great hostel in an amazing location right on Market St across the street from the train station. The hostel is above 2 pubs and has a free breakfast although its really basic. There was even a lift that worked! In addition they gave a 25% discount in the pub for all meals and had a bunch of drink specials. There were also some free shows there for the fringe which was cool. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sk8195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stayed here three times, one in a 6 bed female only en suite (which was very comfortable and quite clean), one time in a mixed 14 bed en suite (very clean, great atmosphere and very spacious) and in a 6 bed mixed dorm (disgustingly dirty, really loud, not working power sockets, very hot, so you had to leave the windows open, which was nearly impossible, as the nearby pub blows its old fat "fumes" directly in the room > my hair smelled really badly even 3 days after my stay, although I washed it twice a day to get rid of the smell...)
The bathroom is moderately clean but the shower doors don't provide much privacy and the toilets were either acceptable or really disgusting (all clogged up with toilet paper or even puke)
The breakfast is alright (but it's for free, so what do you expect),the food at the bar is really nice!
Would stay here again though, because of the amazing location!
Staff is very friendly and helpful at all times (24/7 reception).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#18 of 211 in Edinburgh
439 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#16 of 211 in Edinburgh
400 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 211 in Edinburgh
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#15 of 211 in Edinburgh
162 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#36 of 211 in Edinburgh
166 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#12 of 211 in Edinburgh
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh

Property: St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh
Address: 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location Opposite Edinburgh Dungeons and minutes away from Edinburgh Castle. We're across the street from the train station. Fun Atmosphere A great selection of food and drinks in the Belushi's bar, with fantastic party nights, and pub crawls to meet travellers, and locals. Known for Quality Our Edinburgh hostel has a wide selection of room types, a female only dorm, free walking tours and a free continental breakfast. 24 Hour Reception Open 24-hours a day, 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Christopher`s Hotel Edinburgh
St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing