We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They're trying but not quite there yet”
Review of Inverleith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inverleith Hotel
Ranked #98 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“They're trying but not quite there yet”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Look, these people are really trying to get it right, but they need to really attend to the cleaning and general shabbiness of the place. It's like walking into a time-warp. Nice staff but not a place we'd ever stay again. And the people in the next room were perfectly audible to us. All night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJacks0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerinverleith, Owner at Inverleith Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
I would suggest that any prospective guests please look below this review - you will see that these guests in fact stayed in December 2012 and have only reviewed now. I don't quite know the reason for this but as you will see things are quite different now. Unfortunately the staff/management who were here in December 2012 are no longer with us. In fact due to a number of problems only lasted for 6 weeks and we are now very happy to say that we have a fantastic little team who we are very proud off.
People make all the difference and as you will see from the previous reviews which are within the last few months everything is back on track with our usual good friendly efficient service and attention to detail levels.
Unfortunately although candidates may appear extremely promising at interview it was quickly realised that this was not the case but fair employment procedures have to be followed which unfortunately could have meant 6 weeks of less than good reviews. It is quite disconcerting damaging and very unfair for this historical review to be published. Suffice to say from Feb 2013 onwards our present staff have had to work 150% to make up for this damage even though we feel we always give 110% in any case. I do feel Trip advisers policies need to be looked at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    120
    47
    34
    8
See reviews for
51
163
40
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rishton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

After searching ages for a reasonably priced hotel and one that included breakfast, we came across this on Laterooms.com.
Firstly I though there was a problem as she seemed confused and asked if we had booked a standard room. Turned out for some reason we had been upgraded to a fourposter room. So certainly no complaints so far!
First impressions are a warm and cosy classy (but small) hotel. The staff, especially the reception staff were most friendly and very helpful. Breakfast in a morning was nice, and the room warm and cosy.
Bathroom a little small, but in all honestly you don't really need a big bathroom!! Only minor gripe is there wasn't enough sugar sachets with the coffee making stuff.. but Tesco is round the corner so we got a small bag.
The hotel is a out a half hour walk into town, but there is a fantastic bus service around Edinburgh. The bus stop is just up the road and there are 3 buses (23,27,8) to catch into the city centre. The buses run frequently so you never have to wait. If doing a lot of travelling its worth the All Day Pass at £3.50 or its £1.50 single.
There are plenty of nice restaurants nearby. The Orchard (gastro pub) was the nearest. Great food there. We also tried The Other One which also was nice food, a little busier than the Orchard. There is also a Chinese, Italian and an Organic restaurant close by too, plus numerous coffee shops

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had recently visited Edinburgh choosing a 2 night stay at this hotel which is about 10-15 mins walk from the Princess Street in the center of Edinburgh. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that I have been allocated the self contained studio apartment instead of the standard double room I have booked. The hotel did not disappoint in any way. Clean bedding and towels as well as tidy overall room including coffee and tea made my stay very pleasant.
I would definitely stay here again! Thank you for having me!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Easy to reach city center by bus or if you are up to it by walking. Staff very helpful. Rooms clean no issues. Had great WiFi reception. There are plenty of places to eat in the neighborhood- Piano Cafe, the Orchard, the Roaming Nose, Lugis to name a few. The Botanics are 1/2 a block from hotel (east gate).

Room Tip: room 7 great WiFi and view. Very quiet, would book this room again
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a lovely 2-night stay in this hotel. The room was small, the bathroom even smaller. But had everything you need for a city trip. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was good. The best thing was our view from the room, we had a room at the back of the hotel on the top floor and we had the best view over Edinburgh. Good transportation to city centre. If we go back to Edinburgh this is the hotel we book.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wvdv88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this friendly hotel just as the warm autumn weather came to an end and the temperature plummeted! Our room was compact and the bathroom small, but everything that we needed was there. Breakfast was superb on the first day and good on the second. Staff were all unfailingly helpful and pleasant. Would definitely stay here again the next time we go to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I loved staying here. The rooms are small and cozy. Staff is welcoming and helpful. You can get a taxi into the main city, or you can walk (a little less then a mile). There are great cafes and restaurants right around the corner. I would absolutely stay here on my next Edinburgh visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooreea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerinverleith, Guest Relations Manager at Inverleith Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, we pride ourselves on our service so we are pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful. We hope that you will return to our hotel should you return to Edinburgh in the future.

Regards, Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Dene Guest House
Dene Guest House
#20 of 392 in Edinburgh
330 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kellerstain Stables B&B
Kellerstain Stables B&B
#27 of 392 in Edinburgh
154 reviews
2.8 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#50 of 392 in Edinburgh
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#101 of 392 in Edinburgh
44 reviews
2.4 mi away
Allison House Hotel
Allison House Hotel
#111 of 392 in Edinburgh
190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Culane House Hotel
Culane House Hotel
#143 of 392 in Edinburgh
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverleith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverleith Hotel

Property: Inverleith Hotel
Address: 5 Inverleith Terrace | City Centre, Edinburgh EH3 5NS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverleith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality bed and breakfast hotel just under 1 mile from the city centre of Edinburgh. £3 All day low cost parking midweek. Free parking at weekends. Self catering apt also available nearby. Free wifi. Licensed residents bar, room service and bar meals available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inverleith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverleith Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing