We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helped us out”
Review of Inverleith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inverleith Hotel
Ranked #104 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Helped us out”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

After our original accomodation in Leith had gone walkabout a quick ring around showed us that just before Hogmanay in Edinburgh there aren''t many places available. The Inverleith could squeeze us in so we shot over and decamped from the car. A very pleasant and warm welcome awaited us and we were soon settled in to our small but efficient rooms. We strolled to a nice local Italian for dinner and then back to the warm and welcoming Inverleith. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly and nothing was a bother. We had a lovely few nights there and it is a nice stroll into Town to see the sights. I'd certainly recommend the Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    120
    47
    35
    8
See reviews for
51
163
40
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ravenstone, Leicestershire, England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A very nice friendly family run hotel within walking distance of the centre of Edinburgh.
Excellent breakfasts and within walking distance of restaurants and pubs for evening meals.
The room wasn't the largest I have ever stayed in but had all the facilities required and a comfy bed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanScaife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Had an excellent stay at The Inverleith, the service was very good and we felt very welcomed when we arrived at this boutique hotel. We were checked in by a very helpful lady on reception who I believe was the manager and we felt we were very looked after during our stay. Breakfast was very good and the room we had was nice. This hotel is in a very good location with lots of local restaurants, the botanic gardens and only a 15-20 minute walk into town. Overall our stay was very enjoyable and would highly reccommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 428Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had booked the Inverleith hotel for one night only. Thank Goodness!! First impression was "nice, Charming small hotel with lots of old-fashioned character". Manager was nice but after being shown to our room, it was dirty with the carpet not even hoovered. When we moved the curtain, there was rubbish tucked down the back. Chandeliers were full of cobwebs in hall and dining room. As for breakfast, this was very poor. Received one slice of toast with scrambled egg from microwave. No extra toast on table and no sugar, butter or salt on table. Owners also having a row during breakfast, maybe the reason it was so poor. Sad as with some TLC this would be an excellent find. There were three of us on this overnight stay and this cost £101. Definately over priced!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gazandash10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerinverleith, Owner at Inverleith Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We must apologise to anyone who has read the most recent reviews. Especially the last one.
We fear that our small business has been severely damaged by recent employees. (managers) who we employed just before Xmas. Suffice to say that they are no longer with us!
I hope that any future readers go back a few reviews to see how we take pride in our small family run hotel.
It was not the owners having an argument in the kitchen during breakfast time. This would have been the managers who have let us down very badly.. Unfortunately due to notice periods we could not release them until now and although we constantly checked.. Instructed, corrected etc .. It appears that no amount of tuition could help, And we cannot be on the premises 24/7 We were fooled into believing that all was running smoothly.

We feel quite hurt personally due to the damage this has done to our small business and can only now begin to re-build, the standards we would normally expect from staff.. We are now in the process of looking for new managers and will be going through candidates c.v's with a fine tooth comb.. We cannot believe how the past people concerned were able to pull the wool over our eyes so much.
Any future guests can rest assured that they will have a comfortable, stay with our standards again raised to their usual level and above. Luckily we have been able to recruit a previous manager on a temporary basis until we find the right people to join our small team, and with us present too the standards should be resumed. We do apologise profusely to any guests who have stayed recently who did not get the experience they should have. We hope you may return at some point in order for us to show you our normal high standards of accommodation and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were looking for a hotel for Hogmanay and had left it rather late, so this seemed the best of what remained. The front of house staff, in particular Helen the manager, were very helpful from the start of the booking process to the moment we left. The distance from the centre was not too much of a problem as buses and taxis were plentiful, and a brisk walk was also an option on some occasions. The wi-fi worked well and hotel also put on a superb traditional New Year meal at a reasonable cost. So why no better than average? Of our two rooms, the bathroom and toilet of one was not cleaned properly and in both cases the toiletries were inadequate and not replenished during the three days. The shower cubicle was uncomfortably small and in one room the light in the shower did not work. The wait for hot water to both rooms was far too long, perhaps because we were on the top floor. One room was adequately heated but the other had a faulty window which let in the draft and which also did not have a lock on the inside. Room 5 should be avoided as it overlooks the street which made it noisy due to the faulty window and also because noise from the neighbouring room came through the wall. However,Room 8 was cosy and quiet, with a comfortable bed, and had a good view.
Breakfast was sufficient, with a good choice, but on one day the chef had not turned up on time and although the lady in charge did her best to cover this meant the service and quality was not up to the previous standard.
In retrospect, the cost seemed rather excessive for what was offered, perhaps New Year had something to do with this, but it did mean that value for money was rather low. Also, there was no mention at the time of booking that there would be an extra 3% for using a credit card or even a debit card. This only became apparent when the credit card statement arrived.
With a bit more care and attention this hotel could provide a much better experience for its visitors.

Room Tip: Avoid 5, while 8 is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerinverleith, Manager at Inverleith Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are pleased you enjoyed the location and found it to be a pleasant walk into Princes st. It is good to know that we helped to make a good experience for your celebration of New Year with our New Years dinner. This is a victorian traditional town house and we are pleased to have retained the orignial sash and case windows. Most of which work very well - however a few guests have found room 5 a little awkward to close but usually manage. In most instances they let us know and it is not a problem at all to lend a helping hand. We had hoped to keep this window but it may be that the time has come to change. Guest only have to ask if they wish more complimentary toiletries and we are happy to replenish.
Our chambermaids are usually very alert and let us know immediately should a bulb stop working - it may be that this has gone just after your arrival. We do hope that guests would say rather than wait until check out as we are more than happy to fix any problems to improve your stay.
We pride ourselves on our breakfast service and, for the benefit of our business which we take very seriously we will be replacing the staff involved. We are sorry to have to do this but unfortnuately contstant staff trainging didn't help, this was also one of the problems related to the room not being at our normal good standard, and we had to take this decision.
The cost infact had related to a longer stay over New Year and as a short stay this did make the room more expensvie as this is an extremely high demand period when min stays are normally set.
We do make charges for using cards very clear at time of booking and there is the option of alternative payments if you contact us. Your comments are appreciated and care and attention is our most important issue as a small family hotel and we look forward to the New Year with improved levels of staff service..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Hotel is in a good location with the Botanic Gardens just round the corner, also a comfortable 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile or the option of 3 buses straight into town. The room was spacious and had all the creature comforts of home, even though the Remote Control went astray on two separate occasions. The staff were friendly, courteous and went out of their way to make our stay as pleasing as possible. The breakfast service was slow and the breakfast itself was under cooked which was peculiar as there was only the 2 of us there. But on the whole it was a pleasant stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robjtierney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed in the Studio, which had a comfortable four (4| Poster Bed.
From start to finish the Staff/Reception were friendly and imformative.
All facilities in the Room were very good.
Access to the Room directly from the Street was a good idea and very welcome, as we were late arriving back from attending our Function, which was held close by.
Look forward to experiencing again, soon.

Frank

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie01031952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#22 of 392 in Edinburgh
336 reviews
Culane House Hotel
#135 of 392 in Edinburgh
342 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#69 of 392 in Edinburgh
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#16 of 392 in Edinburgh
695 reviews
Kellerstain Stables B&B
#25 of 392 in Edinburgh
157 reviews
Clarin Guest House
#127 of 392 in Edinburgh
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverleith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverleith Hotel

Property: Inverleith Hotel
Address: 5 Inverleith Terrace | City Centre, Edinburgh EH3 5NS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverleith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality bed and breakfast hotel just under 1 mile from the city centre of Edinburgh. £3 All day low cost parking midweek. Free parking at weekends. Self catering apt also available nearby. Free wifi. Licensed residents bar, room service and bar meals available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inverleith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverleith Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing