We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (769)
Filter reviews
769 results
Traveler rating
492
161
75
28
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
492
161
75
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snug bar fire pit calton hill studio suite large balcony garden view third floor q park unique hotel omni centre bottle of prosecco underfloor heating an upgrade playhouse theatre lounge area beautiful room continental breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 769 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2019

We picked this hotel because of the downtown location and we are members of Marriott. There is construction going on in front of the hotel and couldn't find out where to park. We called the hotel and the staff came out and met us, walked us three blocks to the parking and escorted us to the hotel. What service! We checked in and then went to our rooms that were very large (one of us had a suite) and then we used the location to explore Edinburgh. Great locations, staff and breakfast. Well done even though the layout of the hotel is a little strange and the parking is not convenient.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Blend5Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2019

We had an issue with a rental and desperately needed a hotel in
in the area. The Courtyard by Marriott was full so they sent us up the street to the Glasshouse. It was an appallingly high rate for one night which did not include breakfast of an sort.

The room was small with two plastic chairs. The bathroom was adapted for handicap usage and the water from the wall less shower ran everywhere.

The place was supposedly a five star hotel, I would say it was a three star at best!

The bed however was exceptional and the only redeeming feature.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre_Sa_Castro, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Judith R,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

I'm sorry to read that the stay and our facilities were not according to your expectations. All our rooms are however furnished with wood material, with exception of the garden furniture that I'm glad to inform is expected to be replaced this year. We are glad however that the bed meet the expectations of comfort.

Kind regards,

Andre Sa Castro
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2019

Up there with one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Escorted to our rooms by reception staff who gave us details about the architecture of the building and its purpose before becoming an awesome hotel :)

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wb247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is modern and quirky. It is in the perfect location as it is easy to get there from the train station and is near nightlife. Staying in Glasgow myself, travelling through to Edinburgh I have always struggled to find somewhere that impresses but The Glasshouse was a special experience. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a bigger room with a balcony as it was our first couples stay at the hotel, the assistant also escorted us to our room so that it was easy for us to find. The room itself was very nice with a comfortable bed, large bathroom and terrace like balcony that looked out onto city lights. The hotel restaurant was also pleasant as the breakfast provided all that you could want, we were left very satisfied and felt that the service was exceptional. The waiters catered for all needs. The hotel is also next to a large centre where there are multiple restaurants and bars incase you don’t fancy the hotel food! Over all it was a lovely experience and would recommend the hotel, will definitely be back the next time I’m in Edinburgh.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank juicedillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019

We absolutely Loved this place! The location is perfect near everything! Nice combination of modern (huge windows when the sun shines it really shines in, great gardens on view) and gothic style building.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EsmeraldaElite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews