We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveler rating
491
161
75
28
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
491
161
75
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snug bar fire pit calton hill studio suite large balcony garden view third floor q park unique hotel omni centre bottle of prosecco underfloor heating an upgrade playhouse theatre lounge area beautiful room would highly recommend this hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 768 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is modern and quirky. It is in the perfect location as it is easy to get there from the train station and is near nightlife. Staying in Glasgow myself, travelling through to Edinburgh I have always struggled to find somewhere that impresses but The Glasshouse was a special experience. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a bigger room with a balcony as it was our first couples stay at the hotel, the assistant also escorted us to our room so that it was easy for us to find. The room itself was very nice with a comfortable bed, large bathroom and terrace like balcony that looked out onto city lights. The hotel restaurant was also pleasant as the breakfast provided all that you could want, we were left very satisfied and felt that the service was exceptional. The waiters catered for all needs. The hotel is also next to a large centre where there are multiple restaurants and bars incase you don’t fancy the hotel food! Over all it was a lovely experience and would recommend the hotel, will definitely be back the next time I’m in Edinburgh.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank juicedillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019

We absolutely Loved this place! The location is perfect near everything! Nice combination of modern (huge windows when the sun shines it really shines in, great gardens on view) and gothic style building.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EsmeraldaElite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

This property is located in new town, but within walking distance to the old town sights and restaurants. The hotel kept the integrity of the old church front but has a thoroughly interior. Inside, the hotel is laid in out in long floors. Getting around requires a long walk down the hotel corridors. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
We used Marriott Points to book the hotel and secured a third floor suite. The large suite was beautiful with a comfortable sitting area and an outdoor terrace overlooking the square. The bed was just wonderful. Our bathroom was also large and came with two nice touches - oversized fluffy bath towels and heated bath tile floors! Our room was one of just a few suites adjacent to the bar. As a result, we could hear noise from the bar until very late. Nonetheless, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Glasshouse Hotel and would recommend the property for visitors to Edinburgh.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kstraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Typical boutique hotel. Very trendy and modern.Confusing way to get to the rooms. Spent 2 nites with a group of 24. The lounge is called the snug and is on the third floor. Nothing in the lobby. This hotel is very antiseptic,really has no vibe to it. Outside is an absolute mess . The streets are torn up ,hard to walk around but it will be nice when finished. The staff are great as in all the hotels we stayed in .need to give Jonathan a big thank you for helping the group. Very nice young man. Cannot close off without mentioning the prices in the hotel. There is no restaurant except for a breakfast buffet. Breakfast was encluded thank goodness. But the price of the rooms and the libations in the lounge are ridiculous. Will not be back.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazaro_sarris, Guest Relations Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

Dear Mr Bill,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey and your recent visit to our hotel. I would also like to extend my deepest apologies as the stay did not meet your expectations.

I would also like to thank you for your comments on Jonathan, we will definitely pass on your thanks to him. At this hotel we strive to provide outstanding service and I am glad that Jonathan was able to do just that.

We do hope you give us another chance to show you the true Glasshouse experience, and for that I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to a beautiful room on the third floor to prevent you from having to walk a long distance and would also like to extend complimentary full Scottish breakfast during your stay.

I would also like to add that the construction in front of the hotel will be completed in the near future.

Shall you decide to return, please do not hesitate to get in touch with us at dm@theglasshousehotel.co.uk and we will be happy to arrange everything for you.

Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you.

Kind regards,
Lazaro Sarris
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019

The good: Location, room, extremely nice and helpful bellmen, and location. The rooms are modern, clean, and nice. George the bellman was super nice and helpful. The location is so central, you can walk to most of the main attractions in Edinburgh!

The bad: Layout/design - there are 3 floors of guest rooms but you have to take an elevator from lobby up to floor 3 to access all of the floors of guestrooms. There was no guest elevator for floors 1 and 2 - if you need an elevator, you'd have to use the staff/delivery elevator, a most strange design.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank williamlN2623EZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews