We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Edinburgh and I would stay at this hotel again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Ranked #68 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I love Edinburgh and I would stay at this hotel again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have wanted to visit Edinburgh for a long time and this city met all my expectations and more. This hotel is well positioned, an easy walk to Edinburgh station, and everything else this lovely city has to offer. This hotels biggest asset is its roof terrace and the fact we had a room opening onto this terrace with its view of Carlton Hill, made our stay here what we wanted. The rooms are all newly refurbished, contemporary, and well equipped. The honesty bar set up suited us, and the room service Caesar salad eaten at the glass table over looking the terrace makes the stay here informal and flexible. Bathroom facilities excellent if a little noisy! So many brilliant places to eat in Edinburgh we got up and ate breakfast out.

Room Tip: Choose roof terrace view, we asked to be moved, which they did willingly and it made our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancieGJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonMathewson, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
I'm glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay at The Glasshouse. Thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    274
    141
    66
    24
See reviews for
129
687
32
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is amazing. The beds are big and so confortable!
We had a room with a big terrace and view to carlton hill.

The location is very good.. we went to every where by foot, is about 10 minutes from royal mile and the castle! you don't need any car or public transport. There are bars, restaurants and shops nearby.

We used the loyalty bar and at check out we had more drinks than we had consumed. The Hotel apologized and corrected everything immediately.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonMathewson, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and at The Glasshouse. I hope you will have another opportunity to visit Edinburgh and stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I have been stayed here a couple of times mostly in the suits. Spotless clean rooms, nice and big, very comfy bed. Actually the most comfortable in Edinburgh. We always had just room service that received quickly from a nice member of the staff. I always had breakfast for room service, they do very tasty fried up and good coffee!
I would stay here anytime again although I prefer the suits that's terrace door opens to the garden instead to the front of the street.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaT_SoM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonMathewson, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for your ongoing custom. I hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

On entering, the hotel is impressive, the staff are very friendly and efficient. The layout of the hotel, is some what challenging. My room was up on the third floor, it was spotlessly clean and very well presented. The young man who checked me in was very pleasant, sorry I can not remember his name, he explained everything in the room and how to get to the lounge area, how the honesty bar worked and even the room service. He was excellent.
The layout of the hotel......... There is a walkway from the lounge through the Roof top Garden which is handy for getting the lift to reception. The Restaurant is down the stairs in the lounge and a the bottom of the corridor, this was very hard to find, as there was no staff around to help. The idea of the loyalty bar is quaint but in reality it is to enable staff to be else where!! When you do use the Loyalty Bar, you are instructed, by way of a notice, what to do, you are also reminded that the area is covered by CCTV !!!! My one concern, the details you have to put on the forms are left for any one else to see, they could add extra drinks, know your name, room number. So may I suggest a box that for each round you have, you just put your room number, your chosen drinks and sign it, put it in the box and your details and order are safe!!
My other small point is the food and beverages. The tea is far too strong - fine to use tea leaves, but you need to put a jug of hot water with it, so people can amend the strength of the tea - this is how it should be done. I had to keep asking for more hot water. If you do not want to use more jugs, change to tea bags,like you have in the rooms, far better for the customer.
Breakfast, well - full Scottish, scrambled eggs nicely presented in a circular shape served with one rasher of bacon, one sausage, ONE MUSHROOM ( not a massive mushroom, small flat mushroom)and one slice of black pudding. Now, it either needs to be served on a smaller plate, or they need to be more generous with the portions . I am not suggesting a massive plate of food but even the option of 1 or 2 slices of bacon etc. The full Scottish Breakfast was £18.50, I am just glad mine had been included in my room rate. You can, of course, still have continental breakfast, but I just felt the price of it to the serving was a bit more concerned about profit.
The saving grace of this hotel is, it's staff, location and cleanliness of the room. I was travelling on my own and felt totally comfortable in the hotel. I would recommend this hotel, just be aware of these few issues, they won't spoil your stay but are worth mentioning .

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Janybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This could be such a lovely hotel; the location, straddling a busy shopping street and the craggy hill, is fantastic and the views superb.

It's only when you actually settle into the room that you realise that however stylish it looks, in practice it doesn't work very well. We stayed during a heatwave, and the room was unbearably hot and stuffy. The air conditioning either wasn't working, or just couldn't cope, so we couldn't sleep at night.

Sitting outside the room on the chairs in the sunshine was great, but spoiled somewhat by the fact that the chairs were hard plastic and unbearably hot so we had to drape towels over them. There is a reason that good garden furniture has cotton cushions!

Going for a shower was irritating. There's no internal handle on the shower door so you have to reach up and pull the top of the door to shut it. As there's no shower tray, the water then leaks under the door so there I was paddling in half an inch of water in the bathroom itself (slippy!).

When I went to dry my hair in front of the only mirror, there was no socket to plug the hairdryer into.

Eventually we got so hacked off by the insufferable heat and other irritations that we checked out after just one night, having booked for two. .

Whoever designed this place should have actually tried staying there first and changed a few things to make it more user friendly.

It's a shame, because the staff were friendly, the location is fantastic and the roof garden could be wonderful if only they got rid of the naff plastic furniture.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank honeyHenleyonThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonMathewson, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for providing such constructive feedback. We have had our air conditioning units repaired following the unfortunate malfunction experienced during the unseasonably hot weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Lovely staff on check in (Louise i think) and departure. Room and bed to a very high standard, very good room service which we used and useful honesty bar for when having drinks in garden terrace. only criticism would be the garden area was not cleaned once and we stayed there for over 3 hours. lots of dirty glasses and ash trays left out. you must assign a cleaner to go round the garden every hour or so.. Overall great stay and love the new decor.. one of best hotels in Edinburgh

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenFMeadowbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonMathewson, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the team didn't check the garden whilst you were there, but this has been addressed now, so thank you for letting us know. I hope that you will consider a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Welcoming and friendly staff set the tone for our entire stay here. Wonderful rooms which opened onto the roof-top garden provided a serene setting for wine after a hectic day of sightseeing.

Restaurants, pubs and other shops abound. Great mass transit as well as taxis at the front door allow easy access to museums and attractions.

Note - only problems encountered were parking (off site) and loud banging noise (A/C, radiator or other mechanical) which was persistent and awoke us several times during the nights we stayed which is the reason for the "average" score in the Sleep Quality section. We would definitely stay again - just in another room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilmington_NCCyndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonMathewson, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at The Glasshouse. A/C issues have been rectified so I am sure you will have a more comfortable night's sleep when you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,253 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#43 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 1,669 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection

Property: The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Address: 2 Greenside Place, Edinburgh EH1 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Edinburgh
Glasshouse Edinburgh
Edinburgh Glasshouse
Glasshouse Hotel Edinburgh
Glass House Edinburgh
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing