We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Small Hotel In the Center of Edinburgh”
Review of Rabble Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rabble Rooms
Ranked #120 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Rick's bills itself as Boutique and it truly is. Our experience at Rick's was truly delightful. The staff are all great and very professional. Every request was fulfilled with a smile. Frasier, the manager was very very nice and so was Paula who very graciously printed out our boarding passes the day before we were to leave. Rick's is located just 1 1/2 blocks from Princes Street and about 3 blocks from the Waverley Train Station.

We had breakfast a couple of mornings and it was delicious. The only draw back are the 52 steps to the third floor rooms. They can also be very noisy as all of the rooms face the back and the trash pick-ups occur at about 5:30 am. However, I would stay at Rick's the next time I am in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatsbykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Rabble Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 453 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a lovely little hotel very close to the centre of Edinburgh. Its really a bar/restaurant with some rooms upstairs. The young lady on reception was delightful, smart and helpful. The bar and restaurant were both very busy - obviously lots of locals choose to pop in here. Our rooms were at the top of the building - both very well prepared, clean and comfortable. If you have trouble with stairs it wont be the best choice for you, but if you want a small welcoming good quality location its great. Would def use it again.

Room Tip: Saturday night in Edinburgh is noisy - take earplugs !
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our stay at Ricks hotel was an absolute pleasure during our recent trip to Edinburgh.

It was nothing short of inspirational to see such a young, customer focused team of staff with such a high level of professionalism. We were always made to feel at home, and nothing was too much trouble for the team at Rick's.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in room 10 top of the hotel for 2 nights as we were in Scotland for a wedding - there are no lifts by the way. Great sized room with GHD straighteners and hairdryer which i didnt expect - i packed my own. Clean room but bathroom needs an update, new tiles, a total refresh really. I would class this more like a 3* hotel. The stairwells leading to the rooms is accessed via the bar, a very busy one in the evenings but thankfully the noise didnt travel up to our room but the stairwell again is not what i would expect in a 4*, it all just needs a mini facelift. We ate in the hotel bar one night, great offer £15 for 2 mains and the food was delicious, as were the cocktails. We were here over the Fringe Festival weekend so rates were quite high. We paid £175 per night for a double room, not worth that at all if im honest but it is a stone's throw away from Princes Street. When i booked my confirmation didnt state breakfast was included and nor were we told when we checked in,,,,apparently it was. Shame no one thought to tell us, we got our breakfast from Pret a Manger each morning!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: go for the top level, we were in room 10
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pooja79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

After reading some of the negative reviews on the Rick’s Hotel, we were a bit worried while walking from the bus stop up along Fredrick Street. We made our reservation for one night long ago, simply on the basis that the hotel looked very stylish from the website. Only a couple of months after booking the room I read the reviews, and started to curse myself for reserving the room on a whim – and for paying in advance!
Anyway, we were positively impressed when we entered the modern bar-restaurant-reception area: we checked in at around noon and we were quite sure we would have to wait until later in the afternoon to get to our room but, surprisingly enough, it was ready.
It is true that the corridor leading to the bedrooms is narrow and that you have to walk along the bar area, but this didn’t really bother us. And yes, it is true that our ground floor room is a bit run-down, and it is also true that the two windows overlook a back alley. But it should also be said that the room we were assigned (Room 1) is big, with a large king-sized bed, a nice décor, a clean bathroom with bathtub, clean towels and fluffy bathrobes, tea & coffee making facilities, hair-dryer and free Wi-Fi connection. I was also a bit worried by what I read about the garbage bins in the street being emptied at all hours of day and night, and about the noise of empty bottles being thrown in the recycling bin in the street after the restaurant closing time. But luckily enough this didn’t happen: we just heard the garbage truck once at around 12am, and another time at around 6pm. No big drama I would say: it all last for no more than a minute or so, as it happens in most hotels in big cities. Also, we didn’t notice any bad smell coming up from the street or from the restaurant kitchen.
We also had dinner at the Rick’s restaurant: again, we very happy with the friendliness of the staff, and with the choice of dishes, which included meat, fish, pasta and veg options. We ordered a platter of cheeses and hams to share, and everything was tasty and fresh. Then we had a rib-eye steak with roast potatoes and a chicken salad as mains, and we were extremely satisfied with those too. The only downside is that service was a bit slow, but it was completely understandable since the place was full to the brim. And the bill turned out to be absolutely reasonable.
Another positive aspect of the Rick’s is its location: we got there by Airlink bus from the airport, and walked for just over 5 minutes from the Castle Street stop. Frederick Street is just off Princes Street, so all the main attractions are within walking distance from the hotel. Also, Rose Street is a couple of minutes away so if you don’t feel like eating at the Rick’s restaurant, there’s plenty of places to choose from, including Jamie Oliver’s restaurant Jamie’s Italian and the Black Cat Pub, both on Rose Street.
We will definitely go back to the Rick’s Hotel on our next stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silviademick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

we returned to ricks on saturday for the first time in about four years,the welcome was warm and the saff very helpful. The room rate was £135 which for Edinburgh Fringe time was good value but we had booked a bit in advance.
The rooms are ok but are showing signs of age and I hope the management are starting to think about refurbishment as the dressing unit and side tables are starting to show signs of wear and tear. The carpet could do with a clean too, but I am being picky as the room was still very comfortable and had good little touches like the ipod loaded with music.
we were having a night out so had cocktails before we headed out they were really good 9/10, we came back late at nearly 4am but was greated by a member of staff cleaning the ceiling in the restuarant he ask if we needed anything from the bar, but by that time we had had enough.
Breakfast I remembered was good, we went down and after I read the menu I ordered kippers for me and waffles and bacon for my wife, with two coffees and pineapple juice.
the waitress returned a couple of minutes later to say the kippers had not been delivered yet. She did offer to go out and buy some but I said that wasn't needed and I had a full cooked breakfast instead, the food was aboiut 7/10
so to sum up its in a great location, it needs a refurb, but the staff are really great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladykentmores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just returned home from a night away at Ricks with my fiance for the start of the Edinburgh Festival. We chose to stay here as have usually stayed at its partner hotel Tiger Lily - but got a great deal for the night at Ricks and hoped it would be quite similar. We didn't love Ricks as much as Tiger Lily but don't want to draw on too many comparisons.

Hotel is in a great central location. It is located down stairs from Fredrick Street - then you have to walk through the bar/restaurant to get to the bedrooms.

Our room was a decent size, clean and was stylishly decorated. TV on the wall had plenty of channels available, loaded ipod and dock, GHD straighteners and hairdryer, basic tea and coffee facilities, bottled water by the bed. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was nice but would have maybe expected a nicer bath/shower for the standard of this hotel.

We did have one issue and that was that our street-level room faced bins and there was a lot of noise of glass bottles being binned. We just laughed it off and got on with it as we were just there for the one night - but it was very loud.

All staff that we encountered couldn't have been friendlier.

We booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast package. The food was all good - but dinner portions were quite small. Fab cocktail list also. Great choice for breakfast - which is a la carte so is a welcome change to the usual hotel buffet breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,712 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#113 of 150 in Edinburgh
688 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#74 of 150 in Edinburgh
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
333 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rabble Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rabble Rooms

Address: 55A Frederick Street, Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland (Formerly Rick's)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $131 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rabble Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rabble Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rick`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Edinburgh
Rabble Rooms Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing