We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good service”

The Telford Arms Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Telford Arms Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,106 of 2,505 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Newly refurbished bar serving GREAT FRESH FOOD.Open from 9 am serving breakfast everyday - £4.95 Big breakfast 2 Course Lunch £6.95- Kitchen open until 9pm everyday families & groups welcome.Gluten free menu options available.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I went for a meal at the Telford Arms this evening. We opted for the £11.95 for 3 courses. The Bruschetta and vegetable spring rolls were excellently cooked and tasty. We followed this with the breaded (also available battered) Haddock and chips which again was lovely and an ample portion. I opted for the sticky toffee pudding and my wife the toffee cheesecake both of which made an excellent end to the meal.

The total bill for the meal including two drinks was around £30. Excellent value and good food and service. Will be going more often from now on and recommending to friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterward2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    19
    9
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Early evening meal”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We occaisionaly visit the Telford Arms after work for a drink and a meal, we have always found the service superb (the girl who works the restaurant is a real asset to this establishment - always cheery always efficient and as my partner always says "would employ") large clean pleasant place to eat - food is always good (as are the breakfasts) reasonably priced.

Cannot fault in any way and unlike so many places these days the service is superb. will continue to visit

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank groovy1970s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Xmas dinner”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant value for money food pretty good
Friendly staff, this venue is making a comeback. The Xmas dinner was particularly good will be returning soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pmungall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellant good value food with kids area and a wonderful menu, highly recommended”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have had 2 visits here now with kids in tow, menu is fantastic and food very good quality. Can't recommend this place enough and we will be back. Thank you to the manager for his hospitality and kindness

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsLBowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Telford Arms is conveniently situated on a main road out of Edinburgh with plenty of parking. Has a local feel but think it is part of the John Barras chain. Well decorated and maintained with lovely fresh loos (always a sign of good housekeeping). Food was very reasonable - £5 for 2 course, Admittedly small but very adequate portions for a lunch - can upgrade to £10 for bigger portions and 3 course. Food was reasonable in taste too - macaroni was very nice, sausage in sausage mash could have been tastier- a bit bland but gravy and mash were tasty. Service very polite , friendly and prompt but not rushed. I live fairly local and have passed the Telford on many occassions but will visit again and hopefully soon. A local gem!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeansilverk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Telford Arms Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Telford Arms Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing