We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early evening meal”

The Telford Arms Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Telford Arms Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,099 of 2,528 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Newly refurbished bar serving GREAT FRESH FOOD.Open from 9 am serving breakfast everyday - £4.95 Big breakfast 2 Course Lunch £6.95- Kitchen open until 9pm everyday families & groups welcome.Gluten free menu options available.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Early evening meal”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We occaisionaly visit the Telford Arms after work for a drink and a meal, we have always found the service superb (the girl who works the restaurant is a real asset to this establishment - always cheery always efficient and as my partner always says "would employ") large clean pleasant place to eat - food is always good (as are the breakfasts) reasonably priced.

Cannot fault in any way and unlike so many places these days the service is superb. will continue to visit

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank groovy1970s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    20
    9
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Xmas dinner”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant value for money food pretty good
Friendly staff, this venue is making a comeback. The Xmas dinner was particularly good will be returning soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pmungall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellant good value food with kids area and a wonderful menu, highly recommended”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have had 2 visits here now with kids in tow, menu is fantastic and food very good quality. Can't recommend this place enough and we will be back. Thank you to the manager for his hospitality and kindness

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsLBowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Telford Arms is conveniently situated on a main road out of Edinburgh with plenty of parking. Has a local feel but think it is part of the John Barras chain. Well decorated and maintained with lovely fresh loos (always a sign of good housekeeping). Food was very reasonable - £5 for 2 course, Admittedly small but very adequate portions for a lunch - can upgrade to £10 for bigger portions and 3 course. Food was reasonable in taste too - macaroni was very nice, sausage in sausage mash could have been tastier- a bit bland but gravy and mash were tasty. Service very polite , friendly and prompt but not rushed. I live fairly local and have passed the Telford on many occassions but will visit again and hopefully soon. A local gem!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeansilverk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Telford Arms is so close to the West End and on a straight road to Leith I'm surprised it wasn't busier.

Is a family friendly pub, serving good British Grub. Service was friendly and with a smile. Food came quickly, large portions and very nicely cooked. We SHOULDN'T have had Pud!, but we did... It was all a bit nice, and we were stuffed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Telford Arms Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Telford Arms Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing