We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Takin' Over The Asylum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lyceum Theatre

The Lyceum Theatre
Ranked #99 of 391 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Glasgow
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Takin' Over The Asylum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Attended this show at The Lyceum during a recent trip to Edinburgh. Staff were very friendly and accommodating ( I witnessed the interaction between the staff and two people with disabilities who required AD headsets, and they had a guide dog. Staff were exceptional) First time for me at this theatre, and have to say, thoroughly enjoyable, and the seating much less cramped than at the Festival Theatre, although comfortable would be pushing it, but hey it's not the cinema. The bar staff were lovely but their coffee machine needs an upgrade. Avoid the latte at all costs. Great night, enjoyed the performance, luckily we were able to get parked on Castle Terrace. Looking forward to a return visit

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
““Takin' over the asylum””
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The comedy literally started as soon as I bought a ticket.
"£1 transaction fee" for a cash sale?
I've never seen that before.
Does this go towards the Lyceum staff's Xmas Night Out Fund?
In spite of this...I love the Lyceum...it's a fantastic, intimate old-fashioned theatre.
The play was hugely enjoyable as well.
Very likeable, talented cast who provided loads of laughs.
To nitpick, I'd say that the humpur was possibly a little broad for my taste, but a packed house clearly loved it from start to finish.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank toecurlerjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Went to see Cinderalla here at Xmas and was really good. A really old and lovely theatre with a modern front.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lavina1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Takin over the asylem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We visited the theatre for the first time at the weekend, i booked box F as a treat which said it had a restricted view, in our local theatre "restricted view" means you can not see a small part of the stage. From our seats in the Lyceum we could not see around half of the stage. I asked a member of staff if there was any chance we could move seats as it was not a busy performance, she came back and said no and if we wanted other seats we would have to go to the box office and pay extra, as this was around 3 minutes before the show started we would have missed the beginning. I have been in theatres in London were the view was not perfect and there have been no problem with moving seats so I could not see the problem here if the seats were empty.
So my point in this story do not sit in a box!!!

Apart from that the show was brilliant, the story is both funny and dramatic, with unexpected turns and fantastic acting. Just disappointing that we could not see it all.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“wonderful cosy theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

forget about the big venues if you want something a bit more intimate. This wonderful theatre provides regular high quality theatre where every seat generally means a good view, rather than trying to peer at the stage from way back. They also have a lovely little bar beside the dress circle

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank organiserguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lyceum Theatre also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Lyceum Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing