We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lyceum Theatre

The Lyceum Theatre
Ranked #101 of 394 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We've been coming here for many years and still love the warm, friendly atmosphere fostered by Jacqui and her Front of House Team. The productions are varied and the best ones have stuck in our memories far more than the very occasional dud! The sets are almost always stunning and there's lots going on behind the scenes with courses and pre and post show discussions plus real efforts to reach out to the wider community. Wheelchair users will get some of the best seats in the house (at fantastic prices). What's not to love?

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Good-hotel-lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic small theatre”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went to see Time and the Conways at the Lyceum.

Theatre is not really my thing but I knew my girlfriend would enjoy it so booked it.

I was thoroughly impressed, great performance and fantastic theatre with great atmosphere. If back in Edinburgh I will defiantly be booking again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Building!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We visited the Lyceum Theatre recently to see "A Taste of Honey". Though the play as not up to much (more shouted than acted, storyline lacking) the whole experience of the theatre was a pleasure. A lovely clean, plush theatre - worth a visit!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Taste of Honey”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Well produced and acted play in a lovely old theatre. Tickets also much cheaper than London's West End!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kevinlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful building tucked away”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a beautiful building, with a grand feel, but on a cosy scale, as its not actually that big. I love attending plays etc here. The staff are knowledgable and friendly. I try to support the smaller theatres and this one would def be a good choice. Lots of restaurants nearby with a wide range of choice too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lyceum Theatre also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Lyceum Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing