We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it love it”
Review of Dominion Cinema

Dominion Cinema
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love it love it”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The best of staff, the plushest of surroundings, I love love love the Dominion cinema, and would rather pay a family enterprise cash than lien the pockets of huge conglomerates such as the Odeon. Pop corn and wine on sofas, watching a move, where else....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClaireTEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    53
    5
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing comfort”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Dominion has become my favourite cinema - not just in Edinburgh, anywhere! More comfortable than my own lounge, I love settling into one of their sofas or armchairs, putting my feet up (they have foot rests, how cool is that?!) and enjoying the film. If I had one small quibble it would be that their films tend to be mostly mainstream blockbusters, however I haven't reduced my rating from Excellent to very Good because that's a matter of personal taste - I prefer independent, quirky films. If there is a film that I want to see then the Dominion will always be my first choice. A lovely, family-run cinema that offers something different to the larger chains.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aoife74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfy-est”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I would always want to rent movies so I could watch them on my couch. With the Dominion, I get the perks of the cinema and my living room in one! The tickets are more expensive but you get crisps and a small drink with it too. And there aren't so many adverts.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family run cinema”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The most comfortable cinema I have ever visited! Full bar so can enjoy a bottle of wine aswell as snacks. You can tell its family run as it has a special feel.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Local cinema”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We go quite regularly to our local cinema. Its a privately owned and you can tell by its ambient surroundings. The staff are always pleasant and well mannered. Would recommend this cinema to everyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dominion Cinema also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Dominion Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing