We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Italy”
Review of Gaia Delicatessan

Gaia Delicatessan
Ranked #477 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little piece of Italy”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Gaia is one of my favourite cafes/delis in Edinburgh. Unpretentious in style, it serves fresh, delicious food, particularly the paninis which are crisp and filling, and excellent coffee. The range of deli food is extensive and not too expensive but best of all the staff are warm and welcoming, especially to children. My daughter & I regularly take her three children there and they are made to feel like one of the family. I wouldn't go past Gaia.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoMick40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    16
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Healthy food , very cheap and lovely people”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Always good soup and rolls here, nice selection of salamis as well and plenty pasta you can treat it like a deli or a cafe, never a disappointment.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scottishperspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to eat quickly & cheaply. Came across this one, honestly, I did not have many hopes for it but the prices persuaded me. Eventually, I was really surprised by the nice atmosphere of the place, great coffee and even better food ( we both tried paninis and they were ones of the best I have ever eaten).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zuzana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Choice, Great Food”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Lovely little café on Leith Walk, stumbled into it to avoid the rain and grab a quick bite to eat. The staff were instantly welcoming and friendly, offering recommendations from their extensive pannini menu. The food was prepared quickly and tasted delicious, although it was a little disappointing that the panninis were not accompanied by a salad or garnish, however they were more than filling. The atmosphere is comfy and relaxed and there is an amazing array of oils, vinegars and pastas on sale for you to take home. If you're looking for somewhere different to treat yourself to a simple and tasty lunch and a good cup of coffee, Gaia is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in Edinburgh”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

If you need a taste of Italian deli and great coffee - check out this small cafe on Leith Walk. Friendly service with an Italian accent. There's always a good selection of sandwiches - but I go for the coffee and the comfortable and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank filmworksusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaia Delicatessan also viewed

 

Been to Gaia Delicatessan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing