We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, comfort and food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #23 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Having never stayed in a Premier Inn before, I had expected a no-frills experience at the Princes Street branch. I was so wrong! The hotel is modern and welcoming, and the staff without fail polite and chatty. We were lucky enough to get a room with a fantastic view of the castle, the sound of the busy street below failing to disturb us we looked through the double glazed windows of our room. The layout of the restaurant was excellent - a collection of booths, tables and informal seating that created a cosy setting at any time of the day. We had booked breakfast, which offered a generous selection of hot food, cereals, fruit, teas, coffees and juices. There were also a couple of well-stocked snack and toiletery machines to hand. Our stay surpassed our expectations, and our return guaranteed.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Stuart_McNelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,947 - 1,953 of 2,799 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, and found it consistent with ratings others had given it. The location was great (a key consideration for us), the restaurant was pleasant and it was very clean. The staff did seem quite junior and sometimes a little out of their depth, but they were extremely eager to please. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

After a really disappointing Premier Inn experience in Glasgow this place was the opposite.

Situated right on the heart of the city on Princes Street the reception is on the second floor and the moment we got out of the lift we were treated to a friendly efficient check in. Rooms were clean modern and quiet. Breakfast was a treat, good value and with a great view of the castle,

Staff throughout were outstanding . Even the breakfast crew helping visitors with tourist tips.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARiva1, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Zonda,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

I'm really sorry that you had a disappointing experience in Glasgow, please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss this.

I am delighted though that we managed to give you an experience more indicative of the service and standards we aim to deliver at Premier Inn. It's lovely to hear that you had a peaceful quiet nights sleep, it's really important to us that do everything we can to make sure that our guests are well rested and ready to start the day.

It makes me really proud that you consider our team outstanding and I wholeheartedly agree. They really work so hard to make sure that everyone has a fabulous time with us and it's so rewarding for them when our guests take the time to recognise the work that they do.

Thanks again for your feedback, I really do appreciate the time taken to share your experiences.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Ailsa Riva
Operations Manager
opsmgr.edinburghprincesstreet@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Visited Edinburgh City to celebrate our wedding on Honeymoon....Pick Premier Inn on Princes St which is just below the Castle.. The Staff were very polite and helpful, the reception team could be more helpful they don't pester you with anything but if you need a restaurant or wish to visit any attractions on offer they will book it for you or quite simply advise you...The breakfast team are very polite and leave you to wake up but very nicely say as they show you to your table if you need anything please ask enjoy your breakfast... loved it ... loved the room it was great, nice and spacious very cosy, too cosy we nearly missed breakfast we slept that well. The staff left us a bottle of wine as it was our Honeymoon with a card signed from all the staff all very nice.....great People, great Hotel, great place Edinburgh, be back next year..........





  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resorts2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I travelled with my partner and 12 year old son. As we had sight-seeing to do we dropped our bags off early before setting out. We returned to a perfect welcome and lovely room with view of the castle.
Amazing all round, couldn't have asked for better!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amiemccrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARiva1, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Amz8081,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I really do appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences.

I'm pleased you were able to benefit from a room with a view on to Edinburgh Castle, it really is a fabulous site to wake to and when it's lit up in the evening it is lovely to look out to. It's lovely to hear that you got a great welcome, the Reception Team really do strive to make sure every guest has a fantastic time with us whilst they are away from home and it's lovely to have that recognised.

Thanks again for your comments, I really hope we can welcome you back to Premier Inn again soon.

Kind regards
Ailsa Riva
Operations Manager
opsmgr.edinburghprincesstreet@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Perfect location in Princes Street, extremely friendly and helpful staff. At a next occasion I would definitieve stay at this hotel again. Breakfast good value for money. Room not enormous, but well equipes and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hate not staying in my own bed, but the quality of these changed that, So friendly, Nice people. Made the holiday that bit more special. Food was amazing too, All you can eat, Yet still high quality!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $90 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing