We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #21 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as a short break with a friend. The day before I arrived, I received an email from one of the reception staff to check my booking details were correct, asking what time I was arriving and with detailed information on how to travel to and find the hotel. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and this is the first time this has ever happened so I was impressed from the start.

We caught the Airlink bus from the airport, which was £6 return and great value for money. Get off at the Castle Street stop, turn left and the hotel is about a 2 minute walk. The entrance is between New Look and Starbucks and the reception desk is on the second floor (via one of two lifts). We were greeted by a lovely friendly man - indeed, all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the third floor and the lifts to the rooms can only be accessed by swiping your key card as they're separate to the ones in the lobby.

Our room was clean and quite roomy, with a double and a single bed. The bathroom had a full bath and a big vanity unit, and was spotless. There wasn't much in the way of wardrobe space but that wasn't an issue as we were only staying a short time. There was a full length mirror in the room (which I always appreciate) and the best mirror ever for applying make up, with lights down the sides. I want one of those at home! It's also one of the quietest hotels I've ever stayed in. I'm a light sleeper when away from home and I didn't hear a soul.

I refuse to pay for wifi but this hotel's rates were the most reasonable of anywhere I've seen (apart from where it's free!) You get 30 minutes per day for free, and you can stop and start during the day until your 30 minutes are used up (rather than having to use it all at once) but it's £3 per day after that.

Princes Street is one long shopping street, overlooking Princes Street Gardens which was lovely to visit and to sit in the sunshine. A short walk around the corner is Rose Street, where there are lots of pubs and restaurants. I had the best pub cod and chips I think I've ever had at The Kenilworth. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to Waverley Station and this is where the hop on/hop off tourist buses depart from.

In summary, I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,645
    773
    152
    34
    22
See reviews for
806
1,079
80
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East Of England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

On arrival we found the rooms to be clean, fresh and suitable for our needs. We had a back room which meant it was quiet. We had breakfast the next morning which I thought was a bit pricey considering you can purchase a huge breakfast from Wetherspoons around the corner at a fraction of the price. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay again. The only let down is the seating area in the reception area (not enough seats) to chill out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattycakes46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Booked in for a two night midweek stay to take in the sights of Edinburgh with my husband and two children. Chose the hotel for its central location and price. Check in was quick, requested a castle view room at time of booking and was pleased to get one. Room was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. Flat screen t.v and tea/coffee making facilities and fabulous view of castle and Princes Street. We ate breakfast both mornings, kids eat free if adults pay extra for the premier breakfast which includes hot buffet. Both mornings were hassle free getting a table at 8.30am and plenty of choice and tasty. We booked an evening meal one night which was okay, nothing special but staff we good with the children and kept them entertained with books and games.

We were put out the first morning as the fire alarm went off, we used the fire escape that leads to the back of the building only to find everyone going about their normal business when we got back to reception! Staff apologized and said it was a test that the shop underneath was carrying out and that it was out of the hotels control. Was a bit perplexed as to why we weren't informed about a test but didn't make an issue out of it as we were about to go out anyway. Felt sorry for the guests who were having a lie in though!

Edinburgh is an enchanting city with lots to do and see, would recommend the Premier Inn as a good base for it's location, price and views.

Room Tip: Ring before hand to request a castle view room, not guaranteed but worth a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilmis_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DROGHEDA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night break in The Premier Inn located right in the heart of the city on Princes St. Emailed the hotel in advance and requested a castle view and that it exactly what was delivered. A room on the 6th floor with a fantastic view of the castle. It was our 1st time to stay in a Premier Inn and we would have no hesitation in staying in one again. Very good value at £324 for 3 nights with a full breakfast included. The selection at breakfast was very good. Fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals including porridge to order from the kitchen. Full english breakfast, breads, muffins and croissants and the best coffee I ever had in any hotel - COSTA coffee. We did not use the restaurant for evening meals however it was always very busy and the price seemed quite reasonable. The room was lovely and bright and spacious. Fresh towels were provided daily. On the downside there was no safe in the room, however the reception offered to store our valuables in the hotel safe. the staff were so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: 6th floor to front of hotel. No noise at night as Princes St is closed to traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DroghedaAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for a two night mini break . Staff were really helpful , knowledgable about area and facilities. They seemed to be very committed to their role and not just parroting what they had been taught. Rooms were a really good size , location was spot on , very near the national
Gallery but also surrounded by bars and restaurants . Couldn't fault it. Remember to ring in advance if you want a castle view!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicgwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just had a one night stay booked on day we travelled, the location of hotel was excellent right in middle of Princes street, parked car at castle terrace car park which was only 5 minute walk to hotel. The hotel gives you a large discount on parking when you give them the parking token to register it cost £10 for 24hrs which is very reasonable for Edinburgh, room was exceptionally clean, bed was very comfortable, check it no problem used the self serve check in, didn't have breakfast but price is very reasonable, all in all a excellent stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on top floor 617 overlooking castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo40_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

There are some very good things about this hotel, especially the friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are also clean and the beds are comfortable. However, for the price I paid - around £100 a night, without breakfast - this was not good value. Windows do not open so you are dependent on air-conditioning; there was no view except out on to an inner courtyard from the two rooms I occupied during my stay (the air conditioning did not work in the first room I had); there was no armchair; the hot water supply was poor; and restricting free wi-fi to 30 minutes is frankly mean. Edinburgh is an expensive city, and location on Princes Street is excellent, but if I visit Edinburgh again, I shall look elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing