We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value Hotel in an ideal location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #20 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had a three night stay here in April and were very happy with the overall experience.

Firstly, the hotel is located in a great location overlooking Edinburgh Castle and Princess Street Gardens.

Less than ideal is the fact that you can't drive to the hotel with your bags due to Princess Street being limited access to buses and cars only.
Instead, you need to drive to the multi storey car park at Castle Terrace (postcode EH1 2EW), unload your bags and walk across Princess Street Gardens to the hotel. The hotel reception will issue with a token for the car park which discounts the price to £10 a day for the duration of your stay. The hotel staff did state that if you contact reception you can drive to the rear of the hotel on Rose Street to the goods entrance and they will let you in with your bags which is useful to know for those with limited mobility as Princess Street Gardens has some steep paths up to Princess Street.

The second issue is actually finding the entrance! This is tucked between Starbucks and the New Look stores so just aim for Starbucks and you won't go far wrong!

The entrance leads to a small entrance hall with lifts and stairs to the main reception.

The staff are very friendly and the rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. I echo the comments made about Colum who is a credit to the hotel. If you ask for a castle view you will get a room with a lovely view of the castle and gardens.

We found breakfast was excellent and available until 10.30 am. Unlike most places they were still bringing out fresh, hot food right up until that time (and this was a half term break, not a quiet period).

The hotel is so well located that you will not need to return to your car during your stay. There are bus stops right outside that will take you to all the attractions. Ask at reception and they will give you a map which highlights which buses to catch. You are also only a short walk from Edinburgh Waverley station if you want to venture further afield.

Within short walking distance are some excellent restaurants including the big chains such as Hard Rock Cafe and TGI Fridays etc.

Other than the limited access issues, my only criticism would be having to pay for Wi Fi. This really ought to be free, not £3 per 24 hour period.

Overall, I think you would find it very difficult to find a better place to stay for the price.



  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickhilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,097 - 2,103 of 2,741 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for my friend's hen night and we had a lovely stay. It was a great location, everything was in walking distance and the views of the castle from the bar area were beautiful. The room we stayed in was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet and the room itself was nice and spacious. The hotel also held on to our cases for us on the Sunday so we could do a bit more sightseeing before going home. I wouldn't hestitate to stay here again.

The only tiny down side which I believe someone else mentioned was that the bar wasn't always open (i.e. Sunday afternoon) so if you wanted a drink you have to use the vending machines (no wine in there though!).

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel and although the view was nothing to rave about, it was lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_W_L_J_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Quietly and peaceful, as well as always in the Premier Inn. Fine arrangement of hotel - directly opposite to the Edinburgh Castle. If you get number with windows on the street, you will have a wonderful view of the Castle.
Fine beds, ideal purity in hotel, good breakfasts.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical, but some are with a fine view of the Edinburgh Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sola248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have been to the hotel twice.
The rooms are very good and the beds very comfortable.
The hotel has an excellent location with close proximity to almost everything in Edinburgh and just across the bus stops.
However, when we wanted to buy a bottle of water the receptionist told us we could and we should use the vending machine. This is not appropriate for a 4 star hotel.
Further to that, upon arrival we requested a late check-out and albeit the receptionist said it was OK when we arrived at the hotel to pack our bags they were already removed from the room which I found unacceptable.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have stayed in many Premier Hotels and this one is by far the best. The staff are incredibly friendly (especially Sara and Colum) and the hotel is in a perfect location overlooking the castle.

We had a castle view room and watched in delight as dusk fell and the lights came on illuminating the castle. However, there is some noise at the front so choose a non-castle room if you want to avoid hearing the occasional drunk in the night.

The hotel overlooks Princess Street Gardens, which are very well maintained. We spent hours just sitting in the sunshine. Princess Street itself is only open to buses and taxies so falls quiet at night.

Edinburgh is marvellous. Turn left out of the hotel and walk up to the art gallery. Cross the bridge behind the art gallery and up some steps to the Old Town. This is the Royal Mile which is fascinating.

Breakfast was very good and unhurried. Evening meals were also good. The wine is fairly expensive for what it is. The staff seem to have to do all jobs and seem to work very hard. On the two occasions that we had trouble with the broadband, the staff dealt with the problem patiently.

Overall, the hotel is very good value for money and is an oasis of a calm welcome in a busy city. We shall certainly stay here again as it is in such a perfect location.

Room Tip: Castle view rooms have a wonderful view (as does the bar and restaurant). The only downside of a cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveporter2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Premier Inn Edinburgh Ciry Centre in May 2013. It is located in Princes Street in the New Town, close to most of the attractions of Edinburgh. The location was our main reason for booking this hotel. Another reason was the relative cheap price.

Our room was relatively small, but it was clean and had a comfortable bed.

We were very satisfied with the hotel breakfast. From the bar/restaurant there is a lovely view against the stunning Edinburgh castle.

The Premier Inn is not a luxury hotel, but it has very good quality compared to the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sraLars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

You can easily miss The Premier Inn on Princess St as the entrance is between two shops with a lift to reception on the first floor. We had a quiet room to the rear which is exactly what we expected ,clean and well presented. The only downside was the cooked breakfast which was only lukewarm at best. When leaving we mentioned this at reception and the cost was refunded without any question. Good service. Would stay there again without any question as the position is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 187064Andrew41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,881 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $90 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing