We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,119)
Filter reviews
3,119 results
Traveler rating
1,955
904
187
43
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,955
904
187
43
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprinces streetopposite the castlegreat locationcastle viewmeal dealrose streetfamily roomexcellent staybudget hotelgood nights sleeproom was spotlessbars and restaurantstrain stationnight's sleepwould definitely stay here againshort breakroyal mile
Filter
Updating list...
2,763 - 2,768 of 3,119 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

perfect location great and friendly staff always made to feel welcome would stay again without a doubt stayed in room 615 great shops around only fault not many nice resurants they seem to be all locol bars and a bit cramped the only good ones we found was up near the castle on the royal mile

Room Tip: ask for castle view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights with teenage daughter so being near shops and restaurants was a must. Nice clean room comfy bed. Didn't eat dinner there but had breakfast every morning which was very good. Staff young and very friendly.Will recommend this hotel and will stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Booked in for 2 days to chill out after a family wedding in Ayrshire to spend some time to ourselves, we were given room 603 which overlooked roof tops but couldnt really complain due to the time spent in the room, did ask when checking in if we had a view of the castle but they explained that there was only 17 rooms and if we were to stay again were advised to ask for a view and they would keep it in mind. The place was spotless and so convenient for everything, I cannot say it was a relaxing time as our feet hurt with all the walking :) still, we did visit a few bars to chill out and did find out that the prices of drinks was very expensive, unfortunately for us we found a little pub on Rose Street and ordered food which was superb considering the place was small. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, I would also advise you to park your car in the open air car park at Haymarket, it is only a 10 minute walk away and was the cheapest at £12.50 per day.

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel ASAP if you want a Castle View
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thistle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. The entrance to the hotel is from Princess Street, and it has a restaurant looking out over the princess street gardens to the castle. The staff here are excellent; really friendly and helpful. We didn’t eat here, but did have a drink from the bar. Bar a bit limited, but you can have a drink looking over the castle. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but the doors had a tendency to bank shut, thanks to very fierce springs, and you can be woken up by other guests. This aside, a very good hotel. It is popular with hen nights, and we met a couple of them. Had no problem with noise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed 3 nights with another couple we had a very fast check in with no wait at all. The location is great you can see Endinburgh Castle frinm the hotel. Easy walk to the Hop on Off Bus to tour the city and very near the Princess Gardens . Breakfast was very reasonable and good . We were very impressed by the size of our room and the large bathroom. A very good hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bianca1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews