We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #19 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very friendly staff. Easy check in using machine as prepaid. Rooms very clean and comfy and about the largest I've stayed at in a Premier Inn. Beds comfortable, shower and bath too. It costs quite a lot more than the "from £29" rate though, but I guess you are paying for location and time of year. As its in Princes Street loads of eateries nearby - try the Zizzi. From the airport take the airlink bus which stops 2 minutes away (Hope Street stop).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gr8critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,573
    738
    143
    32
    19
See reviews for
770
1,030
74
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

we spent 1 night at the Premier inn, the location of this hotel is just great, with a spectacular view of the Castle, the rooms are very spacious comfortable and sleeps four with enough room to spare. The breakfast was real value for money and the view for the Castle and Gardens from the Dinning room is just what you need to start the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sushant1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

A new premier inn in a great location whether visiting on business or for leisure. For the tourist the hotel is located in the centre of Edinburgh looking out to Princes Street gardens and Edinburgh Castle. For the business traveller the hotel is located within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station. Rooms are a nice size and cleaner. Restaurant serves good food however the menu is limited if you are staying for a number of nights. There however numerous restaurants in close proximity to the hotel. I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We have just returned from 6 nights at this very clean and modern Premier hotel

The staff (especially Helen and Sara) were incredibly friendly and eager to please, which made us feel very welcome.

The hotel has spotless rooms and public areas. Ask for a castle view room on the 5th or 6th floor as the castle is lit up at night and looks spectacular. The tram works have now finished outside the hotel, so Princes Street is quiet again and only open to buses and taxis. The No. 22 bus for Ocean Terminal and Royal Yacht Brittania stops right outside the hotel, which is a bonus.

The "all you can eat" hot British breakfast is the usual excellent Premier offering, with unlimited bacon, eggs, sausages, hash browns, bean, tomatoes etc as well as a continental selection and even porridge of you wish.

All in all, a very good location and good value for money. Only ten minutes stroll from Waverley station and right in the heart of the shopping areas. The friendly and helpful staff made our stay one to remember.

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view room if available, on the fifth or sixth floor. The castle in beautiful, even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveporter2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

First of all, before we reached our room, we were met by one of the very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean overlooking Edinburgh Castle. The first night we booked the £22 meal deal and were very happy with both the service and quality of the 3 course meal. That together with the help youself breakfast persuaded us to book the same deal for the other 2 nights of our stay. The location of the hotel would normally be perfect for explolring Edinburgh but during our stay major roadworks were being carried to accomodate the new tram system. This however did not spoil our stay as we frequently walked from the hotel to the Royal Mile. Overall first class.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights during a holiday in Edinburgh. It was all you would expect from a premier inn- standard size room with comfy bed and adequate bathroom. We ate breakfast at local McDonald's or Starbucks next door where incidentally you can access free wifi. The location was ideal for city centre sights and the station. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marie_J31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Lovely room,smallish but VERY clean and comfortable. Excellent bathroom.We had a room at the side which was very quiet and we weren't bothered about the view.We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel as we were only there for one night and both were excellent value for money and very well cooked. Had a table facing the castle which was great.Fantastic central location.All the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are at the back as Princes Street can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing