We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #20 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights during a holiday in Edinburgh. It was all you would expect from a premier inn- standard size room with comfy bed and adequate bathroom. We ate breakfast at local McDonald's or Starbucks next door where incidentally you can access free wifi. The location was ideal for city centre sights and the station. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Marie_J31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,710)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,451 - 2,457 of 2,711 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

Lovely room,smallish but VERY clean and comfortable. Excellent bathroom.We had a room at the side which was very quiet and we weren't bothered about the view.We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel as we were only there for one night and both were excellent value for money and very well cooked. Had a table facing the castle which was great.Fantastic central location.All the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are at the back as Princes Street can be very noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just got back from a weekend with my mam and friends, first time for all of is in a premier inn. What a fabulous hotel, everything about it excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast are one of the best I have had. Great location for shops and bars on rose and george street, although nightlife not the best. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lou_toon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great location on Princes Street. Everyone will ask for it BUT a castle view room is great if you can get one.
We stayed in June for 2 nights and were pretty happy with the hotel. Room was basic premier inn standard but funtional and clean. Breakfast was ok but service for request items was slow and on one occasion forgotten. If the reception staff had been any good the score might have been higher , but they really let it down. I phoned twice, emailed and then spoken to them when they made the confirmation phonecall to request a 'castle view' and early check in and was told (quote) "that shouldn't be a problem".
Unfortunately on arrival at midday we were told check in was 2.00pm and they had no record of our request for a room with a view. The receptionist said she would see what she could do and pass it onto a colleague. When we returned at 2.30 nothing was sorted out nor was there any note of our request again! Finally one lady said she would sort it out and after a short wait gave us a key for the top floor(6). Unfortunately the room faced away from the castle and we were forced to make a trip back to reception to sort it out. Finally a lady sorted it out -ironically the lady who had failed to sort it out in my original phonecall.
Unfortunate that the start of our stay was let down by unnecessary stress due to incompetence or lack of customer service skills .
Don't expect a great room just a clean one . Dont expect great service as anything more than basic stuff seems too much for them. The castle view is fab if you can get it BUT you CANNOT Pre-book them. Location is great.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PancakeRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Excellent location: you can see the Edinburgh Castle and all the green around it. Just in front of beautiful gardens, most of the clothes stores are in the same street ( Zara, H&M, Primark, etc ). Friendly hostess, perfectly cleaned, comfortably rooms! In the middle of almost everything you will want to see in Edinburgh. Very convenient !

Room Tip: Try to book rooms with view to the Castle
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viajera550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Wonderfully located hotel in a recently refurbushed building. All on upper floors, but disabled facilities, good lift access (change at first floor level) and security passes are all part of the deal.

Didn't dine for breakfast or evening meal but it looked nice, on the first floor near reception, with a fantastic view over Princes Street, the gardens and the castle.

Staff go that 'extra mile' to help if there's a problem, they are able to help in a considerate manner even though the problem might be outwith their control.

Only fault was to do with the air conditioning which should have been covered under the defects liability period but for the three nights we were there all we got was very hot without a window to open.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Princes Street and a view of Edinburgh Castle, but ensure that the air co...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILP-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

great stay, great price, great location.
Hotel new, staff so friendly, breakfast lovely and fresh.
~Absolute bargain.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,849 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
979 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $95 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing