We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place for dinner with friends!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chanter

The Chanter
Ranked #141 of 154 Coffee & Tea in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place for dinner with friends!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I were here a couple of times with my friends. But the last time I really enjoy this place. We order 30 chicken winds for only 7£!!! And the combo that was enough for 4 people and we enjoy the Pitchers of Mojito.

A lovely place with nice staff and very cheap!! And they have discount for students!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BananaWithSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    37
    16
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Chanter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife won a gift voucher for this pub/restaurant and we had a great meal with wine. Very friendly staff and a great atmosphere. We nearly couldn't spend our £30 voucher without stuffing ourselves! very good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank craigbruce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
244 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

chanter is not a gourmet restaurant but friendly and tremendous value for money. if you are a student or on a budget this is a great place. we hit it by accident but have to say we got 2 very nice wraps with a glass of wine and a beer for under twelve pounds. service speedy so just teh job if you are at the festival and rushing from show to show.
some of the other visitors who were obviously locals wer very friendly

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fiona229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We ate here 3 times. It's a nice friendly place, employers are kind, and food is really really good. They also have some offers like free drink with sandwiches and take one dessert and get one free that made our meals pretty cheap.
I've seen employers eating there, too also in their spare time, that is always a good sign about kitchen cleaness.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pub meets forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We went to The Chanter for lunch and it a lovely place.

The staff are friendly, the food is lovely and if I had a pub in my head this is exactly what it would look like......kind of fairyland meets drinking hole.

I love the circular seating in the middle with the fairy lights and for the men there are TV's everywhere with sports galore.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chanter also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Chanter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing