We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Ranked #64 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is in a brilliant location with excellent prices considering it's in central Edinburgh. The bed was so comfortable! We stayed on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel next to some restaurants and bars which were a little noisy when emptying all the bottles into the bins but not a huge problem, this is not the hotels fault and we understood this was possible with being in the centre. Room and bathroom were clean. Can't really complain! We would and will defiantly stay at this travelodge again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladymuck83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    321
    103
    41
    18
See reviews for
215
349
44
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked two rooms for four nights at this hotel. The staff generally showed an indifferent attitude toward hotel guests' inquiries, such as our request to check our incoming parcel from York.

Though we had booked two rooms with identical features, that is, ensuite room with double bed, sofa and pullout, as stated in the invoices, we were arranged just one such room. Our other room was smaller in size located in another section of the floor, but there was no corresponding adjustment made to compensate this. This thus has made the deal not worthwhile.

Also, after checking in, we found that hand wash and hair wash was not replenished, and the bottles were empty in both rooms. Communication
between hotel rooms was a problem because there was simply no telephone in the rooms, and we had to rely on public payphones outside the hotel and on the next street. Hence, this hotel is not recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank HK-Guest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Quiet location. Easy walking distance to most things. Good value. Warm, good sized room. Queen bed was very comfortable but little bed (family room) was very hard. No twin option available. Good shower. Bathroom floor wasn't clean behind the door! On only one night of five did I hear some noisy guests coming in. Otherwise very quiet. I would stay again but would like a comfortable twin option. I walked from station but might have got taxi if I had heavy luggage.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank han024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

First off I must clarify that my days of visiting this kind of hotel to drink 12 pints in the vicinity, return to a room (shared with 4 other people), sink into a sleep so deep I risk soiling myself, and eat a congealed donna and chips out of my chest hair in the morning have thankfully passed. I now consider myself an urbane and sophisticated traveler; and it's on this basis that I write this review.

Travelodge do a fantastic job and this stay was no exception. The staff were friendly, the room was clean, and the bed was far more comfortable than the more expensive guest house we stayed in previously. Accordingly I had good sleep and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

One small problem was that the bathroom floor seemed to collect water and this wasn't resolved during our stay. I considered this a niggle, a small rough edge, which I didn't mind at all given the budget nature of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We changed to this Hotel after spending an awful night in a single bed (that was advertised as a double on the website) at an apartment block nearby. We were so grateful to come to the friendly and welcoming atmosphere of this Travelodge. The room was clean and bright, airy and tidy. Great central location, only 5 minutes walk from Waverly station. Friendly and helpful staff. Great price for Edinburgh!

Room Tip: The rooms don't have the best view in most cases, because it is tucked away. But when you are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

It does what it says on the tin... Good clean budget accommodation in as brilliant location for exploring Central and North Edinburgh. No issues.. Would recommend to anyone. Perfect for Playhouse or Festival too

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ross A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was exactly what I expect in a budget hotel, comfortable with no frills. I recommend it. The bed was comfortable and room size adequate. Staff was friendly and helpful. It is a bit of a walk to tourist areas, so you might want to consider taxi costs if you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmreves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Address: 30-31 Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 1JX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing