We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Ranked #64 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great location for the city centre. Room very big and spacious. King bed very comfy but child's bed uncomfortable. Toilet in room 113 a funny shape . And rude guests in 213 banging on our floor when we came in at 10:30 pm on 22/12/13. Also weird toilet noise when other rooms flushed? No net curtain or window vent, it was stuffed with toilet roll.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank icelolly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    305
    97
    37
    18
See reviews for
204
333
41
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed two nights here just before Christmas with boyfriend. Was great for what we paid. The staff were so helpful in telling us the best places to go as well.
Only thing was the toilet started to leak just before we left, can't say this ruined the experience though!
Great location, centre of Edinburgh. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Travelodge Central Queen Street. It is a max of 15 minutes walk to the Old Town. The surrounding area is good for cafes, bars and restaurants. Airport express bus stops 5 minutes away from the hotel. Princes street is 10 minutes away.

Rooms are simple, as travelodge is, price is very good for a private room with comfy bed, TV, table and bathroom. We staid in November, was quite cold outside (~ zero degrees), but room was very warm and comfortable.

There is no breakfast included and no option for hot meals as there is no restaurant in the hotel. They offer a set breakfast box for 5 pounds (online during booking) but you can get more in nearby cafes and bars for that.

It is hard to beat such location and price. I put it 4/5 only because the whole hotel was waken up at 3am in the morning due to fire alarm and we all had to wait 20 minutes on the cold street before they managed to fix it. False alarm.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor due to the noise from the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimitriPros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. The check in was slow and tedious as there was 13 of us checking in and only one member of staff. The fast check in machines were not in use. However I was in no rush and the receptionist did as best as she could. The bedroom was spacious and clean, with tea and coffee making facilities.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

A great location 10 minutes walk to princess street and rose street. Weekend shopping trip with the wife and as mentioned great location. Room smelt very damp when we first arrived and the noise during the night from emptying of bins caused a restless night. When the room was made the bed runner was left on the floor and bed not made correctly. Davy at the front desk friendly and helpful. Apart from location would not stay again

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tenkocolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your review Tenkocolin. We are sorry to learn you felt your room smelt damp when you first arrived, we do expect our housekeeping staff to notice any unpleasant smells which may affect a guest’s stay and ensure it has been aired thoroughly. We do hope that our guests have a comfortable and cosy nights sleep so it is regrettable to learn you were disturbed by external noise, we do provide double glazing and insulated walls in an attempt to reduce noise. We’d like to be able to contact you to investigate further and find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great location a few streets back from the main shopping street and Rose street but non of the noise. Room was clean and tidy. Staff member on reception was very helpful. Only draw back is no parking near by

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I ve just retuened from this hotel today. I travelled to edinburgh for the xmas market. i stayed here with my fiance and 18 month old daugter, from the word go it was excellent. reception lady was lovely so helpful. The room and hotel was immaculate the room was clean and comfortable. beds were great and the room had a bah and shower which is ideal with a child. pleanty of tea and coffee provided too. it is so easily found and is so close to the station and shops. definitley recommend. thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: stayed in 112 and lovely spacious family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawngraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Address: 30-31 Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 1JX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing