We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located, very good accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Ranked #36 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We chose this Premier Inn due to its location - a two minutes’ walk from the hotel to the tram & train station in order to travel into Edinburgh – about 15 minutes. The hotel is two years old, has a very good standard of accommodation and staff are positive, customer service focussed and friendly. Hotel was easy to find and the large car park is free. The hotel is on a business & shopping park and is therefore quiet without passing traffic or noise. Excellent value for money.

Automated check in was easy & quick. Room preferences were met (4th floor away from railway station end of hotel for quietness). The restaurant is good. Breakfast was excellent - probably one the best we have enjoyed in any hotel and we travel extensively. The 'meal deal' is great value. Dinner was very good on two of our three nights. Unfortunately, one dish - the 'steak' choice was poor but we were quickly offered an excellent alternative.

The only reason for not awarding this hotel full marks is that we had asked for a twin bedded room. Given that 'twin' means - something containing or consisting of two matching or corresponding parts - we were disappointed to find on check in that the room comprised a double / king bed (which was extremely comfortable!!) and a sofa bed, which albeit being a full size single bed, was not particularly comfortable nor conducive to sleep quality, especially for an adult. Staff were understanding, but did not offer an alternative and explained that this was Premier Inn's standard 'twin' offering.

We would definitely book with Premier Inn again, including this hotel, but if you want two full size beds, you would need two rooms.

Overall, very good hotel, good location, good quality rooms & food but beware of Premier Inn’s ‘twin bed' definition!

Room Tip: Rooms away from station are quietest, though hotel has quiet zones also
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandJLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear TandJLancashire

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your visit to Edinburgh.

I’m pleased that you found our hotel to be in a perfect location. With Edinburgh Park train station right next to us the 10-minute trip to the city centre couldn’t be easier & free car parking at the hotel – there really is no need to drive into the city centre.

I am happy that you enjoyed dining in our Thyme restaurant for both dinner & breakfast & that you though our great value all you can eat breakfast was excellent, we certainly try to ensure that all our guests get a great start to the day with our breakfast.

Apologise for the Twin room set up, this is our room set up, but as there are over 670 Premier Inn hotels, some of these hotels do offer the traditional 2 single beds, which can be found when booking rooms online (or calling the hotel directly & enquiring).

We all look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

989 - 995 of 1,724 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as it was convenient for meeting up with family in the area and I'm very pleased that we did. It is right next to the train & tram station, which was extremely handy for getting into town. Trams are every 10 minutes and it takes about 15 minutes to get to Princes Street.
We experienced a very warm and friendly welcome on arrival at the hotel which continued for the whole weekend. The breakfast staff were particularly helpful and the breakfast was superb.
This was probably the best Premier Inn I have stayed in and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocean870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Ocean870

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m over the moon that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and I’m pleased that you found our location convenient and extremely handy. Our team here at Edinburgh Park really strive to ensure all our guests receive warm welcomes and have a great stay with us. I’m pleased that you received this all weekend. Thank you again for staying with us!

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Very good place to stay as it is only 10 minutes from the airport. Only had one problem with trams/trains being very noisy as they passed by the hotel but otherwise was a good stay. Restaurant and coffee shop also being available was nice to have as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Lauren C

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m happy that you found our hotel to be a very good place to stay. As well as being close to Edinburgh airport we have great access to the city centre by use of either train or tram. With the trams not making any noise and the trains not running during the night it is a rare occasion any noise affects our guests and I’m sorry that you found this to be a problem.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

It's a large hotel and the staff is very helpful. There is more than adequate parking space and so parking isn't an issue. It's well connected to the city by tram(the tram station is very close by). The rooms are nice as well as the sleep quality. Good Breakfast. Great value for money

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Advaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Advaya

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m thrilled that you found our hotel to be great value for money. With 120 parking spaces (that’s 1 per room) there are always plenty of spaces available. I’m thrilled to hear that you also had a great quality of sleep with our Hypnos beds a great nights sleep is guaranteed.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

My previous review about the temperature and windows not opening still stands. But when I checked in this week, the room I was allocated had a strange smell.

Emma @ reception came straight up and agreed it did smell. She managed to get me another room and helped me move. She was very professional.

I would love windows which opened and a mini fridge

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear ClaireLP

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed another stay with us. I’m sorry to hear that you experienced a strange smell in the original room you had been allocated but I am very pleased that Emma managed to resolve this very quickly and professionally for you.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

had a great sleep like it says a Good Night Garenteed.

breakfast was ok would rather pay for an option of just toast and coffee as i dont eat alot first thing and if wifi was free.

great location and rooms are great too

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlowerPower87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear FlowerPower87

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and slept well. On your next stay why not visit our Costa coffee store for your breakfast. They serve a variety of light breakfast options including coffee and toast.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Excellent quality and value for money. Good location outside the city centre but with good public transport links into the city centre and the airport. But if using the Edinburgh's new Tram system beware!! The nearest station is called "Edinburgh Park Station" - 2 minutes from the hotel - not to be confused with "Edinburgh Park" which is about 15 minutes walk away!! Also if using the Tram from the airport - you need not only the right money (or credit card) but it has to be in coins!! There were no coin change machines at the Tram platforms.

Breakfast was great but if going for a cooked breakfast recommend going for the poached eggs (freshly cooked) rather than the fried eggs - which were rubbery.

Otherwise I would highly recommend this hotel for location, service and value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Robert A

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m thrilled to hear that you have found our hotel to be excellent quality and value for money. As we are located within a Business Park our surroundings are very peaceful and quiet but our close proximity to bus, rail and tram services provides very quick, easy and great value access to the city.

We are also glad you decided to eat breakfast with us and enjoyed your poached eggs. The Food & Beverage team pride themselves on the service that they provide to our guests and they are always happy to cater for any special requests whether it is breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Thank you for taking the time to provide this valued feedback, we all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#74 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,361 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
0.9 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
507 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,033 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $66 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing