We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Ranked #31 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The staff make this hotel”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights whilst attending a family wedding. The hotel is very good, everything you expect from the Premier Inn. The one thing that makes this hotel stand out is the customer service. Staff in all areas excel with customer service. The bar staff who work breakfast also, always have time to talk to you and take an interest in your time in Scotland. Staff at reception can't do enough to help you. I have paid much more for hotels over the past few years and have never experienced the level of care that I did at this hotel. Hotels elsewhere take note! This hotel is situated a 10 minute train ride from Edinburgh Waverley. The trains are about 2 every 30 minutes. To be honest I enjoyed being out of the city itself. There is a retail park close by and a Tesco should you need anything.
My one gripe has nothing to do with the hotel but to do with parents who think it is okay to let children run around tables whilst others are eating or run around the floors whilst people are sleeping. Please have some considerations for others, You not your children.

Room Tip: Travel into Edinburgh by train, it's easier than driving and only 10 minutes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourreview_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear ourreview_9

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Scotland.

I am delighted to learn that you were impressed with the high standard that we consistently deliver for our guests. In particular, all of our team here are passionate in delivering high levels of service & I am delighted that your family noticed this.

I have passed on your compliments to all of the team here, who as you say excel at customer service & they are all delighted that all of there hard work & dedication was noticed & added to you time here in Edinburgh at your family wedding.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us here in Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    451
    116
    25
    17
See reviews for
548
521
48
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed over Aug Bank Holiday weekend. We've booked for a Quadruple (which they call "Family") room for 2 adults & 2 children; according to Premier Inn website it consists of "a Double bed & two comfy pullout beds or sofa beds and you can get cots for babies too". In fact, what we got was a Triple room (a Double & a Single). When I enquired about this with a receptionist she had admitted it was a Triple but insisted that all the rooms were of the same size. I didn't know their room description on their website at that time so didn't press further but I do think it is false advertising, promising one thing & giving something less than what's been paid for.

After learning the room description on their site I contacted them using the online form provided. No acknowledgment, no one has got back to me (over 3 days since).
Avoid! If you have to stay near Edinburgh Park Station, go for Novotel instead.
It was our first stay at Premier Inn & will be the last.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia_890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Amelia_890

Please accept my sincere apologise that you did not get the experience that you expected with us.

I have tried to call your phone number on file & also emailed you via booking.com, but have been unable to speak to yourself directly.

In regards to the issues that you raised,
1. The cost that was paid for the bedroom is standard; you pay a room rate, which does not fluctuate depending on the room type chosen.
2. The number of guests in the room changed on the reservation, which was amended from 2 adults & 2 children to 2 adults, 1child & 1 cot, this meant that there was no need for an additional bed, so we didn’t set this up which would give you more room within the bedroom.
3. The reception team member did explain all of this to you during your stay, & in no way were you given a smaller room, as all of our rooms are standard size.

Please accept my sincere apologise that you did have issues & if you would like to discuss in more detail, please contact me on the below details.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
opsmgr.edinburghpark@whitbread.com
0131 3380130
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Nice modern hotel, comfortable room, reasonable restaurant. Excellent location next to Edinburgh Park station with frequent trains into Edinburgh.
Two things jar - firstly the hotel is in a business park and for some reason many roads have barriers that need a card or PIN - our SatNav got very confused and it took us a while to find the place. Going out the next morning was also a problem as was returning - we ended up being directed down a closed road by a workman!
Secondly to have to pay for WiFi reeks of a ripoff - the only place on our trip that did so. Sure it costs money to provide, but then why not charge for the TV (which we did not use) or the kettle (which w did)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAusDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear DavidTorr

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Scotland.

I am delighted to learn that you were impressed with the location, which I agree is fantastic, located next door to a train station, which only takes 10 minutes to get into the City Centre.

Unfortunately due to the hotel been less than 18 months old, we do have guests that sometimes cannot find us via sat nav, but to ensure that our guests have little hassles in finding us we have added a few extras.

1. We send out a text message the day before arrival, in which our guests can get up to date accurate directions, by replaying DIR to this text.
2. Guests also get a welcome email letter from us detailing hotel information, using an alternative postcode of (EH12 9HA).
3. On both Google maps & AA route planner, the directions on both of these websites will work.
4. We also have an arrangement that if any of our hotel guests do get lost & end up on private road, which is only accessible by private tag. The security guard will allow our guests to use as a one off on arrival.

In regards to the Wi-fi costs, this is Premier Inn brand guideline & the cost been £3 for a full 24 hour access is fantastic value & something that majprity of our guests feel is a bargain,

I will look to highlight the comments that you have made though & see if this is something that may change in the future.

Please accept my sincere apologise that you did have issues finding us & the wifi cost, I do hope that you enjoyed your time with us here in Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights over the recent Bank Holiday weekend. The hotel itself was fairly new so everything was at a very high standard and the rooms at the top end of what you would expect from Premier Inn.
Our only issue was access to the hotel by car. Our sat-nav (less than two years old) took us to a barriered road, which required a tag for entry into a business park and with no way of sussing out an alternative, were left to call for security to raise the barrier for us. And every time we returned to the hotel, we were constantly getting lost. It would have been helpful to have been pre-warned of this issue (security have let in many drivers who have ended up on the barriered road) as the extra time spent at the end of an already long journey did not go down well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear MagicFamily

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Scotland. I am delighted to learn that you were impressed with the high standard that we consistently deliver for our guests.

Unfortunately due to the hotel been less than 18 months old, we do have guests that sometimes cannot find us via sat nav, but to ensure that our guests have little hassles in finding us we have added a few extras.

1. We send out a text message the day before arrival, in which our guests can get up to date accurate directions, by replaying DIR to this text.
2. Guests also get a welcome email letter from us detailing hotel information, using an alternative postcode of (EH12 9HA).
3. On both Google maps & AA route planner, the directions on both of these websites will work & get you straight to our door step.
4. We also have an arrangement that if any of our hotel guests do get lost & end up on private road, which is only accessible by private tag. The security guard will allow our guests to use as a one off on arrival, by just pressing the buzzer at the barrier.

Please accept my sincere apologise that you did have issues finding us, & in the future, I do look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Premier Inn Edinburgh park is an excellent solution for the city. It is located a minute on foot from the train station which takes 10 minutes to get to central Edinburgh.
The hotel service itself was very good and the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good.

Recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogli43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear mogli43

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Scotland.

I am delighted to learn that you were impressed with the high standard that we consistently deliver for our guests & that you are happy with your time spent here with us in Edinburgh.

I do hope to see you again in your future travels.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, Northumberland, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was a fairly new hotel and was in a perfect location for the airport and Edinburgh City Centre.
We had an early flight to Milan in the morning after we arrived so we booked here and were pleasantly surprised.

After parking the car, we got on a train from the station next to the hotel and were at Waverley Station within 15 minutes.

We got back reasonably early and had a sound sleep before getting off to the airport which took 10 minutes from car park to terminal.

A good base for either airport or City Centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyBroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear FamilyBroad

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I am delighted to learn that you were impressed with the location & high standard that we consistently deliver for our guests.

I do hope that you had an equally great trip to Milan & when you are coming back to Edinburgh, I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is very strategically located to reach Edinburgh and its attractions with no hassles. Train station on your doorstep but no problems with noise. Trains are very regular and you can get to the heart of Edinburgh in 10 minutes. Also took train from this train station to reach inverness. Tickets for train need to be bought many times from the waverly train station. Watching tattoo at 9pm, found train at train station immediately without any hassle. Breakfast is very good especially the vegetarian sausage. Am not a vegetarian and tasted it out of curiosity but found it to be excellent. It was great to be able to dine at hotel after a day out and go straight to bed. TV choice is also very good. Only down side is toilet paper which is much too cheap!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fleurvella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear fleurvella

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Scotland.

I am delighted to learn that you were impressed with the location & high standard that we consistently deliver for our guests.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast & tried our vegetarian sausages, certainly agree that they are a great product to start your day with.

I hope that you had a great time with us here in Edinburgh, during the festival & look forward to seeing you back with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#80 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,927 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#88 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,526 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#138 of 149 in Edinburgh
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing