We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, good value, high standards, very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Ranked #32 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location, good value, high standards, very friendly staff”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Book early to ensure you get in and at the best rates - hotel was full when we were there. Arrived mid-evening and checked in using automatic self-serve machines, but Receptionist was on hand to assist, and she was very friendly and helpful, though it was fairly straightforward. You insert the credit/debit card used to make the booking, and it prints out any meal vouchers, your room number, and your room key cards.

We had a room on the first floor, right opposite the entrance to the Edinburgh Park train station, but we were not bothered by any noise at all, despite this being very busy with commuters in the morning.

There is a large, free car park. Although it could be quite hard to find (but our up-to-date Garmin sat nav was spot on), it is a great location, literally on the other side of the road to the station. Postcode given for the hotel does not quite get you there, so we aimed for the station instead. Trains to Edinburgh Haymarket and Waverley are every 10-15 minutes and the journey took all of 6 minutes! Cost for an off-peak return ticket was only £3, from a self-service machine on the platform.

We had booked a meal deal - £22.99 for a 3 course evening meal including a drink (beer, wine, or a soft drink), and full buffet breakfast. Evening meal was lovely, with a good choice of food and great quality. Staff again very pleasant and helpful. Full range of breakfast foods - bacon, sausage, egg, hash browns, etc plus juice, tea, coffee, croissants, toast, fruit, yogurt, cereal, muffins. It's advisable to book an evening meal slot as it was busy - last bookings are for 9.30 pm. Breakfast any time from 6.30 - 10.30 am. There is a separate bar area for more drinks, and a lounge seating area with coffee facilities too. Vending machines available for 'out of hours' munchies. There is a Costa Coffee within the hotel too - popular with the commuters!

Checking out incredibly easy - we just had to leave our key cards in a little tray on the Reception desk.

Very clean, tidy and comfortable. Room temperature adjustable by a thermostatic controller.

We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    434
    111
    23
    17
See reviews for
537
496
47
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

stayed at this hotel/inn room was very clean and large, loved the comfy bed , would recommened this hotel/inn,staff were great, train station beside the hotel ,supermarket just down the road .We wished we stayed for longer

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carson2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We recently had 4 nights in Edinburgh and stayed at the Premier Inn at Edinburgh Park. As you'd expect from the brand, it does the simple things will....decent room, decent breakfast, friendly staff. Add to that you're a minute from Edinburgh Park station (a mere 10 minute train ride from Waverley) you couldn't be better located to access the city. Definitely a good option for a stay in Edinburgh!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank philr1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

So having stayed in Premier Inns all over the country I have finally found the Premier Inn up to the standard that the advert claims! The Hotel is new, modern, clean and extremely comfortable. The staff are exceptionally pleasant and I couldn't of had a better stay.
Food and drink was reasonably priced and good quality and if you are looking for a place to stay on the outskirts of Edinburgh, then this is great value if you book early and get a good rate. Only 8 mins from Edinburgh city centre on the train, it gets my vote....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbiblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on Thu/Fri/Sat 18th - 20th April 2013. Nice newish hotel near Edinburgh Park train station - great for train into Edinburgh city Centre in 10 minutes.

Stayed on 4th floor. First two nights OK except windows did not open to get any fresh air. Had to use Air Con and have now got a sore throat. Got woken up about 3am Sunday morning with about 12 Clubbers returning from their night out. Had 2 hours of noise, knocking on doors, slamming doors, etc. Complained to Reception but noise still carried on.

Nice hotel, but don't stay at weekend unless you bring some ear plugs!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rogerjc_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This new hotel is very close to the new Edinburgh Park station and has a large car park. It is very clean and bright with friendly staff. It's an attractive alternative to staying in Edinburgh City Centre at much higher cost.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed in room overlooking station but in all honesty never heard a thing from the trains ,or any other commuter traffic. Typical new build from Premier Inn and good connections to Edinburgh or indeed Glasgow. Booked to stay again in October, and is within walking distance from Krispy Kreme shop.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caspdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Airport (Newbridge) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
8.3 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
5.2 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing