We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Premier Inn Edinburgh Park - The Gyle” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Premier Inn Edinburgh Park - The Gyle”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights recently. It was a nice hotel in a good location but unfortunately was the noisiest Premier Inn we have ever stayed in. As well as the noise of trains entering and leaving the station from early morning until late at night we also had the commuters walking to work early in the morning and buses and cars to contend with.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railway station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    418
    108
    22
    17
See reviews for
520
477
47
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We chose this hotel for its proximity to Edinburgh Airport and the suburban trains.

It makes a tourist's visit to Edinburgh easy. We arrived at the airport in the evening, picked up hire car from the airport on arrival, stayed overnight at the hotel, left the car at the hotel car park [free] while visiting Edinburgh city next day. One more night at the hotel then well placed for exit across the Firth of Forth road bridge heading north next morning.

Restaurant in the hotel and it 'fits the bill' too.

Hotel facilities were all we wished for and the staff were very attentive. It was so good we forward booked Premier Inn for our next nights stop over.

Check the road route to the hotel before hand. Good shopping centre nearby at Gyle.

All in all a good package.

Room Tip: Pre book, we needed a family room for three pax. Check road directions to hotel prior to arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DWJMelbourne_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was a great trip with partner and grandchildren. The hotel was very modern and the location was ideal being right next to the train station that was two stops from the centre of Edinburgh. As always with Premier the breakfast was fantastic and the kids ate free. The staff were really helpful and I would recommend this to everybody who is visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allynka1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked this hotel in the November for an April stay - three nights for £107.00 which we thought was good value for money. Its in a great location - a small train station right next door to in (we were in room 312 around the back, the trains coming and going didn't really disturb us), a retail park that contains a Tescos Express which is open late sits beyond the train station and around a 1/2 mile behind there is a small shopping centre with a food court, supermarket etc although this isn't open very late.

The hotel generally was very clean and tidy. Staff were very helpful, allowing us to book in 2 hours earlier than the normal time.

The room was a standard size - nothing out of the ordinary but as expected.

Two options for breakfast - all you can eat for £8.25 or a continental for £5.75. There wasn't any other option, so for someting such as egg on toast you'd end up paying £5.75 - we went to eat in the supermarket in the end.

Walking to the car park on Monday, we noticed that someone had let their dog foul the pavement and also lots of general rubbish floating around (it had been very windy!) - we just thought the outside area didn't match the cleanliness of the inside.

All in all though, great location for visiting Edinburgh. Trains were cheap (£3.00 return), plenty of food options available locally if you don't want to eat-in. If I could get a good price, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCFC56-YNWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a new build Premier Inn which I would recommend to everyone.

Spacious reception area and attentive staff. Also has a Costa Coffee on Site as well as the The Thym Restaurant and Bar.

Rooms are spacious and well appointed with double glazing to keep the noise of the trains to a minimum.

Plenty of free car parking available and is directly across the road from Edinburgh Park Train Station so is only a 10 minute journey into the City Centre.

All the staff we encountered seemed to be happy with their job and it was pleasant to see that nothing was too much hassle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WozandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Location
The hotel is located on the outskirts of the city center on the Gyle business park, next to Edinburgh Park railway station, We found this a good spot for us with easy access to the city with trains every 15 min and only a short walk to a local retail park. Its isolated from any night life unless you are will to travel by train or taxi into the city, trains run until about 12 mid-night. kids travel for free on the train "off peak only" £3.50 off peak adult return.

Check in "lobby"
Fast check in with the option to self check in with two online ATM type machines.

Room "family room"
Our room was very modern looking clean and well maintained, the beds are out of this world best we have stayed in in any of the hotels we have stopped in.The wardrobe space is a little on the small side for a family room but nothing to complain about. Room service came each day and replaced towel etc and coffee and tea making facilities were topped up each day. We had a large screen wall mounted flat TV with basic free view channels and overall the room was faultless. The bath and shower were clean and in good order, filling the bath only takes a few minutes with extra taps and the shower was nice and hot with plenty of water flow.

Dinning room
Our first night we booked a table for dinner I would advise booking if you think you will be eating here as it soon gets filled up, the food was good and service was quick staff were polite and helpful, the dinning area was clean and modern.
Breakfast was very good with full English or cereal and fruit and yogurts etc we paid for breakfast in with the room but you could just pay on entering the dinning room. kids eat free

Bar
The hotel bar is located next to the dinning room its small but there are plenty of table and chairs to sit at prices are what you would expect from a hotel bar.


Overall i would recommend this hotel we had a good three nights stay here the staff were excellent very helpful polite and professional and will be re-booking with this hotel chain again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Gyle twice now and each time it has been a good experience. The last time, a week ago, was esspecially memorable as my husband had inadvertantly left his camera in the taxi on leaving the hotel for the airport. Our flight was imminent when we discovered this so had no time to go back. We phoned the hotel who were immediately concerned and wanted to help in any way they could. They got in touch with the taxi firm who contacted the driver who in turn returned the camera to the hotel. When we got back home to Shetland we contacted the hotel again to arrange, we hoped for the return of the camera. The girl on the phone was very helpful and said it would be no trouble to put the camera in the post that day. We recieved the camera, in tact nicely boxed a few days later.
I can't praise the staff enough. We will always use this hotel whenever we are in Edinburgh. The food is good and the staff in the restrante are lovely too....Thank you one and all !!

Room Tip: They have all been good so far....maybe the ground floor air con is a little noisier though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing