We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Ranked #32 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night before transferring to the Novotel nearby. However... having stayed in the Novotel, I would have preferred to have stayed here.

Plus points: This Premier Inn was quiet, clean, had very friendly staff, free wi-fi for 30 minutes a day (then comparatively cheap after that). The restaurant felt cosy, breakfast was good and bar prices were reasonable. Room cost was £20/night cheaper than the Novotel.

The Edinburgh park rail station just over the road takes you into the centre of Edinburgh in under 10 minutes for £2.40 return, or there are 2-3 buses that run to the nearby shopping centre and/or into the town centre. Airport bus drops you 5-minutes walk away, for a quarter of the taxi price.

Minus points: The automatic check-in machines for after hours use (which I didn't use) and very tiny receipts (easy for business folk to misplace!). Breakfast, though fine, was nothing special - I would have expected a few Scottish items (e.g potato scones, "square slice" sausage, etc). No extras - e.g. the Novatel along the road has a swimming pool and sauna.

Bottom line: if I have to stay in this area again for business, I will probably book into the Premier Inn. Swimming pools are fun, but on business trips I just want peace and quiet, internet access (preferably free!) and good travel to/from the hotel. This hotel has all that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clancolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    441
    114
    23
    17
See reviews for
541
508
48
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The staff here were very friendly and helpful. Made all welcome and feel liek nothing was too much trouble. Railway is next door- but wasn't distrubed by any noise, easy to jump on one of the many trains into City centre cost £3 return and 6minutes- ideal for Murrayfield. Clean and warm. Although our bedroom felt cold- still there was a blizzard outside.
Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshWench1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
206 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This Premier Inn is in an excellent location being handy for the Edinburgh bypass and also the centre of Edinburgh via the adjacent station or a No. 2 bus. Clean,quiet with a super restaurant attached, its an ideal place for a short visit.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidays8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawarden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Despite being busy for the rugby, the service and friendliness provided by the reception and bar staff was excellent. A spacious bar area and breakfast area and a large Costa Coffee outlet adds to the enjoyment of the stay. Right oppposite the train station for the city centre. Plenty of space for the free parking aswell. £80 a night is slightly more than a normal stay, but for a rugby weeknd, it's excellent value. Look forward to returning in 2 years for the next Wales game.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTree999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amlwch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a find.... A new hotel just outside Edinburgh. Very nice place to stay. The railway station opposite whisked you into Edinburgh in 10 mins (£3 return). We were there for the Scotland v Wales Rugby. Again the stadium is 1 stop away - Edinburgh 2 stops. Trains every 10 - 15 mins.
The place was very clean, staff very friendly. We ate breakfast there and the Buffet style suited us to a tee. We also had an evening meal which was very tasty and the menu covered most tastes. I would recomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlunMabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

just spent 2 nights at this hotel and was very impressed with staff and the service , kerry at the reception was very polite and helpful, and angel in the restaurant was very pleasant and helpful gracias angel. very handy for moterways and the train station is 2 minutes from the door with trains into edinburgh every 15 minutes and it is a 10 minute journey and will cost you £3 return. would recomend

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you have a preconceived idea of what Premier Inns are like, try staying here! It's a great hotel; very clean (although it's pretty new so has had a chance to get dingy!), fantastically welcoming staff, and very conveniently located. It's next to the South Gyle business park & industrial estate, and also right next to Edinburgh Park railway station. Despite this I didn't hear a single train during my stay, and I'm quite a light sleeper. I did get a top floor room furthest from the station though, so maybe that helped. My only criticism is that the window in the room is locked shut, "for my safety and security" according to the sticker. On the fourth floor I can only assume that this is because the local crows have a habit of mugging sleeping tourists.

Food in the restaurant was fairly good but not exceptional, and pretty good value.

A word of caution - it's nowhere near where it says it is on Tripadvisor's map (neither is Edinburgh Park station for that matter). It's map reference is: 55.928084, -3.308043

A couple of notes to Premier Inn - your staff are excellent - please be nicer to them! Firstly, whatever your marketing people might tell you, I don't want to be "greeted" when I arrive, then have to balance the credit card reader on the corner of a stupid podium when I enter my PIN, that the "greeter" has to stoop at to use because it's too low. I want a proper receptionist, sitting behind a proper desk, where I can properly execute a business transaction. Secondly, in the restaurant you have great staff too, so please let me leave them a tip on my credit card!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,857 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#57 of 148 in Edinburgh
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing