We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent hotel - appalling restaurant.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Ranked #32 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Haworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel - appalling restaurant.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Rooms clean & efficient and quiet except those overlooking the railway station. Even with sound insulation, there is noise up to midnight and from 6am. On a recent visit experienced excessive wait for a table & food, incorrect meals being delivered, courses in any order, shrivelled food on plates. Absolutely diabolical! I've stayed in the hotel on business regularly since it opened. This is not the only time I've had a poor meal in the restaurant, and a complimentary drink isn't the answer. Initially, the apologies were based around inexperienced staff, but 12 months in there's no excuse.

Eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the opposite end of the hotel from the railway for a quiet night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IT_professional148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    391
    101
    18
    16
See reviews for
491
441
43
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have stayed here for multiple days at a time on business. I've stayed in quite a few hotels in Edinburgh, and this is now the automatic choice. The hotel's staff are genuinely the friendliest and most helpful I have encountered in any hotel - nothing seems to be too much trouble. The service and food in the restaurant are also excellent. The hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable and you can get into the city centre in a matter of minutes if you want to. It's got a really friendly and relaxing atmosphere - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My second vist to this hotel and again it was excellent. It is situated right next to Edinburgh Park railway station which means a short rail trip right to the centre of Edinborough centre. BRILLAINT.
The staff there are extremely good and very helpful.
We ate in the restaurant and the food came quickly, they were not busy. It was very nice and came on warm, (NOT HOT!) plates. Definatley eat here again.
I do not like the latest trend of automated check in but the yound lady as very helpful and checked us in.
The room only cost us £19.00 and I urge all of you to register for Premuim Inns emails as I quite often get these offers. Well done Premium Inns for this sceme.
Satnav directions are not good but head for railway station. The new tram service is nearby.
Breakfast still expensive but now 30 minutes free WIFI and only £3.00 for 24 hrs.

Room Tip: Ask for on on the south side then you can watch, but not hear the trains.!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Would have hoped for better service at the restaurant, really slow and always over an hour wait to order food. Tables have to be booked an hour and a half beforehand. Rooms are clean but cold and dark. Experienced issues with the shower but was fixed morning after notification. Hotel is very close for work purposes though.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrP0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Room immaculate bed extremely comfy,super friendly helpful staff(especially Kerry providing myself and my wife with complementary coffee's when we locked ourself out the car & waited on AA) we opted for the great value meal deal option in the Thyme restaurant where food was excellent and again all staff were a credit to premier inn...would we use again???.... just rebooked for myself & wife to go back in March,looking forward to it already!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed in this premier inn location a day after hogmanay Jan. 1 and 2, 2013. The breakfast choices offered was sufficient and ample. The hotel room, restaurant and overall facility is clean. The hotel staff were polite and friendly enough that you will not hesitate to ask any questions. I have a 9 yo and a 9 mo and I was so greatfull for the good night guarantee (walls were sound proofed) and for the fact that our room was next to stairs, that way we did not bother any guests. we went to Edinburgh using the train 3 mins walking distance from the hotel and how easy was it! The parking in the city center is horrendous and using the train was brilliant. Overall, I recommend this hotel because of its price, location, cleanliness, breakfast and good night guarantee,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian-Gabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbridge
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

You know what you get when you stay at premier inn and once again this ticked all the boxes. Staff were extremely helpful and made you welcome. Hotel is new so rooms are immaculate. If you're looking for good value hotel whilst in Edinburgh this would be good choice and you also have benefit of railway station next door to get you into city centre. Try it you will not be disappointed

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank spender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Airport (Newbridge) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#74 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
8.5 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing