We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, sterling service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Ranked #38 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was my first ever stay in a Premier Inn, and having taken advantage of an excellent advance purchase rate, I was looking forward to sampling this hotel.

It is a short taxi ride from Edinburgh Airport, and I was very impressed with the initial appearance. I was curious to try the self service check in, and found if simplicity itself. A very helpful young lady enquired if I needed help, but I had already mastered the system. Later, she was very prompt ad friendly when I asked for additional pillows.

The hotel is right beside bus and rail services, both of which are pretty frequent. Being in an industrial estate, it is very quiet at night. The Gyle Shopping centre is a short bus trip away, Edinburgh Waverley is a 10 minute train ride, which makes it perfect for exploring the city.

The hotel is only a few months old and is in immaculate condition. The bedroom was basic but very attractive nonetheless. I was a little annoyed at being able to hear neighbouring doors closing, and this woke me during the night. One small glitch was a bed whose base was prone to creaking when I moved.

Continental buffet breakfast is a reasonable £5.25, and is pretty good value. The coffee alone is well worth the price. Restaurant staff were only too happy to show me where everything was and clearly enjoyed interacting with the hotel guests.

On checking out, I was asked if everything had been alright. I mentioned how pleasant the hotel and staff were but in view of the noise of doors closing and creaking bed, my night's sleep was less than perfect. Without further ado, the receptionist immediately invoked the "Good Night's sleep" guarantee. Not only did she refund the cost of the room, but did so with the utmost grace and charm.

Never before have I been so well treated by a major hotel chain. Premier Inn deserve great praise for empowering their staff to deal with customers in such a positive manner.

Premier Inn Edinburgh Park sets the standard for others to follow. Well done all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PATJORDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,528 - 1,534 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Proving good quality does not have to mean poor service ! Handy location close to airport (£9 in Taxi) and across the road for train to City Centre (£8.70 return 2Adults/2Kids). Staff were all you could ask and Hotel is very new, clean and smart. Again all you could ask for and brilliant value at £39 for family room. Definitely will use again. Breakfast was great value at £8.25 per adult but Under 16's free so average of £4.10 per person for all you can eat breakfast with cheaper options available. Only complaint was eggs and hash browns were dried up from waiting to be served but once this was noted to the staff they immediately replaced them with fresh ones.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

...when they say everything is premier but the price!

Very reasonable prices, and I think it helps that this hotel is newish, so everything still looks spic & span!

This hotel is about 10 minutes drive from the airport (a taxi fare will set you back about £10), and is right next to Edinburgh Park train station, meaning that you can catch a train straight into the centre of Edinburgh in 10-15 minutes (off peak return is about £2.80).

Check in was easy – there is a self service check in machine, plus someone on hand if you’re not sure how to use it! Most staff members were very friendly and helpful. The hotel offers luggage storage and also a taxi phone, which connects directly to a taxi service.

The room was a fair size, and everything was neat and clean, even the inside of the kettle that is provided in the room, along with tea, coffee and milk.

One of the biggest surprises was the restaurant. The food was surprisingly good! I really wasn’t expecting anything spectacular, but the steak was really very good, and the apple crumble with custard was divine! Breakfast was on par with expectations, although I did not have the hot breakfast.

All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked the premier inn - the Gyle as part of our fathers birthday present, who has mobility problems.

It was easy to find, being in the middle of an industrial estate and had good parking. It had excellent access to both bus and train links to the city of Edinburgh.

Although we used the quick check in, we had a receptionist at hand in case of any problems. The receptionists were always polite and friendly and would speak to you as you passed.

The room was of the usual premier inn quality - very good.

We had a meal and drinks in the restaurant on site and there was plenty of choice. The food and the service were both very good.

On the 2nd night our father decided he wanted to go further afield to eat but there didn't seem many other alternatives around the area so we ended up eating at the local frankie and bennys.

The breakfast was very good. The restaurant manager was very helpful and accommodating and deserves a special mention

We've now stayed at many premier inn hotels and they are now firmly our first choice. If you book early enough they are very good value for money, they have great, polite and well trained staff, many of which go out of their way to hep you, the breakfasts are very good and they always have a decent night time menu.

Keep up the good work premier inn. After having recently stayed in another chain of hotel, your service is second to none.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Excellent the best Premier Inn we have stayed in by far. Very quiet, lots of car parking spaces and by the train station rather than driving to park and ride. Buses also stop close by. Free WiFi for 30 mins a day and you can buy more. Also got two of the nights at £29. Perfect base for exploring Edinburgh and the surrounds. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My partner and I sayed here for 2 nights at the end of August for the Fringe Festival. The hotel is clean, quiet and the staff are friendly. The rooms are clean, there is enough space and the beds are comfortable. The halls, lifts, lobby etc are all also very clean. The breakfast was nice but a bit over priced. The hotel is right next to the train station which goes right into the city centre so its ideal. We got a good deal on this hotel and will be back next year if we can get a similar price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianG1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This branch of the Premier Inn is a large new build right next to the Edinburgh Park railway station, so very handy for getting into the city centre (a return ticket is less than £3). It's also good for anyone working at the cluster of bank buildings around the The Gyle.

The rooms are spacious, clean and modern and have adjustable air con/heating installed. The rooms have the standard Premier Inn furniture; comfy bed, desk, wardrobe/drawers/shelves combo. You also have a tea/coffee tray, hairdryer and complimentary toiletries in the large, clean bathroom. There's also loads of free parking.

Curiously, you check in via a touchscreen machine in reception, the idea being it's self-service. A great idea except a member of staff hovered over me the whole time reading off the screen to me and telling me what to press. I may have been a tired and weary traveller, however I hadn't lost the powers of literacy and hand/eye co-ordination! I think they need to trust that people can manage just fine on their own using this facility and will ask for help if required.

There is a Thyme restaurant and Costa coffee on site. The restaurant has a reasonable selection of food and offers a quick and friendly service. No grumbles there!

I did notice the walls and ceilings are quite thin. The person in the room above me seemed to be either moving furniture or conducting a high impact aerobics session every evening and morning. My light fittings even rattled!!

In the local area there is a Tescos, Morrisons, a small shopping centre and Frankie & Bennys.

All in all, this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PixieSJE1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
518 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#69 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $78 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing