We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Welcome Surprise...”
Review of Corstorphine Inn

Corstorphine Inn
Ranked #1,118 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Welcome Surprise...”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

visited to attend my Grandfather's 90th Birthday and there were a lot of us.. which surprisingly the kitchen coped with very well indeed.. I wasn't expecting such a high standard of food either given the fact it's not a gastropub .. but it was excellent all round!...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan_Verth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    23
    12
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
671 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening.”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

I have been coming to this pub for a meal and drinks since 1976 and my latest visit,with five friends,was as enjoyable as ever.The menu is not as varied as it was a year ago but the quality had been enhanced.The meals are very reasonably priced but we only drank colas as we are all drivers.We waited 30 minutes for the meal but that is understandable as it is cooked fresh.Service was very attentive.It was good to have football on in the background.The atmosphere is always welcoming.All six of us agreed to return in the autumn.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Made most welcome by Manager & Staff”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have just celebrated my Dad's 90th birthday with family in the Corstorphine Inn. We had a variety of meals and no complaints. Thank you David for making the afternoon a great success.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Moira V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit of a let down”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A friend & I go out for a pub lunch every week & last week we went to the Corstorphine Inn. The service was friendly, & after our food arrived I asked if I could possibly have some extra gravy on my meal. The lady who served us brought me a little jug of gravy. For afters we both chose ice cream with double cream. When it came, the cream was missing so we pointed this out & were told that they had run out of double cream. We were disappointed but we both enjoyed our meal, the food was very nice.
However, when we got the bill, they had charged an extra 59p for the extra gravy! No deduction was made for the lack of double cream on the ice cream. We will not be back. I know that profit margins are important but this was downright mean! Was it really worth losing what might have been 2 regular customers for the sake of a pennysworth of gravy??

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ljmmuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quality Food & Drink”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is fast becoming my regular local despite there being other pubs in the area closer to me. The food menu has changed dramatically with the offering now much smaller than the previous menu. The barman told me that they had replaced quantity with quality.Having eaten food from both the old and the new menu I can see where he is coming from and I would thoroughly reccomend food at this pub.

As for the drinks on offer..................keep the guest ciders coming guys and I will forever be happy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sooty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corstorphine Inn also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Corstorphine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing