We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolutely perfect holiday apartment”
other travelers have booked this property
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Browns Close, designed by Sir Basil Spence, is a listed building Our fuly-equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
102 reviews
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Browns Close, designed by Sir Basil Spence, is a listed building
Our fuly-equipped kitchen
The dining area
Entrance hallway
The bright seating area in the lounge
The dining table can comfortably seat four people
The kitchen has a useful breakfast bar
Some of our guests have told us this is the most comfortable bed they have ever slept in!
The bedroom has plenty storage space
There is ample space in the bedroom for the travel cot, which can be provided free of charge.
There are little extras tucked away around the apartment
Enter a caption for your photo
Holyrood Palace - only 200 metres from the property
View from the balcony of the apartment
Musicians marching up the Royal Mile (taken from the balcony)
Salisbury Crags loom over the Edinburgh skyline
Scottish National Monument (aka Edinburgh's Disgrace!)
Panorama of view from balcony of Browns Close Apartment
The Star Flyer in St Andrew Square for Christmas
The Scott Monument and the Big Wheel in December
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 102 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
DrCarrie
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An absolutely perfect holiday apartment”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It all started with communication with David -- he was almost immediately responsive and able to answer all of my questions. He met us at the apartment and showed us the ropes. The entire apartment looks as if it was just remodeled though I'm sure it wasn't. Everything is spotless, neat and tidy; apartment is furnished comfortably and is very functional. Mr. and Mrs. Brown really do have everything you could possibly need for your stay -- board games and DVDs for family time, a large selection of local guide books, a small library full of popular titles; coffee, tea, biscuits and milk in the kitchen. TV has a good selection of channels -- who knew that the American's old reality shows would dominate British television. Don't do it, UK!
One story clarified how entirely perfect the apartment was for us: we purchased a sim card for our old iPhone. We had some trouble getting it to work and I needed to pop the sim card out of the phone. What on earth can I use to do that when I'm on vacation??? I opened a drawer in the dining room and found a little box with sewing implements and some office supplies, including a paperclip. Awww! That was the absolute last thing I would expect to be able to find in a rental apartment and David had thought of it.
The apartment was an amazingly comfortable home-away-from-home for our time in Edinburgh. Bedroom included an American Queen-sized bed. It's located on the Canongate portion of the Royal Mile, across the road from the Scottish Parliament and within shouting distance of Holyrood. It's right on the street with all of the action but quiet at night.
We fell in love with Edinburgh and Scotland and will be back. I hope that we'll be able to stay with the Browns again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So clean and well-equipped
Liked least: That it wasn't mine
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2015
Thank you for taking time to write us such a nice review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us, and also that you were able to make use of some of the knick-knacks that we leave for our guests. I find paperclips useful for sooo many things! We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrauf
1 review
“Excellent apartment”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Great location excellent service. What we like most about the owner is attention to detail. The flat would have everything you need.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2015
Thank you for your review - we are glad that you found everything you needed in our apartment!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inepiia
2 reviews
“What an apartment!”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were four friends staying at this apartment for four nights. It was such a nice apartment, we didn't want to leave! It had a great location, everything in walking-distance (we never took a taxi). The city was unbelievably beautiful and we could not have had a better vacation. The apartment was very cozy and clean and had everything you would need. In addition, David was the sweetest and most welcoming person. Overall, the best apartment we could have got!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2015
Thank you for these kind words! We are very pleased that you liked both Edinburgh and our apartment so much, and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
joules43
Milford Haven, Pembrokeshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First class apartment for a great city break”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My wife and I stayed at this apartment on a 4 night break to follow Wales in the 6 nations. The apartment gave us everything we could have hoped for, and more. Spotlessly clean and well equipped, warm and inviting, and a very comfortable bed. All main attractions were within walking distance. Will use it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very comfy bed.
Liked least: Had to carry bags up two flights of stairs.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2015
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us (and that you got the rugby result you wanted!). We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulina L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staying there was a real pleasure”
Reviewed December 27, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The location is just great, the apartment modern and accommodating and owners are thoughtful, positive and trustworthy people. Staying there was a real pleasure. We had a toddler with us and there was no problems with room for our pushchair, arranging cot, bedding and high chair. There were also some toys, plastic cutlery, bowl and a cup of very good quality which was a nice surprise. Definitely worth recommending and visiting again. Everything in the apartment worked easily and was very well up kept. Even though there are some stairs leading to the apartment we didn't find it too difficult to get in and out with a pushchair.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: attention to detail
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing