We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Comfortable Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Browns Close, designed by Sir Basil Spence, is a listed building Our fuly-equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
102 reviews
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Browns Close, designed by Sir Basil Spence, is a listed building
Our fuly-equipped kitchen
The dining area
Entrance hallway
The bright seating area in the lounge
The dining table can comfortably seat four people
The kitchen has a useful breakfast bar
Some of our guests have told us this is the most comfortable bed they have ever slept in!
The bedroom has plenty storage space
There is ample space in the bedroom for the travel cot, which can be provided free of charge.
There are little extras tucked away around the apartment
Enter a caption for your photo
Holyrood Palace - only 200 metres from the property
View from the balcony of the apartment
Musicians marching up the Royal Mile (taken from the balcony)
Salisbury Crags loom over the Edinburgh skyline
Scottish National Monument (aka Edinburgh's Disgrace!)
Panorama of view from balcony of Browns Close Apartment
The Star Flyer in St Andrew Square for Christmas
The Scott Monument and the Big Wheel in December
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 102 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Susan R
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Cannot fault this apartment or David at all. David kept in contact from the first moment we paid a deposit to the day of us travelling. He gave us perfect directions how to find the apartment. Everything and anything you need on arrival is there for you, a small welcome pack and even a pint of milk for the weary traveller down to a hair dryer in the bedroom.

The Apartment is very clean, modern, comfortable with Wi Fi. Only down side is the lack of TV Channels but there are DVD's there for you and CD's to listen to. David has also provided plenty of Literature for you to help you decide on where you want to visit during your stay and also some books for light reading at night. The small balcony was a welcome especially at night just to sit outside and chill out.

The location of the apartment is just at the end of The Royal Mile / Cannon Gate near the Scottish Parliament, which is great if you have been out touring about all day then it is down hill all the way.

Would highly recommend this to anyone as it was more a home from home, if visiting the capital again would be looking to book here first.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Comfort of the bed after a long day walking
Liked least: Lack of TV channels
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us and found the welcome pack and various bits of information helpful. I also enjoy sitting out on the balcony when I can (although I am supposed to be working when I am there!). Thank you very much for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catanmax2...
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable, very handy, perfect for our needs.”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in Brown's close for for nights in August. We booked the apartment and got regular emails from Margaret and David when we booked, when we paid the balance and before we left. We were also contacted by text the day of arrival to tell us the apartment was ready early.

The directions to the apatment from Waverley were perfect and it was easy found. We were delighted to find Oink right across the road also. We found the apartment spotless, comfortable, it had everything you could need for a short stay or even a longer one. We especially appreciated the extras like the sweets in the living room and the welcome basket in the kitchen. The extra blankets also came in handy in the bedroom closet!

The sofa bed was easy to make up and comfortable. The apartment is well layed out and with games, CDs and DVDs the kids didn't get bored. The shower was lovely and powerful. The bed in the bedroom very firm and comfortable also. The balcony is also a nice extra and its a pity we didn't get use of it while we were there. We just didn't have the time!

The apartment is well located, on a bus route and taxis can be hired from just down the road also near Holyrood palace. The apartment is well down the royal mile which is well lined with shops, pubs, cafes etc. The great thing is its all downhill walking home!

I would recommend Browns close to anyone. No doubt that on returning to Edinburgh we would definitely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: home comforts!
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2014
Thank you for this review: it's good to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Edinburgh, and particularly nice to hear that the kids enjoyed the facilities as well as the adults! We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RevPip
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just a perfect experience. Thank you David and Margaret for having such a lovely place to stay. As a frequent traveller to Edinburgh, we've tried a number of apartments over the past few years. This out ranks even the five star (and 3 times the price) apartments we have stayed in before. The apartment is very homely, bright, spotlessly clean - they have thought of everything for comfort -- lovely welcome pack and nice touches throughout. Ideally suited for both couples, friends, or small families - there are an array of books, games, dvd's, cd's for pretty much everyone - the furnishings are lovely, cosy and warm. The location is absolutely perfect - although there is a lovely pub underneath you cannot hear any sound at all. Considering it's brilliant location - it's very quiet (especially where the bedroom is) and the balcony is just wonderful. Ten stars all round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: nothing.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2014
Thank you for a great review - you've certainly given us a billing to live up to! It is good to know that we compare favourably with other accommodations, and that everything was to your taste. And thanks, too, for mentioning how quiet it is at night. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1979ccc
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful property, location and owner!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were very, very lucky to get a reservation due to a cancellation for the Fringe, we were visiting a friend who was performing. Finding the property was a doddle, right on the Royal Mile! The apartment itself was thoughtful, immaculate and comfortable. We were shown around and left to our devices, we had a welcome pack consisting of quality cereals, biscuits, tea, coffee, sugar, milk, mini croissants, hot chocolate and a host of other items, not forgetting a bottle of wine and bathroom items! We will definitely come back, the location was amazing, the price was spot on, could not be happier! Thank you for having us!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the extras and found the location convenient - I hope you enjoyed the show as well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If you are looking for a fantastic holiday flat located in the heart of Edinburgh then look no further. We recently spent an extended weekend with a toddler at Browns Close Apartment and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owner David went out of his way to be helpful and there were lots of nice touches that made the stay feel like a home from home in a very child friendly environment.

It is ideally located to explore Edinburgh on the Royal Mile and it has great transport links so no need for a car. Lots of facilities nearby and David has put together a very useful guide to help you during your stay.

Decorated and furnished to a very high standard and remarkably spacious due to well thought through design.

We would highly recommend a stay and we look forward to visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little touches like milk and chocs
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you appreciated the location and found it easy to get about, even with a toddler! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pixie0427
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

One rarely achieves perfection on a vacation residence, be it a hotel or B&B or apartment. This one ticked every box and exceeded expectations on most counts.

Location - exceptional. So good that I cancelled my rental car; we could walk to pretty much every major attraction in city centre Edinburgh. It was barely a 10-minute walk to Waverley station and a 10-second walk to the closest Lothian bus stop. Two supermarkets close by, and a plethora of dining options and shopping.

Space - amazing. A large bedroom, huge living room with pull-out sofa bed, spacious kitchen and ample storage everywhere.

Furniture and furnishings - As good as it gets. Lots of chairs, dressers, cushions, mirrors... and a full bookshelf and CD rack.

Appliances - You name it, this place has it. Washer, dryer, dishwash, High-end sound and video system, top-of-the-line bathroom fittings. No bath tub or sauna - but this is Edinburgh, not Istanbul.

Hosts - Charming, flexible and generous with their time. Helped settle us in and refunded the deposit within hours of our departure.

Will we stay there again? You bet.

Do we recommend it? Without reservation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: It is hard to improve on perfection.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2014
Thank you for this exceptional review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh and found our apartment comfortable and convenient. It is also good to know that the little touches are appreciated. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M
Spokane, Washington
1 review
“Fantastic Flat on the Royal Mile”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Browns Close Apartment is located on the second floor, surprisingly quiet. We were very happy we were near the lower portion of the Royal Mile, by the Parliament Building, away from all the night time noise.

This recently-renovated flat had everything we needed for our week in Edinburgh. The apartment was tastefully decorated, just like in the pictures. The beds were very comfortable. The internet was fast. The shower actually had great water pressure and lots of hot water. The kitchen was well equipment with new and modern appliances and equipment. Too bad we did not cook our whole time there. We were there to enjoy the local cuisine.

David did a great job meeting us and communicating during our stay. He gave us a great overview of the neighborhood, which helped us out so much during our first couple days. We certainly would recommend this flat for anyone coming to Edinburgh. David... thanks for making our first visit to Scotland so enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and spaciousness of renovated flat
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your FIRST visit to Scotland - perhaps you will get the chance to make more use of the equipment in the apartment next time! - and that you found the apartment quiet and comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing