We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The owners thought of everything; a comfortable...”
other travelers have booked this property
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Browns Close, designed by Sir Basil Spence, is a listed building Our fuly-equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Browns Close, designed by Sir Basil Spence, is a listed building
Our fuly-equipped kitchen
The dining area
Entrance hallway
The bright seating area in the lounge
The dining table can comfortably seat four people
The kitchen has a useful breakfast bar
Some of our guests have told us this is the most comfortable bed they have ever slept in!
The bedroom has plenty storage space
There is ample space in the bedroom for the travel cot, which can be provided free of charge.
There are little extras tucked away around the apartment
Enter a caption for your photo
Holyrood Palace - only 200 metres from the property
View from the balcony of the apartment
Musicians marching up the Royal Mile (taken from the balcony)
Salisbury Crags loom over the Edinburgh skyline
Scottish National Monument (aka Edinburgh's Disgrace!)
Panorama of view from balcony of Browns Close Apartment
The Star Flyer in St Andrew Square for Christmas
The Scott Monument and the Big Wheel in December
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
sfriedlpc
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The owners thought of everything; a comfortable refuge from the events of the festival, perfect location on the Mile.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

David and Margaret thought of "everything" possible to enrich our 10 day stay for the Fringe. They were gracious hosts, welcoming us to Scotland with their warmth and friendly communications prior to our arrival. The apartment is beautifully appointed, comfortable and designed perfectly for the discriminating traveler. We enjoyed the kitchen amenities, the wine, cheese and biscuits awaiting our arrival. We were grateful for the morning starters of coffee, milk and cereal. We utilized the traveling guides, restaurant ideas and "black book" suggestions thoughtfully prepared to help us navigate the city. Perfect location on the Royal Mile, walking distance to festival and city venues. Would return in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thoughtful ammenities, comfy living arrangements, proximity to city venues.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2012
We are glad that you had such a great time in Edinburgh, and that you appreciated the central location. We are also pleased that you made use of some of the information which we leave in the apartment - we hope that this helps people save some of their precious time in Edinburgh and get to see as much as possible in the time they are with us.

We hope that you can manage to come back and see us again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 8, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The most comfortable bed i have ever slept in
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review. We are glad that you got the most out of the central location and enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Saint Saturnin les Avignon, France
Reviewed August 8, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and quality of all equipments
Liked least: I really cannot mention anything !
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for your kind comments. We have tried to make the apartment comfortable for families, and we think that the large lounge plus the toys and other entertainments can help keep the kids happy - which helps keep the parents happy too!

We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 31, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed! And all the little extra touches.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2012
Thank you for such an enthusiastic review! We want our apartment to feel like home for our guests, so it is nice to know that we are managing to do that. We are also pleased that you appreciated the comfy bed. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BerenM
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great apartment in central Edinburgh!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Browns Close Apartment for 2 nights with our 3 year old and 10 month old. It was the perfect place for our family! Located on the Royal Mile, it is right next to Holyrood Palace and Park and only a 15 minute walk from the castle. The owners were very accommodating when we ended up arriving quite a bit later than what we had originally planned. They still met us at the apartment and explained everything. We especially appreciated the nice little touches: a bottle of wine was left for us on the dining room table, and we found a tray with cookies, tea, coffee and croissants in the kitchen. There also were toys for the kids and a high chair. The apartment is beautifully decorated and very clean. I would definitely recommend this apartment to anyone with or without kids who wants to spend a wonderful few days to discover Edinburgh! Thanks again David and Margaret!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness, decoration and location of the apartment
Liked least: Everything was great!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2012
Thank you for these lovely comments. We are glad that you enjoyed staying in the apartment, and that the children made use of the toys! We hope to see you again in the future. Margaret and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAS56NHL
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“We would recommend Browns Close Apartment.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Ideally situated on the royal mile just a short walk to Holyrood Palace
and with views of the Scottish Parliament building, the apartment is
beautifully furnished, clean and comfortable. Stayed here recently with
3 other friends and it was ideal. It is well - equipped with everything
you would need for your stay in Edinburgh. The owners David and Margaret
provide a welcome pack which includes, Tea/coffee/biscuits/milk and
cereal and Wine. There is also a good range of travel books and guides to help
you plan your trip. Towels and hairdryer are also provided which is
really useful when flying in with only hand luggage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home comforts
Liked least: The weather
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2012
Thank you very much to all of you who have reviewed our apartment. We get lots of lovely comments in our Guest Book, but it is a special thrill when someone takes the time to give us a nice online review as well! We are very pleased that the effort that we put into making Browns Close a lovely place to stay is appreciated, and we hope to see you again if you come back to Edinburgh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary w
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and ideal accommodation”
Reviewed April 1, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Browns court apartment is in a superb location on the Royal mile close to Holyrood and the the Scottish parliament building. The accommodation is ideal. congratulations to the owners, they have thought of everything to make it comfortable and visitor friendly. Margaret and David the owners met us at the flat with the keys and tips about parking etc. and this was very helpful. There was information about all local attractions, towels toiletries, tea coffee milk are provided. We can't fault it.

mary and howard williams

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Comfort and cleanliness. Everything you need is there
Liked least: if I have to nit pick perhaps the access to the flat, it was via 2 sets of stairs on outside, this could be a problem for some people
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing