We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Ranked #67 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“disappointing customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

firstly you need to appreciate that these reviews are totally subjective and based upon personal experience

we stayed here many years ago when they first opened and as we were a family heading for an early flight from Edinburgh airport decided to try this for a night. the young scots girl who ''talked us down''and checked us in was very friendly and helpful. we had paid in advance for parking
(£15 per night) and we found the car park by turning in at the Tesco express and then right and down to the silver coloured gates. all was going well, the apartments are well laid out and quite comfortable and certailnly well located. there was tea and coffee in the kitchen and even milk in the fridge.
the problem we had was with the bathrooms, the water only ran at a trickle and there was no hot water, with the result that the toilet cistern took around 20 minutes to fill and the
water tank/boiler wich is located in a cupboard in the lounge dribbled away noisily all evening . there was running cold water in the kitchen tap and fortunately the shower worked

we complained to reception but were told that there was nothing that could be done and that they would get it fixed the next day, which was obviously no good to us

its just that as we paid £250 for an apartment for a night and to have only a dribble of cold water, no hot water and a limited use of the toilet I think that this is generally unacceptable

regarding rooms, the ground floor apartment windows only have pull down blinds which you need to use to stop passing pedestrians looking in. also we had the apartment in which the
automatic entrance door was fixed to the other side of the bedroom wall, as a result we could hear the motor mechanism every time it opened and late on it we heard a beeping noise, which we think was an alarm attached to the door to alert staff of people coming in.

if the water situation had been ok, we would have had a good stay but there you go

Room Tip: dont get a ground floor apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tosherinp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    374
    78
    21
    16
See reviews for
374
256
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Aparthotel is in a fantastic location, in the Old Town just off the Royal Mile and easy to find on foot if you go through the archway off the Royal Mile - distinctive modern red & blue building. An easy 10min walk from Waverley Station. Check in was easy and quick.

The facilities offered for the price are fantastic - 2 beds, 2 bath (one ensuite, both of ours had showers), and a small sitting room with fully equiped kitchen, dining table & 4 chairs, TV, DVD and all kitchen equipment. Tea, Coffee, Milk & Sugar are added which is great after a long journey & much appreciated. Towels and toiletries make this as good as any hotel.

The beds are comfy but the décor is a little tired. Most walls had scuff marks or repairs - a lick of paint would spruce it up and the grouting etc. in the showers a bit mouldy & broken. Carpets and soft furnishings are showing signs of wear and a little grubby round the edges.

The biggest problem for me is noise. The floors, (in particular the nice wooden floor in the living area), are SO creaky that in the end, anyone moving about in our apartment made me cringe. The hot water and toilets use some kind of pump system so that if anyone uses the water, the noise from the pump in the living area is significant though short-term.

Finally, during the weeknights noise from other guests was barely audible - the soundproofing within the flats is great. BUT, come the weekend and the stag parties, smoking outside below the windows, the noise of groups of other guests coming in during the wee small hours, knocking on doors trying to be admitted by friends, slamming doors, loud laughing and joking and moving about on their creaky floors above your apartment at 3 in the morning would make me consider going elsewhere next time, which is a shame.

The idea of the Aparthotel is great but by it's very nature in this popular city attracts large single sex groups - it's perfect if you are one! It probably was once fantastic but I think it could do with a spruce up and for a family, staying over a weekend, I would hesitate to recommend it to my friends.

Would I stay again with a family? Maybe... depends on the day of the week and subject to an apartment on the top floor. It's hard to beat for price, facilities and location. With a single sex group going out at night, absolutely.

Feeling bad as this is the first time I have left a "less than positive" review.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daintree
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Tucked away just off the Royal Mile, at the quieter end of town, this suited us perfectly. Having asked for a studio apartment, but ending up with a two bedroom, two bathroom one, we were more than satisfied. Great to have a small, fully equipped kitchen, plus lounge etc.
Could do with some fresh paint, but the the comfy bed, good bathroom and other facilities made up for that.
Exceptional value by booking online, directly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to express many thanks for your favourable review on Trip Advisor. I am very glad to see that you found our serviced apartments comfortable and equipped with everything a guest may need. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Got this through Itison and totally worth the money. Stayed with friends who were over from Australia and spent 2 days in Edinburgh. Good location at the bottom of The Royal Mile. Well stocked kitchen if you had wanted to cook and we were lucky enough to have a breakfast pack and fruit basket included in our deal. Clean and modern and parking space included.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review, highlighting our terrific location and our amenities. I' am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great place to stay! I like having a sitting room when I travel, instead of just a bedroom. This two bedroom, two bath apartment was great. The kitchen was fully stocked, even had a clothes washer/dryer.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is within walking distance of all the tourist attractions as well as grocery shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeMWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great place to stay if your on business or planning a visit with family. Its less hotel and more serviced apartments.

The place is spotlessly clean and the staff are all so friendly.. It's in a great location just off the royal mile. It can by a bit tricky to find as its off some of the closes. It's only about £5 in a taxi from the train station and all local attractions.

It's a real home from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djrs1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our serviced apartments. You are correct, we are not a hotel and we do not state that anywhere. It is with pleasure to see that you praise our facilities and services, as well as the great location.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This aparthotel looked beautiful online, but in reality was difficult to find from the street and get into (registration was on the second floor) and the apartment itself did not live up to expectations. All rooms, including the living area, were closed off by fire doors from the entrance hallway. Not conducive to having any interaction with your fellow travelers. We had to prop the doors open with a suitcase so we could talk to each other. We only needed to book for one night, which had limited our selection of locations, but this was twice as expensive per night as anywhere else we stayed on our two week trip and was in the poorest condition of any of them. The damage deposit and the parking fee were not advertised or expected and added to the already high bill.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#59 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Property: Holyrood apartHOTEL
Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing