We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Festival break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Ranked #70 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Festival break”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Location difficult to find initially. Superb facility only marred by lack of air-con. That meant windows needed to be open and noise was a problem at night. High prices reflect Festival demand - same everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank DMcKeownCo_Antrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
A superb review and my thanks to this reviewer for their warm words on the Holyrood Aparthotel. Please note that we do indeed have some rooms with air conditioning - just make a request with us at the time of booking to see if one is available/suitable.

Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    385
    84
    22
    19
See reviews for
388
266
25
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked a number of rooms here for the week of my wedding and our room was supposed to be a superior suite. We paid extra for this room but after seeing our other guests rooms we were pushed to figure out why our room was supposed to be more superior. It was a nice apartment, but the master bedroom was tiny and it was a struggle to get around the bed.Also, the living room was much smaller. In the end we aasked to me moved to a normal apartment and were much happier and did get a refund for the difference. The staff seemed to struggle with the amount of questions/complaints by other guests, maybe that is something that could be worked on. I would stay here again but it would not be my first choice. It is ideal for families who are self catering and is in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y5c6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Many thanks for the positive review for the Holyrood Aparthotel, but I must point out we do not have superior suites nor do we sell any as such. We do have Executive Apartments on the top floor which are not sold because of their size, although our Penthouse is larger than the rest, but because they come with an executive package; bathrobes, fruit, mineral water, free car parking and much more.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Perfectly good for a visit to Edinburgh during the Fringe and as a family we were glad of separate rooms and the washing machine.

The place was clean and the location could not have been better (out of the hotel, left, under and arch and straight onto the Royal Mile).

There is a charge for WIFI which seems churlish and the bins can be noisy in the morning, but then you are in a city. The seagulls were worse to be honest! The staff were fairly apathetic and seemed surprised when I asked for Fringe information (even though we stayed during the Festival).

Room Tip: Care with ground floor rooms - pedestrians can look straight in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyTracyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
A great review for the Holyrood Aparthotel and my thanks to this reviewer - but I was sorry to hear you were disturbed by the seagulls - one of the disadvantages of living so near to the sea.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Three generations shared 2 apartments which were well appointed. The kitchens had everything we needed including dishwasher and washing machine powders and plenty tea, coffee, milk and sugar which was a bonus. Super location within walking distance as we were in Edinburgh for the Military Tattoo. Our two young grandchildren were delighted with it all and enjoyed the DVDs from reception. The staff were so helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
A superb review for the Holyrood Aparthotel - many, many thanks!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My spouse and two teens spent 4 nights at Holyrood apartHOTEL at the peak of festival season in Edinburgh. The location was fantastic - at the foot of the Royal Mile just a block or two away from Holyrood Palace and the Scottish Parliament buildings, which meant you were conveniently close to the sights and sounds of the Royal Mile while still being a little removed from the thick of the noise and congestion. A little Tesco's Express is nearby for groceries, as are many restaurants, pubs, cafes and takeaways if you don't want to make your own meals. It is also very conveniently located to bus routes and the Waverly train station is less than a 10 minute walk away.

The apartment itself had its pros and cons. To the good, it was very spacious. We loved the two bedrooms with one bathroom and another ensuite bathroom in the "master" bedroom. The lounge with TV was airy and comfortable, and the kitchen had plenty of room, and was well supplied - along with the usual fridge, microwave, oven and hob, it had a dishwasher and clothes washer/dryer as well. The beds were comfortable and clean, and overall, the apartment provided clean, secure, comfortable, spacious accommodation that made it a relaxing place to rest and recharge at the end of the day.

The quirks: I hadn't thought to ask for a non-smoking room, as nearly all accommodations are non-smoking in Canada. Although the room we got only had smoking permitted in the lounge, there was still a lingering smell in the room. Not enough to make us request a change of rooms, but just enough to notice. If we were to stay here again, we would be sure to ask for a non-smoking room. The room faced an alley serviced by garbage trucks and close to the local restaurants, which led to some street noise, though it was not too bad considering it was over the weekend in festival season. A couple of times, we were alarmed by loud rattling sounds that we realized were just the water pipes.
For me the biggest obstacle to being truly comfortable was the layout and doors: you enter into a narrow hallway, which leads to the doors to the bedroom, bathroom and lounge. The doors are heavy and automatically swing closed with a loud and rather forbidding bang if you don't prop them open, so one can feel rather closed off from the rest of the family if they are shut all the time. On the other hand, I assume these are for reasons of privacy and fire safety, so this isn't necessarily a bad thing. It was just....quirky and felt a bit weird.

WiFi wasn't necessarily expensive, but you could only connect one device to it. However, if you really needed to check your mail or make reservations, a desktop computer and printer are available in the lounge. We elected to forego WiFi and just go to Starbucks around the corner.
Service was great - helpful receptionists, excellent housekeeping.

Overall, I would stay here again, ask for a non-smoking room away from the main lane, and bring a lightweight door wedge, as it otherwise has everything you need for a comfortable stay while exploring Edinburgh.

Room Tip: ask for a nonsmoking room facing away from the garbage lane
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limesally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Many thanks to this guest for a super review.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts UK
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I were very happy to stay here during our five-night stay to Edinburgh - we would choose to stay here again... We have visited Edinburgh regularly in previous years and so know the city well. We were in Edinburgh for the festival and at a time when accommodation prices are at a premium, however, our cozy, modern 'apartment' was pretty good value, this considered. The location was very convenient for a lot of the venues being just off the Royal Mile. The apartment was well equipped - I appreciated the pint of fresh milk (in the fridge) so we could make a cup of tea / coffee after our long journey when we fist checked in. The kitchen was compact, well equipped (with dishwasher, washer-dryer, microwave, oven and hob) and so we self-catered for our holiday - which saved us quite a bit of money. It was handy that a supermarket is a 2 minute walk. Our room, situated on the 5th floor (don't worry, there is a lift) was pretty quiet and we weren't bothered by noise from other guests (something that can be an issue in festival time at other accommodations!). Please note, I had looked through other tripadviser revues and requested an upper floor at the time of booking. There also wasn't too much external noise during the night, considering its central location. However, we didn't have a scenic view from our windows - we just overlooked the courtyard and other apartments - again, this didn't bother us as there were lots of opportunities to enjoy the vistas of Edinburgh during our stay.... The bathroom is compact and also very clean. Please note our bath was not full size - but as we only used the shower, this didn't concern us at all. All in all, I would have no hesitation in recommending this place to others.

Room Tip: We were in Room 503 - no complaints - but no view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
A superb and very comprehensive review of the facilities at the Holyrood Aparthotel - my thanks to this guest for taking the time....
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel's biggest asset is its location, which is just off the Royal Mile. It couldn't be more convenient to everything. The rooms in the apartment are simple, very modern, very clean, not large, but large enough. We stayed in a 2-bedroom. Some of the rooms can be noisy, we were by a car park, so there was some intermittent noise, but not too bad.
One thing they've never needed in Scotland, Air Conditioning! But no more, thanks to global warming. If you visit in the summer, check if your room has AC. They are in the process of installing it, but not all rooms have it.
It's also very eco-friendly, with lots of gadgets to conserve energy.
The kitchen is great.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest possible room. Ask for AC if it's summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
A great review and very informative. We do indeed have air conditioning in some of our rooms so please do ask at the time of booking if this is something you may require. Although in Soctland we only need it for about 4 days per year......
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#56 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,982 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
326 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,487 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Property: Holyrood apartHOTEL
Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing