We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Met our family needs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holyrood apartHOTEL

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Ranked #61 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Met our family needs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We used this accommodation in July for a first trip to Edinburgh, and it met our family needs perfectly. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit, and found it overall well equipped and comfortable for 4. The breakfast supplied was helpful, and we also ordered the fruit basket, which was delicious. The hotel is well situated with respect to the Royal Mile and the conveniences of the area. We did find it a little run down and struggled a bit with the windows as we needed the airflow during the recent heatwave. Also had some trouble with the WiFi service. Overall, though, it worked for us and we would return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JLMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    368
    76
    20
    16
See reviews for
367
253
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glendale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

i stayed here earlier this month (july 2013) and had a pleasant experience with this hotel itself.

PROS:
-VERY clean! big plus for me. bedrooms clean, shower, as well as living room area
-comfortable beds!
-location! (right off the royal mile although extremely hard to find)
-price (cheap yet excellent accommodations)
-two showers
-living room can fit 2 more ppl in the sofa
-dryer/washer included
-LOVED the feeling of being in a hotel despite technically being in an apartment suite (allows for privacy)

CONS:
-location very difficult to find. although right off the royal mile, taxi drivers and locals in general are not familar with this hotel, so if you need to take a cab at any point, your driver will most likely have a difficult time finding the place. although it is near another popular, well known hotel (mcdonald hotel) so you can use that hotel as a landmark that many in the area recognize)
-one of the showers.. the one with the bath tub needed relatively new re-modeling. it was semi-dirty but acceptable for use (room 506)

overall, i would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in edinburgh. it is cheap yet provides excellent accommodation. my biggest concern would be location as it is very hard to find BUT it is extremely close to all the shops on royal mile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We got a three room apartment with kitchenette, dishwasher, washer dryer. Made it a great base for exploring the inner city near the royal mile. Staff was helpful and friendly. Arrange parking early. the lot is small, cost is 10 pounds per nite. not cheep, but otherwise the parking situation in downtown is difficult. Its within one minite of a tesco express, and five minute walk to the white domed science museum, which was well worth a trip.

Room Tip: you should clarify if you dont want a no smoking room. lower rooms are close to street level, for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jriggs1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

4.5 stars would be about right.

Pros:-

Superb location, at the Holyrood end of the Royal Mile.

Convenient parking, but make sure you book a place when you book the room as the car park is small.

Lots of internal space and multiple bathrooms; great for families.

Reasonable value for a capital city.

Very well equipped, including a well-stocked kitchen.

Generous provisions, with lots for breakfast and a fantastic fruit bowl.

Shops (incl Tesco Express) and restaurants nearby.


Cons:-

Unusually, Edinburgh was scorching when we visited which necessitated keeping the windows open overnight. From 4 a.m. the external noise woke us up and kept us awake; all sorts of service vehicles with those maddening reversing beepers. Air con is absent and would have really helped. We were in the penthouse suite which was lovely and had lots of glass which heated the air; perhaps lower suites are cooler.

Bedrooms are small, although the living area in our suite was a good size. Getting to the far side of the bed was tricky.

Window blinds do not block out the light so our east-facing bedroom window flooded the room with light at dawn.

Beds and pillows are only adequate; a long way from being the most comfortable.

Staff were mixed; great on arrival; less so on departure.

Lift is very, very slow. Take the stairs - it's good for you!


Overall, a pleasant stay and we would return. Great for families and those on a budget, but if you're after a room with a view and a bit of luxury then I suspect you could do better elsewhere, although you'd certainly pay more.

Room Tip: Penthouse suite was great; I think you have to call up to get this one. Parking and newspaper are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Holyrood hotel is well located - only a few minutes walk to the Edinburgh Castle and the Royal mile. The staff was very helpful when we needed help. The rooms are lovely and fit for a bigger family than ours.
However there were too many things that didn't work properly. For example, the washing machine / dryer didn't work even after they tried to fix them and we had to travel with wet clothes in the luggage until we got to out next location. Also, you have to pay for the parking, for WiFi and for other things that (to my opinion) should be included in the price of the room (for such a high price).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great location . Uphill walk to the Royal Mile and Castle, only took 10 mins. Plenty of bars and restaurants on the Mile.Clean and comfortable. Two double bedrooms one with ensuite shower room ,plenty of hot water.The kitchen was well equipped including full oven,washer dryer,microwave fridge with ice box and mini dishwasher. Complimentary tea coffee,milk wash powder and dishwasher tablets. TV and DVD in living area and selection of DVDs to borrow from reception. Book ahead for secure parking which is excellent value. We booked this as we took our daughter to uni open day and found it good value as we needed two rooms. As we were early we were able to leave luggage in cupboard receptionist offered to look after laptop in office. Able to leave car early. Staff were friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clampets S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECBen, Public Relations Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for such an excellent review! Glad to hear that you made use of many of our services, including complimentary DVD hire, luggage storage and secure cark parking. We hope all went well at the university and that we may be welcoming you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I've been to Edinburgh with another couple, and we stayed in the Aparthotel for the weekend. The location is just great, in the middle of the old town. Most of the sightseeing-spots are in walking distance, tons of pubs and restaurants as well.
The apartment was spacious with 2 bedrooms, a living room, 2 bathrooms and an open kitchen. It was very clean, the staff was very helpful. There's a guarded parking, but with additional costs of 10 £ per day. WiFi is available, with another 4 £ per day. Although i stayed there for the weekend it wasn't very noisy and we slept very well - thanks to pretty good beds.
My only complain: They don't refill the really nice breakfast basket so we ran out of supplies and had to go shopping in the nearby Tesco.
I'm going to stay there again on my next trip to Edinburgh!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1969jmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#63 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#49 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Property: Holyrood apartHOTEL
Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing