We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great for groups, good location, ample spaces, and unbeatable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holyrood apartHOTEL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for groups, good location, ample spaces, and unbeatable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at the Holyrood Aparthotel in December 2012 together with three members of my family. In my opinion the hotel offers an excellent option for people traveling in groups since you don't need to book two separate rooms (as in most other hotels) and the spaces provided are ample enough to provide for two fully separate rooms with decently sized beds, a desk, and a closet, plus one ensuite and one bathroom near the hall, both with showers, a fully furnished kitchen, a dining room, and a tv/sitting room.

As other reviewers have commented the location is very good, close enough to the royal mile (right under it), minutes away from Parliament and Holyrood Park (for arthur's seat), right next to a Tesco's for grocery shopping, and a short 15 minute walk to the center of town for dining out and sightseeing.

Unlike what other commentators experienced, we did not have any issue with linens and the apartment's cleanliness was very good so no complaints there. The price is remarkable for a highly tourist-oriented city in the UK and perhaps the only element i would be missing is a fitness room and a restaurant on site for whenever you do not want to go out or cook in your apartment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
A fantastic review for the Holyrood Aparthotel and my thanks to this guest for taking such time to list all our selling points. I would, however, like to point out the we DO in fact have a fitness room on the 1st floor, and my apologies to this guest as this was obviously not made clear enough whilst they were here.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    326
    70
    20
    13
See reviews for
340
228
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was my first time in an 'aparthotel' - our apartment had two rooms, two bathrooms, a lounge/dining area and a small kitchen. Well stocked with appliances and utilities. Comfortable and clean. Location was excellent, just off the Royal mile and around the corner from the Parliament building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hopefully, this will not be this reviewer's only time at an aparthotel - I hope we have managed to convert them. That aside, a wonderful review, so, many thanks!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were in town for a week and this worked great for a family of four. The location was perfect for walking into town/high street, but tucked away enough to not overwhelmed with touristy stuff. We wished the window would have shut properly so we didn't hear the noise outside. I would normally like more soundproofing, but perhaps it was Hogmany that caused the extra noise. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. The beds and sofa not so comfy, but liveable. There were many little maintenance issues that make it look tatty rather than luxurious (flaky paint, carpet coming up from the floor, water stains on the ceiling, etc). Would have loved some more creature comforts, fluffy soft cushions, and more newer (unholey linens).

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor for non-smoking ask for a room in the front for more peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My family and I stayed for one night midweek. The apartment was clean, comfortable with good facilities. It is situated just off the Royal Mile in the Old Town. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was also access to a private car park which had easy access to the apartments. Good value for money. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about my weeklong stay at Holyrood Aparthotel. The location is terrific just in a quiet close off of the Royal Mile, just across from then lovely church where the Queen's daughter was wed. The furnishings and fittings were very modern. I enjoyed having a washer/dryer in the room (all apartments have a w/d). It was well laid out and there were ample electrical outlets for your devices. Finally, the staff was very accomodating with my questions and housekeeping was above average. See my photos.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Great value, good location (near the Scottish Parliament building, but only a 10 minute walk from Waverley Station), and a spacious, comfortable room.

There's 24 hour reception, and luggage storage.

Best value in the Old Town!

Helpful?
Thank HemelGooman
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
A wonderful review for the Holyrood Aparthotel and it is great to read that we are "cannily priced" as this is certainly what we aim for...
I think our location does often go unappreciated, as our main selling points are the usually the high standard of accommodation and the quality of our service, but it is certainly worth bearing in mind how close we are to the High Street, the Station, Scottish Parliament etc.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monikie, Angus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was travelling with a small group for a weekend in Edinburgh and we booked this Aparthotel for its convenience and good price.

The apartment itself was very comfortable and the facilities were excellent, and the location was very central.

The rooms were VERY noisy. Firstly it was the neighbours which I appreciate is unavoidable, but the walls were paperthin and there did seem to be a number of groups on Stag/Hen weekends who partied until all hours. Secondly, and more unavoidable, was the waterworks of the hotel. Through the night there was a continual noise of running water in pipes just behind the walls and what sounded like very noisy pumps going on and off all night. Both factors led to pretty disturbed sleep on both nights.

Also, we needed to use the sofa bed and were told that bedding would be provided. None was there on arrival and after asking for some at reception, we arrived back in at midnight only to find that 4 cushion covers had been provided for us. How we were meant to sleep with that was beyond us!

The reception staff were also a bit disorganised. There was a mix up with parking bookings, we were told that the Friday night was full and Saturday available. We parked our car elsewhere on the Friday and then in their car park on the Saturday - only to be charged two nights. When we queried this we were told that we had booked the two nights, even although the girl who was spoken to took the booking and remembered telling us there was only one night free! The manager, Leon I think, never contacted us about this - even after two phone calls to the hotel and being told that he would be in contact. No refund for unused night was given.

Poor & unefficient service, noisy and lack of customer consideration. It's a shame as it is a good facility. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Sorry to hear there were a couple of minor niggles that left this guest feeling anything but completeley satisfied- I did call the number provided a couple of times as soon as I received the feedback on the Monday but was unable to leave a message and nobody called me back. Although I am sorry this guest felt compelled to leave negative feedback, I hope future travellers will look at all the other responses on this page (universally positive) for a balanced impression of the Holyrood Aparthotel.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 2,681 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#37 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,250 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Property: Holyrood apartHOTEL
Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing