We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Ranked #78 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Aparthotel is a strange experience ... you pay for a hotel and then you feel like your at home ??? Some may like this feeling , I myself thought it was so so .... The location was good , a few minutes from a pizza express if you fancy a bite and a good location if you are visiting the castle ...... Cant argue with the location .. but myself , I like to feel like I'm away from home !! Still very clean and comfortable !!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Not just a great review but a wonderful way of summing up the serviced apartment experience. We do offer something different to a normal hotel, and being one of the first apartment providers in Edinburgh has given us the time to get it right, which I think is refelected by our terrific reviews.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just back from a stay and wanted to make sure to give these apartments a very big thumbs up! Got taxi from outside Edinburgh airport was £30 for 7 of us but we probably could have got a less expensive one if we had booked but wasnt a big deal.There we 2 of us staying in 2x 2 bedroom apartments which were very clean and tidy. They were modern and had 2 bathrooms. On arrival they had left out breakfast foods such as bread and cereal,jams,fresh milk and butter, yoghurts and orange juice in the fridge. There was plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries. 2 bed apartment comfortably held 5 people. The location was very handy 2minute walk to the Royal Mile, Tesco just around the corner as well as a Pizza Express and some other independent coffee shops. Bank Machine there too- found bank machines a little sparce in the city so best to get cash here when u needed it.

First trip to Edinburgh and we loved the city lots of places to eat and DRINK! Would recommend the Thai restaurant Phuket Pavillion on Union Street, very kind and acommodating staff and very reasonable.

Word of warning to any ladies (or men) it is a NO GO ZONE FOR HEELS the cobble stones and hills make it practically impossible to get around with any type of heel! So invest in a comfy pair of pumps!

Would recommend the bus tour 12 quid for a 24 hour hop on off ticket and hits all the major stops. Shopping seemed good but I hate shopping- Princes Street seemed to be the best.Grassmarket is lovely for a chilled day drink and everywhere comes to life at night. Wish I was going back next weekend! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelTel1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Brilliant, straightforward and pleasant stay
Seems like this reviewer had a great time in Edinburgh and was able to enjoy the very best of what this city has to offer. My thanks to them for the glowing recommendation of the Holyrood Aparthotel and I look forward to welcoming them back some time soon..
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here overnight with daughter and grandchildren aged 6 and 2. Perfect with young ones as unlike staying in hotel room altogether we could put children down to sleep in their own room and watch tv in lounge without disturbing them. A cot was provided at no extra cost. We had a 2bed apartment on 6th floor which was modern with all necessary amenities and we had two bathrooms, one with shower, one with bath plus White Company toiletries and plenty of towels. Kitchen has washing machine, dishwasher and microwave as well as oven and there is ironing board and iron which may be useful on longer stays. There was milk in the fridge and plenty tea and coffee sachets. We had flat screen tv's in lounge and each bedroom but I think that is because we had been allocated an executive apartment. Conveniently situated minutes from Dynamic Earth attraction, Hollyrood palace and the royal mile and just a short walk to Princes street. Would definitely recommend and look forward to revisiting in the near future. There is a tesco express two minutes away which is also useful for meals or breakfast supplies. Car parking available at 8.50 a night though very limited so recommend booking beforehand.

Room Tip: 6th floor has executive rooms so try and book or request one on that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here in 2008 and the place was wonderful. Very secure access and someone is at the desk 24/7. It is close enough to walk to most of the attractions/Royal mile. The apartment was spotless. I really liked the fact there were two bathrooms in the apartment. It was nice to be able to cook when we wanted and not always be spending money eating out. Also helpful was the washer/dryer combination, though it took awhile for me to figure out. The staff is very friendly and knoweldgeable. There is a small shop next door that carrys most of the items you will need. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Booked a 2 BR here - The apt in the ground floor was noisy all night - you can hear people walk and talk since it sits right on the road. The service was good. WiFi Fee is 5 pounds/d - I guess this is normal in Europe.

The Location was perfect, sits parallel to the Royal Mile - Walk to the Castle in 10min and the Palace in 5 min. Easy access to the tour bus and the Arthur's seat. Ask for parking space in advance when you book. Cash machine and Tesco is very close.

Room Tip: Don't take a room in Ground Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 170TraVeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Many thanks to this reviewer for what is an overall positive review although I was disturbed to read that they experienced any noise disturbance. Our location, glowingly praised by this guest, benefits from being just off the Royal Mile by being exceptionally quiet - especially for a city centre hotel, so rest assured any street noise is extremely rare. However, should any guest wish a higher floor then let us know when you make you reservation and we will do our best accommodate!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Booked a studio apartment at the last minute as we needed to be in Edinburgh for the night to visit a friend. Got an excellent rate online and on arrival in Edinburgh we were upgraded to a larger two bedroom apartment, which was really appreciated.

The travel cot provided by the hotel was great and had been put up for us in our bedroom. Our kitchen was also stocked with a loaf of bread, a pint of milk, orange juice and load of tea, coffee and breakfast items, all complimentary.

Location wise it was great for us, a stones throw from the royal mile with some nice cafes and a Tesco Metro very close. As some other reviewers have commented it was quite noisy both from the streets outside and the thin walls internally, but no worse than similar hotels we have stayed in within the city.

Parking was a pain but again that is common for all the Edinburgh city centre hotels. Ended up in an NCP car park nearby and paying an eyewatering £20 for 24 hours parking!

In all though this was a brilliant hotel experience for us. Having a three month old it is much easier having access to a kitchen and somewhere nice to sit later in the evening . This will be our hotel of choice when we next come to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllOverThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

A truly lovely review and my thanks to his guest not only for sharing their positive experiences but for offering kind words of wisdom for future travellers. Allow me to re-iterate that whilst guests will generally receive the best rates on line,it is only on our very own website that customers will be guaranteed the very lowest price so I would urge all bookers to make this your first point of call. As with all city centre hotels with low parking rates (only £8.50 per day), our car park fills quickly so if you are bringing your car with you - please reserve a space in advance with our reception team to avoid disappointment and higher NCP charges.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were 2 mature couples in Edinburgh for 5 days. The property has the best of apartment and hotel. The front desk is staffed around the clock, and we found the staff helpful. The location is convenient. It is a short walk to Holyrood Palace and the Royal Mile is on the next block over. There is a convenient stop for the Hop on Hop off bus the next block over on Canongate. We walked to Princes Street and even to the Georgian House Museum (quite a long walk.)
We were fortunate to have a 2 BR penthouse apt. There was enough common space, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (one ensuite.) It was great to have a kitchen (small but fully equipped) and a washer/dryer. There is a small Tesco grocery mart just around the corner. The interior furnishings are not luxurious, but met our needs. There was a PC in the lobby for internet access. There was a time when the power was off but we got a letter with advanced notice.
There is a nice bistro, Cafe Vivo, on the next street. We would stay at Holyrood Aparthotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a penthouse apt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powell_diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Good to hear what a great time this guest had in Edinburgh and it is very encouraging to read that we have managed to convert them in to serviced apartment users! This comrehensive review needs little more from me - suffice to say many thanks to his reviewer for taking the time to list the highpoints of their stay such as the helpful staff and convenient location - hope to welcome them again soon!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $72 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing