We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great stay here. I would definately stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Ranked #69 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We arrived in Edinburgh without a hotel reservation. Crazy, right? Well, we went to the "Old Waverly" and they didn't have a room with 2 seperate beds so they set us up in their sister hotel. They even paid the cab fare for us to get there. How great is that? We had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom place that was clean, efficient and had everything we needed for our 4 day stay in Edinburgh. Imagine our surprise when we woke up the next morning to find that we were located only 1 block from the "Royal Mile" and just around the corner from the Palace and Parliament.
Our place had a microwave, fridge, washer and dryer, TV, and it was even stocked with coffee and tea. Gotta love the towel warmers in the bathroom, too! The building seemed very safe. You could only access the building by room key card or buzzing the front desk. The only thing it lacked was free wifi. The cost was 5 pounds per day (per device). If we wanted to use all our internet devices (ipad, smartphones and tablet) is would have cost a fortune. Just step around the corner though and you can use the free wifi at either the Starbucks or Foodie restaurant. They also had a computer in the lobby.

Room Tip: The upper floors seem to be designated as executive rooms. (Better TV and a second bathroom)
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattleterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
There are newer reviews for Holyrood apartHOTEL
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

We always choose an apartment hotel when we travel and were happy to find this convenient gem in Edinburgh. Helpful staff. Clean well sized rooms. Great location - just off of the Royal Mile in between The Holyrood Palace and the Edinburgh Castle. Small grocery around the corner. Reasonable rate for parking the car for a couple of nights. Wanted to access internet but the wireless did not work in our suite but there is free internet in the Lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed here for just one night at the end of our driving tour around Scotland. It was perfect for a little 'down-time'. Our two bedroomed apartment was clean, bright, spacious and private. We could just kick-back and relax. The washing machine was soon put to use and when we left Edinburgh it was with suitcases full of clean clothes.
The welcome hamper of breakfast goodies was very good and of a high quality and a super idea. (The hotel does not do food although there are plenty of eateries a couple of minutes walk away)
The location could not have been better for exploring the city and if you have driven in the parking garage is convenient and secure.
The staff on the front desk were really helpful and friendly.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I have never stayed in a serviced apartment before, but since I was travelling to Edinburgh for the weekend with a friend, we decided to give it a try since we would have a living area and kitchen to relax. We were both absolutely delighted with the Holyrood Aparthotel. It is about 10 minutes walk from Waverley Station and only a few steps from the Royal Mile, so perfectly situated. It really is nothing to look at outside, with its gaudy blue and red paint (why did they do this?) but inside it was so much better. We stayed in one of the executive 2-bedroom apartments on the 6th (top) floor and were extremely pleased with our choice. Because it was the top floor, there was lots of natural light via skylights. We had a bedroom and a bathroom each, all clean, well designed and equipped. The double room had its own flat screen TV and shower room, the twin room had a larger bathroom opposite. There were bathrobes, good quality towels and toiletries. Our request for a bar of soap was quickly and cheerfully met with 6 bars being delivered! The living and kitchen area was very good indeed, all clean, bright, modern and comfortable, with another large flat screen TV. There was even a washing machine and dishwasher. We had a very generous supply of breakfast food and snacks (fresh milk, a selection of cereals, yoghurts, bread, still & sparkling water, butter, cream cheese, jam, biscuits, crisps, and a fantastic large bowl of fresh fruit which kept us going all weekend. The executive apartment was just great, perfect for a relaxing weekend or longer. The only point I can think of to criticise was that all the doors in the apartment had automatic door closers and they all creaked terribly! I am not sure that I would have liked to be in one of the ground floor (or below) apartments. As all the executive apartments were on the top floor, personally I would always book those in future.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the top floor as they have lots of natural light (and are the executive apartments...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed here in a 2 bed appartment with children. Location excellent, near attractions and transport links. Appartment well equipped and very clean. Would be fantastic for families with young children. Everything on your doorstep and comfortable to reteat to in the evening. Good local restaurants nearby and range of take-aways will deliver to the door.
Would book again without hesitation

Room Tip: floor 1 has smoking rooms. ask for upper floors to avoid noise.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyinthepieCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had a 2 bedroom apartment. Excellent location at the bottom end of the Royal Mile. Only took 15-20 minutes to walk up to Edinburgh Castle from here with several good pubs and restaurants along the way. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ads201259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here for the second time in September 2011 (the first time was March 2010), and its just perfect, especially when travelling with 3 young children. Our flight arrived in the early morning and they happily held our bags for us. The welcome hamper pack is fantastic! Its just off the Royal Mile, so very centrally located, and despite being so close to the main tourist attactions, its relatively quiet. The apartments are clean and spacious, and the front desk staff are extremely helpful. I will be definately being staying here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 212Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,021 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $107 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing