We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kew House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
iHoliday Hotel(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Piries Hotel(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Ritz Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (876)
Filter reviews
876 results
Traveler rating
816
51
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
816
51
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsian alancity centreexcellent hostsdecanter of sherryon arrivalbreakfast was deliciousfront of the housebus routeslittle extrasbottled waterguest houseminute walkbusy roadcomfortable bedhaggiswonderful stayhaymarket station
Filter
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 876 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our party of four stayed at Kew House for one night on the last day of a 12 day visit to Scotland and found the location and accommodations to be a perfect finish to our trip. The location is ideally situated for accessing the city center of Edinburgh and, even more important to us, for easily getting to the airport. The airport is a straight shot down one road from Kew House, taking only about 15 minutes, with a couple of petrol stations along the way. One member of our party needed to catch an early morning train, and Kew House is also ideally situated in this regard, with the train station just a mile and a half away. In addition to the convenience factor, we loved the quality of the accommodations. Attention to detail is ever-present, with tasteful furnishings, fresh flowers in every room, chocolates, an excellent breakfast menu, and the best beds any of us have ever experienced in our travels. Service was exceptional and included restaurant recommendations and the handling of reservations, parking our car in the Kew House private parking lot (another huge bonus in Edinburgh), the patient and thorough answering of all questions, preparing a special take-away breakfast for one member of our party who had an early morning departure, and more. We will definitely stay at Kew House again the next time we visit Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We are typing our review as we enjoy kew house's breakfast on the last day of our stay. Ian and Alan have been fantastic hosts, going out of their way to make us feel as comfortable and welcome on our stay. We stayed in a twin room on the ground floor and the room, although small was spotless and very comfortable. Both of us slept really well as the beds were nice and fluffy. What made us choose kew house initially was the free car park on the premises and the proximity to town. On both counts, we made the right decision. The carpark, being on the premises was always secured and the taxi ride into town is a decent 8 quid. We enjoyed true Scottish hospitality with Ian and Alan and when we come back to edinburgh, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back of the house which was very quiet. It was also on the ground floor so we didn't have to haul our luggage upstairs.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aiguebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights after reading previous reviews and were not disappointed. Ian and Alan were excellent hosts who were very welcoming and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Rooms as previously mentioned are to a high spec, beautifully presented and spotless throughout. Lovely fresh flowers in the room and the sherry and chocolates are a nice touch and went down a treat. Ian was extremely knowledgeable on local restaurants and things to do and we were glad that we took up his advise and had a very enjoyable trip to Rosslyn Chapel. The breakfast choice was great and catered for all tastes. Quality and presentation matched that of a high end restaurant. We enjoyed the walk into Edinurgh city centre each day, an extremely easy route to walk which takes about 15 minutes to the west end of Princes Street. Great access for those who want to use the buses with bus stops right outside. Thoroughly enjoyed our first stay in Kew House and will definitely make it a first choice for return visits.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Travelling worldwide we use tripadvisor to find new places to stay and we picked a winner this time. It's a 15min walk to Princes Street and therefore a great place to stay to visit all the sights in the city. The accomodation cannot be praised enough, it's clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are superb with a wide choice of cooked options. The rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated and quiet. A welcome suprise of a 'wee' sherry decanter with chocs was also present. All in all a great stay and one which we will use again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eye35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

No matter what your standards are in an ideal lodging, Kew House meets them and more.
For gourmets, the breakfast is gorgeous (you will read all about it in subsequent reviews - and other review sites).
For hygiene "nitpickers", the place is spotless.
For extroverts, Ian and Alan are fantastic conversationalists.
For introverts, you will also find this place a delight because there is plenty of privacy and yet you will be well taken care of.
For firm believers in a good night's sleep, I have never seen so many pillows on an inn's bed.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuiOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews