We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tasty food, brilliant service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jashans Restaurant

Jashans Restaurant
Ranked #946 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Jashans Restaurant part of a group of award winning restaurant, serving the best in Indian and Bangladeshi cuisine right in the heart of Slateford.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great tasty food, brilliant service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went for a meal and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Service was quick and polite. Food was delicious and not too filling, portion sizes were just right. Toilets were very clean and sophisticated. Decor was modern too. All round a lovely meal and would return!

Helpful?
5 Thank Joeblogss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    35
    14
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Speedy delivery and delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Ordered home delivery take away at 5.30pm - was with me at 6pm. Great service. We had the set meal for 2. Large portions, we couldn't finish it all. Food very tasty. Have used Jashans before and happy to report so far consistently great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank alfiekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Passable food, poor service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I went here with my wife and we ordered a number of curries between us. Most were pretty average with the jalfrazi sticking in my mind as particularly poor - actually, it was disgusting. The staff were the biggest let-down though, they seemed totally disinterested, were incredibly rude and generally unhelpful. The curries arrived and were thrown on the table with no explanation or comment before the unhappy waiter stormed off. We tried in vain several times to order more drinks and when it came to paying the bill, we waited with empty plates for 20 minutes before standing and approaching the waiter at the door to pay. Very poor!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Definately well worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My second visit .... excellent meal at a reasonable price. Very good portions with friendly, attentive service. Will definitely be going back when in Edinburgh!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank WinnipegWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very friendly and attentive staff, nice surroundings. I thought the food was not spectacular but would rate it as above average curry. Food was well presented, tasty and fresh in decent portions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross_Eld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jashans Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Jashans Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing