We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for takeaway too....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jashans Restaurant

Jashans Restaurant
Ranked #959 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Jashans Restaurant part of a group of award winning restaurant, serving the best in Indian and Bangladeshi cuisine right in the heart of Slateford.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for takeaway too....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Now had several takeaways from here, and they are superb - trust me, if I go back again and again, it must be good! The mixed kebab starter is massive, with huge chunks of lamb and chicken in a lovely sauce. The mains were also fantastic. The takeaway wasn't quite ready when I got there, but I received a complimentary drink to tide me over - nice touch. Not eaten in yet, but won't be long before I do....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank richard i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    35
    14
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service. Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I had our first meal in Jashans on Valentines night and it was amazing, it is such a lovely restaurant down to every detail, the interior is beautiful!

The staff were very friendly and always there to help.

The food was delicious we had 3 courses and had no complaints.

The toilets were lovely and very clean, even by the end of the night.

I would highly recommend this restaurant if you like good food and a great atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RuthCunningham86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My partner and I went to this wonderful restaurant on Saturday night. It was a revelation. The service was excellent; when I complained that the lights were a little bright, the waiter was very attentive and within minutes he had dimmed them and came to check we were happy with that. An older gentleman, who was a waiter was lovely and gave old-fashioned service with a smile. The other waiters were also very, very good.
The food was faultless and even the house wine was acceptable! The decor is tasteful and the overall ambience is very relaxing.
I would highly recommend this restaurant for lovers of great food, fabulous service and a very laid-back atmosphere where nothing is too much bother for the waiters.
Don't read any further reviews - JUST GO!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

First time visit to Jashans and we were not disappointed. Food was amazing and every member of staff were very welcoming. We will be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank paula j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Decided to try Jahsans in Slateford Road as we had heard good things about it. We were not disappointed. The interior was very nice. The staff attentive and the food excellent. We shared a couple of bottles of house red. Enjoyed Popadoms, starters and mains (which were on the hot side). All ate far too much and decided to ask for the rest to be boxed up to be taken home. Jahsans...we will be back.

Helpful?
3 Thank Papa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jashans Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Jashans Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing