We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE LUNCH”
Review of The Melville Bar

The Melville Bar
Ranked #854 of 2,505 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Newly refurbished bar/restaurant in the heart of Edinburgh's West End serving great food and cocktails. Open till 1am Daily.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“NICE LUNCH”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Enjoyed our visit to the Melville Bar, had lunch which was lovely. Staff very attentive. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    51
    21
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My mum And I popped in for a bit of lunch....i have to say we were in for a treat, food was delicious, generous portions ensured we left very satisfied and full !!! The staff we very efficient and courteous.
Excellent we will be back very soon.
Thank you

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DAVID P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favourite bar in Edinburgh ”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

When ever I'm up in Edinburgh, the Melville is always top of the list... Great atmosphere, great food and great staff. Highly recommended

Helpful?
3 Thank Shaun9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very good service and good food.”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Me and my girlfriend went there for dinner a couple of months back. The food tasted really good, especially the starters (1 x scotch egg and 1 x prawn coctail). For main, we both had a grilled steak. They tasted good as well, but they were slightly overcooked for our tastes (we asked for medium-rare steakes but those were probabily medium).

At the end of the meal the waiter asked us about our meal and we told him about the slighlty overcooked steaks. He apologized to us and he immediately offered us a round of drinks. We really appreciated that, because it obviously shows that they care about customers.

Overall, we enjoyed our dinner and we had a good night. The place is cute and the serive is very good! Highly reccomend it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dmodolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Veg delight”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great place loved the vegetarian menu nice to see a good variety. Had a great salad with ricotta and spinach parcels was delicious great fresh flavours and plenty to eat......

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hippiechick88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melville Bar also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Melville Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing